We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar staff 😩😩”

Fox and Hounds Whitchurch
Ranked #390 of 1,410 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: SA Brains Pub selling good selection of Food and drink just in the village of Whitchurch just of the A470.
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Male bar staff talking but not serving packed bar ... and when he decided to help served first person he saw ... no who’s next ?? .... then continued to serve the queue behind her ...
young girl bar staff was excellent she just battled on .....importantly knowing or at least asking ‘who’s next ??’
Was hoping this place would improve with new management.. sort of has but still not good !!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank sallyr1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox H, General Manager at Fox and Hounds Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Hi Sally,
Thanks for your feed back I will discuss your concerns with the team to help improve their understanding of serving in the correct manor and if you would like to discuss it further please contact me on 02920 693377.

Thanks again for your review and hope to see you again.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 233 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

My Wife and I visited The Fox & Hounds for Sunday Lunch lovely old pub that looks like it's been refurbished recently. Warm welcome from friendly staff. Excellent Lunch good service would definately visit again.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox H, General Manager at Fox and Hounds Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for the lovely review, look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Mike and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

We visited this charming pub for an evening meal with our 3 sons. The atmosphere was friendly and we were made to feel welcome. It was busy but not too noisy and there was a good mix of customers. The service was excellent and the food was really good and provided great value for money. I will definitely visit again and would recommend it for a place to visit for an evening out or a family meal. I am looking forward to trying the Sunday roast.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clarelhughes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox H, General Manager at Fox and Hounds Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you Clare for the lovely review look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Mike and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Brought my wife here for meal for our
1st wedding Anniversary. The meal we ordered was fish and unfortunately this was terrible as expecting cod...
But it was another fish that was a wet texture when cooked.
The texture was slimy, cold.
Spoke to staff, who told us we had a few complaints about this dish.
Why not tell customers or re word on menu before purchase..
The problem was resolved with a selection of new dishes, staff friendly and helpful.
This why gave a 3* otherwise would of been a 2*

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank James17072002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox H, General Manager at Fox and Hounds Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Hi James,
Thank you for your review and sorry it was not a great experience with us at the Fox, the fish you was served was Basa, its a product we use to keep the price down on the set menu as cod has gone really expensive. I will pass your comments on to the food development team at head office, I am glad the team resolved the problem in a friendly and helpful manner, if you would like to discuss the issues you had with us any further please feel free to call me on 02920 693377.

Thanks again for the review and sorry.

Mike and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

We met friends here for Sunday lunch and were very happy with both the service and the food. Great roast beef with all the trimmings, extra gravy and horseradish sauce delivered to the table within a couple of minutes of being ordered. Desserts were fantastic, loved the bread pudding. Best of all there’s a small playground in the beer garden so the kids could run off a bit of steam after their food so everyone is happy. Great job and thanks for a lovely afternoon.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Roosterthe3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox H, General Manager at Fox and Hounds Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2018

Thanks for the lovely review, look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Mike and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox and Hounds Whitchurch also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Bridgend, Bridgend County
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Bridgend, Bridgend County
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Fox and Hounds Whitchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing