We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Afternoon Tea”

Pettigrew Tea Rooms
Ranked #27 of 1,217 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$35
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pettigrew Tea Rooms are housed in the beautiful 19th Century West Lodge in the heart of Cardiff. This quintessentially British tea house is open seven days of the week serving, fresh lunches and delicious homemade cakes, all served alongside a wonderful selection of loose leaf teas. Join us for a light lunch or why not sample our full Afternoon Tea in peaceful surroundings, before a stroll through Cardiff's stunning Bute Park. A must for all visitors to the Capital City of Wales.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We visited on the 6th October for Afternoon Tea as a birthday treat for a friend, we had reserved a table ( I would advise booking as it was really busy). What a lovely place, the owner & staff couldn't have been more helpful & friendly, a fabulous selection of tea, cake & sandwiches. Very good value for money, everything was delicious. Thank you for a lovely afternoon, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PettigrewManager, Owner at Pettigrew Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
So pleased you enjoyed the Afternoon Tea. It is a good idea to book ahead for the Afternoon Tea, particularly if there is a group of you just so that we can hold a table, but we have plenty of seating upstairs too. We have just launched the Christmas Afternoon Tea menu, maybe worth popping back for... David & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    156
    55
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
2 reviews
“Little jewel”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stumbled upon this gem of a coffee shop today on return from watching Cardiff Half Marathon. Sat outside in glorious sunshine enjoying a Ploughman's to die for and the best pot of tea in Cardiff. Will be returning to sample the gorgeous home made cakes on offer inside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daffyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PettigrewManager, Owner at Pettigrew Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Brilliant review, thank you for taking the time to post it. That Sunday was gorgeous and a heady 15 degrees c too. Come back and take a look at the Art Gallery and seating on the first floor soon. David & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious cake!”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stopped by for drinks and cake because it was recommended to us by a relative. The cakes were moist and really tasty. I enjoyed my hot chocolate and I thought the staff were very friendly. I think we are going again tomorrow for lunch!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loobylou8424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PettigrewManager, Owner at Pettigrew Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for the review. Really glad you enjoyed the Hot Chocolate and that we lived up to the recommendation. David & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

A really lovely place to have a light meal, very close to the city centre but in the beautiful surroundings of Bute Park. An oasis of tranquility, just a few metres from city centre shops. Lovely tasty soup and a teapot containing real tea, no bags.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teithwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PettigrewManager, Owner at Pettigrew Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Glad you like the soup, we change it daily and they are all made from real local Welsh veg here in our kitchens. See you again to try some more of our lovely leaf teas. David & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrific tea room”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Quaint. Friendly. Excellent food. Very warm welcome. Would highly recommend that you take a few minutes out to locaate thishidden gem .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PettigrewManager, Owner at Pettigrew Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you very much for your thoughts. See you in the future! David & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pettigrew Tea Rooms also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Pettigrew Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing