We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great city centre location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Oxford
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great city centre location”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This holiday inn is in a great location for the city centre. It has it's own car park. I still feel that it is a rip off to charge guests to park £10 per night. The room was clean and comfortable. The room it's self was spacious but the bathroom very small. It's beginning to look a little old now and would benefit from a refurb. Many of the usual touches were missing from the room but was nevertheless a comfortable nights stay. Dinner was a bit of a letdown. The service was slow, the starter was barely warm and quite tasteless, my medium rare steak had to be returned as it was very well done and resembled shoe leather and it is very overpriced for what is on offer. There are many local restaurants that may offer a much better dining experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    484
    278
    71
    35
See reviews for
177
371
64
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel has a super location in central Cardiff with the added bonus of its own car park which is very reasonably priced. The staff were all excellent and some were more than excellent.

Room Tip: Ours was at the back of the hotel overlooking the old Arms Park and the river which was great but ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris8226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilts, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for wedding in Cardiff on the weekend 17 – 19 Feb 2012. Great location for all the sights and shopping that Cardiff has to offer, and we had views of the castle. It’s also slap-bang next to the millennium stadium and on a match weekend noise would probably be an issue for some. The three rooms we booked were clean and comfortable, with large flat screen TV and well-equipped bathrooms. All of us wished rooms had an in-room fridge though, but not the end of the world.

Breakfast buffet (hot and cold) reasonably palatable and charged at £9.50 if not part of your package - I’ve had better elsewhere, but in the context of the hotel’s value, to criticise would be churlish.

Despite rooms having user-controllable A/C systems, the temp is centrally set by the hotel based on season. Whilst there, the weather was mild and the 20deg C rooms temps, coupled with lots of wedding prep, made it quite uncomfortably hot. Windows have the usual limiters fitted and provided little fresh air. Could it not be made possible for customers to adjust to a lower temp?

Food and beverage prices are as you would expect with a corporate chain (pint of Becks and a large whisky & lemonade = £11.06), but there are plenty of alternative watering holes in Cardiff.

However, the best part was the hotel staff. They were absolutely lovely, from the girls on the front desk to the lads & lasses at breakfast and in the lounge. All were unfailingly smiling and helpful and we were so pleasantly surprised that we are changing our Easter plans and staying here instead. Well done Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A perfect location for visiting city centre shops, restaurants, Millennium Stadium and museum - all a short walk away. The train station is 10 minutes walk, and the number 6 bus to Cardiff Bay stops just 100m away from the hotel entrance.

The room was small, but the bed was comfortable and the shower effective. We only paid £55, which is good value for such a central location. Didn't try the restaurant.

Cardiff is a really attractive city - Cardiff Bay is extremely impressive and the National Museum/Art Gallery well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Timperley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norh wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

fab location , just a short walk from the shops , rooms lovely and clean , we were above the enterence, but was very quiet,
the staff were all lovely and friendly , we stayed there for 2 nights on a coach trip on the 13 january, the bar man on the 14th was so nice and chatty,
breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.
thoroughly enjoyed everithing about our stay

Room Tip: rooms at the back look over the cardiff millenium stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeNorhWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The central location of this hotel is a big factor, but it was in need of refurbishment. On arrival (evening) the route from the car park at the (back of the hotel ) to reception was unclear and not pleasant. Reception was fine, although in general there was an absence of staff. The room was clean but the sink in the bathroom was badly cracked. Also several lamps were not working. Wifi was available but expensive. Beds were comfy with extra pillows-also comyf. The design of the hotel was a little dowdy and boring. Breakfast was fine - hot and tasty with an excellent variety. My newspaper failed to arrive on both mornings, despite a reminder at reception, although there are copies of The Independent for free.
The hotel is adjecent to the Millenium Stadium so absolutely perfect if you are going to the rugby. Also close to some great shopping streets and interesting and historic arcades. Last but not least it is opposite the wonderful Cardiff Castle. A little far away from the Bay but still easy to get to.

Room Tip: Depending on your preference ask for a view of the Castle or the Millenium Stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluestraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
bluestraveller33,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the very good! Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.

Thank you again for your review.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Clean, large rooms in an excellent location. The worst thing that happened during my stay was the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night and having to stand in front of the hotel in the wee hours. Very tired the following day but this kind of incident cannot be helped (in most instances).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nugglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
nugglet,

Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your experience with us, even with the unexpected complications. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Cardiff.

Thanks again,

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.7 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing