We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Avoid Avoid Avoid” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubba's Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bubba's Place
Ranked #39 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid Avoid Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Totally agree with the negative comment below, if only I had read this before going, I had to stay at this place due it being a rugby weekend everywhere else was full up, it was totally disgusting and the floors were totally filthy. Kettle available with no where to plug in. Television didn't work. Tiny rooms, there's a difference between having a roof over your head and this place. Would rather have had the open air.!!
Would never recommend this place AVOID AVOID AVOID.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gauldy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    4
    3
    10
See reviews for
2
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The place may not look glamorous, but it is clean and the staff are fantastic and very welcoming. It is a family business that makes you feel very welcome and endeavour to help you in anyway they can. The breakfast was also very good. Would definitely stay here again!! Thanks x

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura-Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Returned and stayed here for 2 nights for the wales scotland rugby match - once again a fantastic welcome from bubba and his lovely family nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Excellent breakfast and plenty of it to soak up the lovely lager that they serve in the 24hr bar. Clean bedding and a comfortable bed. Hope to return again in the very near future - always our first choice when staying in cardiff - cheers Bubba and thanks once again for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I feel that I had to write a review about this hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights from the 11th - 13th feb. Please dont listen to all the negative comments. about this friendly family run hotel.
I will begin in saying the owners are FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What a lovely family.
Rooms are clean
Beds are clean
Breakfast A **************************
Bar has the best pint of lager, guinness and Bitter in Cardiff (Belive you me we had plenty!!!!)
Will be back very soon hopefully!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenda1967_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balloch
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

some people on here are really quite nasty when it comes to describing this hotel....you know who you are....agreed needs some loving attention but if you want shiny and new dont look for the cheap option... go elsewhere are take your nasty remarks wih you....lovely staff..si and bubba and ben and even wee josh...good luck to you guys..first time here..would stay again...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellyg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

My friend and I decided to have a night out in Cardiff and we chose to stay at Bubbas Place as was cheap and nearby city centre. There was two good reviews and two bad ones so thought we would take a chance as we only wanted a place to crash after a night out.

Upon arrival, the outside of the hotel looked like it needed a refurb but we over looked it and went inside to be greeted by a friendly receptionist who took our payment as the only option was cash on arrival.

We got our room key and continued to go upstairs as there is no lift. The corridoors were in a pretty poor state, once we got to our room the nightmare began!

The door had a hole in it, the walls were damp, stained and had paper hanging off them. The carpet was very old, worn and filthy. Wardrobe was covered in stains and damaged. Shower room had ceiling tiles missing and there was black mould everywhere.
The sink that was in the room was filthy and damaged and the mirror above it was broken and dirty. Underneath the beds there were socks or pants (who knows) and empty coke bottles. The bedside table was very damaged and when we opended the drawer we found to our horror fag butts in empty milk cartons! With chewing gum that had been chewed and stuck to the sides of the drawer.

We could not have left faster as there was no way we were going to stay there, the room had obviously not been cleaned and God only knows if the sheets had been changed! We were not prepared to find out.

We went downstairs and the nice receptionist gave us our money back and we booked into the premier inn.

Do not under any circumstances stay here for any reason. As a well travelled person who stays in many hotels around the world and the country this is offically the worst!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

uk
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Booked this place as everything else in Cardiff was full. owners very friendly, as other reviewers have said but the whole place is very tired and in need of updating , room cleanliness was ok but very old and tired furnishings .breakfast was included in the price and was fine as was free parking . Walking distance into Cardiff , I guess you get what you pay for and if you go here expecting the ritz you'll be disappointed but for £50 a room en suite it's an ok place for the night, bar had good price drinks for a night cap

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#31 of 75 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.5 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
The Avala Guest House
The Avala Guest House
#22 of 45 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel One Hundred
Hotel One Hundred
#6 of 45 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.6 km away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#2 of 45 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.5 km away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 45 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bubba's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bubba's Place

Property: Bubba's Place
Address: 179 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 1AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bubba’s Place is private, family run hotel and offers the best welcome in the capital city of Wales. It is a short 10 minute walk to the main shopping centre and event arenas in Cardiff, and offers secure free parking for 50 cars on premises. The hotel has 52 bedrooms consisting of single, double, twin and family rooms. All our rooms are en-suite with tea and coffee facilities, most with TV and rates include full cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bubba`s Place Hotel Cardiff
Bubba's Place Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing