We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok inexpensive hotel”
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok inexpensive hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Ok hotel that was relatively inexpensive, clean & efficient but nothing special. Extra charges for internet & breakfast. Upon arriving, the room smelled like cigarettes and there was a plasic bag over the smoke alarm. There was also a noticable stain on the wall. They immediately offered to put me in another room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easyeric601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your comments; I am sorry that the first room your were given was not up to standards. I hope you will chose us again for your next visit to Cardiff.
Regards,

Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    524
    249
    82
    63
See reviews for
139
474
133
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband&myself booked to stay in the ibis hotel as it is near the motorpoint arena.The hotel is basic but clean but you get what you pay for.We paid £60 for 1 nights bed&breakfast as the location for the arena is very convenient.The only drawback for this hotel is the beds are rock hard&we hardly slept all night ,we might aswell have slept on the floor.

Room Tip: Read the sleep ratings of the hotel before you book or if none available complain to hotel managemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim10bed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website.
We have passed your comments to the relevant department.
We hope you will chose our hotel again for your next stay in Cardiff.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here for business and found the location perfect, with the main shopping district 100yds away. The standard of the rooms were very satisfactory for this kind of hotel. I was especially impressed with the friendly staff who made the stay particularly pleasant. The Spanish receptionist, I think she was called Vanessa, was especially helpful by kindly printing important work related documents for me and had a strong command of the English language .

I'd definitely use this hotel again and happily recommend this to associates.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marineboy_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.
Regards,

Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Good : warm, clean, fairly central.

Bad : worst hotel bed I've ever slept in, tiny bathroom made almost entirely of plastic, towels the size of envelopes, TV that was hi-tech in the late 90s, extra charge for wi-fi (come on, it's the 21st century!), public areas look cheap and starting to get tatty, below-average breakfast with terrible scrambled eggs and coffee that looked and tasted like mud.

Summary : definitely not worth what they charge. Book yourself a room at the Royal on St Mary Street instead - a completely different class of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed on this occasion. We have looked into the points you raised, and took actions to avoid any re-occurence.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed one night as we were performing at a function at the Masonic Hall, which couldn't have been more convenient.We were lucky enough to have parking at the Hall, so this was not a problem. The bedroom was basic but clean. My only issue was the bed, which was so hard it felt like I was sleeping on a plank of wood! The buffet breakfast was fine, with plenty of choice.We'd stay there again if we are booked at the Masonic Hall again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, overlooking the railway line, but we weren't disturbed by it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swamprocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thnak you for writing your comments on this website, we always value guests' feedback.
We hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel.
Regards,

Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
7.3 km away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
842 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing