We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Expensively Dissapointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Expensively Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I booked this hotel for a trip to visit our son in Cardiff. The website looked good, the reviews seemed good, it has parking and everything we required. However, upon arriving it seems there are two hotels with the same name in different parts of Cardiff. On their website it lists Cardiff Bay, which is the one we booked at and for all intents the only one they advertise. It seems there is no parking there, the gallery pictures on the website do not reflect the hotel itself and in all honesty neither do the reviews taking this into account. Upon arrival the young man apologised but didn't seem at all surprised that we were expecting parking, showed me up to the room and gave directions to a carpark to my hubby. The best way I can describe the decor is "tired", I can't fault the cleaning, the place was lovely and clean, but simply worn out, ripped wall paper, stains which someone has clearly tried to clean but failed on carpets and walls alike.

The room was tiny, no drawers, no chairs etc which made doing hair and make up a real problem. I was pleasantly surprised to see we had a private patio balcony, so went out to sit there with a drink only to come straight back in thanks to a huge towering chimney issuing smelly black smoke which is on the corner, that together with pots of weed filled dead plants was a bit much.

The bathroom looked lovely upon first inspection, modern and clean yet warm and welcoming. This was sadly spoiled by the lack of a shower and a bath which looked disgusting. The bottom was covered in what I can only assume (and hope) were old cigarette burns and associated melted plastic, it was sharp and hard and all over. The water was either scalding or freezing and alternated between this irrelevant of wether it was on hot or cold! The distinct lack of toilet paper just finished it off.

Breakfast. This is situated down some very steep stairs in the cellar, although its more dungeon like it is so dark and gloomy. If you value your taste buds. Don't. Just don't. I foolishly opted for the traditional. It arrived swimming in grease, the 1 tiny piece of bacon was so fatty and greasy it was stomach churning, half a tomato, again fried and nasty, the 1 sausage I think they had poached in grease and to be honest I'm not entirely sure it was within date, black pudding, so grease soaked it was mushy, the 3 slices of mushroom likewise. The bread/toast was good, the egg although swimming in grease again was good. No signs of the fresh local produce as advertised. There are toilet in the cellar, you don't need a sign, you can smell the location.

I have tried to be honest with this description and the sad part is, rereading it, i've been kind. The prices charged here for what you get are awful. Boutique Hotel in name only. Worn out shabby B&B in reality.

Room Tip: If you really have no other choice be sure NOT to book the Cardiff Bay one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kesira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    90
    33
    31
    24
See reviews for
22
189
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

My wife and used the hotel when we were attending events at the Millennium Centre. We had an excellent room - and the best view in Cardiff, possibly. Top marks to Elisa who welcomed us perfectly,and looked after us brilliantly throughout our stay. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were staying at the hotel as we were going to Millenium Centre in the evening, the service and room were superb, Rachael the receptionist checked us in as well as served us breakfast too. she asked us about our night and if we had any plans, this is how staff should be in a hotel smiley and happy. We will be coming back and look forward to it. Thank you again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetraveller255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merthyr
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

stayed here for a weekend at the end of april.The location is good and the room was ok.The breakfast on the sunday morning was great with good quality ingrediants and I was looking forward to more of the same on the monday morning but this was not to be because none of the staff turned up except one who was a receptionist.She said it was in darkness when she arrived and she had phoned the manager/owner but they hadn't got back to her.She didn't seem to know how to work any of the equipment and even served a cafitere of coffee that was made with cold water.unbelievable!.The manager /owner should have come in himself and attended to his guests.This is not a cheap place to stay and we were let down.

Room Tip: we had room number 2 with the jaccuzi which worked very well. I think the rooms at the back would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerthyrFlashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Hotel is fantastic.staff very helpful and friendly and second to none.great spot to go eat and drink and right across from the milennium center. Would recommend this hotel highly. Great value for money. 5 stars 10/10

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roryhazlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

we visited this hotel last night ,very clean,staff very friendly and welcoming,room clean with bathrobes which was nice,breakfast was the best i have had in a long while a full english(welsh) as they say it breakfast ,not greasy fresh produce with a full range of breakfast choices i.e yougurts,juice,rolls etc nothing too much trouble for the chef who was really nice,you may think the price is expensive but would be happy to pay more excellent all round,and in the heart of the bay excellent location a short stroll to access all the cafes and shops,they have boat rides every hour which takes you into the heart of cardiff at a small price.they have no parking outside the hotel but a short walk to the car park which costs 20.00 for 24 hours excellent value.

Room Tip: there is no best side to escape the noise of delivery lorries ,but its not too early to disturb your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piplyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here for a night in early March as going to an opera at the Millenium Centre - perfect location for this venue. Stayed in Room 2, which is on the front of the hotel, and had no problems with noise, although this was mid-week. Average sized room, with generous bathroom. It had a bath only, with shower attachment but no screen - so needed to be sitting in the bath to use the shower - but great jacuzzi bath ; ) Room was clean and the bed was comfortable, with a mixture of feather and synthetic pillows. It had all the expected amenities such as tea/coffee, TVwith freeview, hairdryer etc. Check-in/out was nice and easy with very friendly staff. Nice to have the bar downstairs, with good rustic pizza in the evening and a lovely welsh breakfast in the morning. Would definitely stay again, but would be careful with room choice in summer months/weekend (as bar open until 1am on Fri/Sat).

Room Tip: Recommend Room 2 or other rooms on the front - good view of the Millenium Centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam5933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.5 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 75 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.4 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
10.1 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 75 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Property: Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Address: 5 Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolyon's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegantly restored Georgian town house is situated in the oldest terrace in Cardiff Bay, opposite the millenium centre. We offer superb luxury accommodation, comprising of six lavishly furninshed, luxury bedrooms. Facilities include king-sized beds, Wi-fi facilities, free-to-view television, beverages, some with views of Cardiff Bay. Sumptuous en-suite bathrooms, include one with a whirlpool bath and one with a wet room appointed to the highest standards, with extra large fluffy towels, bathrobes and toiletries.Delicious full welsh breakfasts or a generous seasonal buffet are served in our Bar Cwtch. Relaxed days can be spent with a coffee or a glass of good wine or a speciality beer sitting on leather couches, with a newspaper and enjoying the cosy warmth of a wood-burning stove.Arrive with us as a customer, leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Jolyon's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyons Boutique Cardiff
Hotel Jolyons Boutique
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing