We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Brenda B
london

wonderful hotel, but restaurant lets it down,

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
My husband and i have just spent 3 nights at The New House Country Hotel, Cardiff,
We wanted a quiet time away and a chance to visit some National Trust Properties, and for that reason the Hotel is well positioned for 3/4 N.T. properties,
Our room on Ground floor was well appointed, roomy, tastefully furnished, with a Large well accessible bathroom, which still shines as new,
For convenience we planned to eat each night in the hotel Restaurant, named after thier beautiful Sequoia tree which stands proud near the car park area.
Unfortunately due to the menu being restricted and the quality of the dish i personally had we only ate once at the hotel restaurant.
I ordered a vegetarian Tarte Tatan for my main meal, and as it came without any vegetables i ordered a portion of chips on the side,
The tarte was made up of a round flat piece of pastry on the plate with 3 large half onions and 3 half tomatos on the top. The portion was large but half way through i felt i had overdosed on onions, the Tarte Tatan being so large, and myself not being a big eater found the chips too much but was welcomed as an item of variety to add to the very bland dish.
We would defineatly stay at the hotel again, but unless the menu had more variety or was changed daily we would probably not eat in the restaurant.
Breakfast was ok but bacon was hard from sitting on a hotplate too long, and sausage although lovely and meaty was very chewy and also a bit on the hard side.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
C$143
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
7.8 km from New House Country Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
C$110
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
8.6 km from New House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$75
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
8.4 km from New House Country Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$120
  • Algotels
7.9 km from New House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$55
  • Travelodge
7.9 km from New House Country Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$48
  • Priceline
8.0 km from New House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$144
  • Expedia.com
    C$150
8.2 km from New House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$82
  • Expedia.com
    C$102
9.9 km from New House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$144
  • Algotels
10.4 km from New House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$97
  • Novotel
    C$106
8.7 km from New House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,447)
Filter reviews
1,447 results
Traveller rating
924
385
89
33
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
924
385
89
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bristol channel family wedding beautiful hotel cardiff bay large bathroom lovely room business trip city centre marquee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,447 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel, enjoyed our 3 night stay, good facilities, friendly staff, excellent views over Cardiff Bay.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Banks, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review!

Kind Regards,
Evan
Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the New House Country Hotel in May 2024 for a wedding. What an absolutely stunning location. The hotel itself is full of old worlde charm and the marquee for the wedding was just beautiful. The views are to die for. Could not fault it and would definitely go back and recommend.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ceri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Banks, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review!

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay!
A key part of a good wedding is having a good place to lay your head after the festivities.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Evan
Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall one of the best hotels I’ve stayed in Wales. Great location, friendly staff, decent food. Very comfortable rooms but only instant coffee and bottled water only on first day.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Banks, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At wedding. Vegetarian option at wedding breakfast ok but evening optio was poor. Breakfast very limited options.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chrisrF3179SI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Banks, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review!

We are sorry to hear that you had issues with breakfast options while you were with us.
This has been passed on to the kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2024

I love this hotel! I truly do. I visit a couple of times a year and the staff are always so welcoming and friendly. It's a perfect location for visiting my Mum who lives locally. Thank you for looking after me so well.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rachellL1618TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Banks, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review!

We hope to see you again soon :)

Kind Regards,
Evan
Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews