We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lynda j

Lovely nights stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Rooms very large and spotlessly clean. Really good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. We were concerned on checking in as our room was overlooking the main street and multi storey car park so we thought that it may be very noisy late at night but we needn't have worried it was really quiet all night. Staff very friendly and helpful on checking in and checking out. Plenty of choice at breakfast and cooked breakfast nice and hot.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 407lyndaj,

Thank you for staying with us at Park Plaza Cardiff, we are glad to hear you had a wonderful time. Our rooms offer a superior level of comfort, and upon your next stay with us, we invite you to try one of our Suites, where you can further experience the full comfort that our hotel has to offer.

We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast offering, we will make sure your comments are shared with our Restaurant and Kitchen teams.

We are pleased to have made your stay an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Plaza Hotel Cardiff very soon!
Warm Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$122
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$150
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$150
0.6 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
C$142
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Pool
Restaurant
C$176
C$147
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.6 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
C$64
  • Vio.com
4.7 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$52
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$52
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$105
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$93
  • Novotel
    C$106
1.0 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$64
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (3,067)
Filter reviews
3,067 results
Traveller rating
1,641
933
283
118
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,641
933
283
118
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laguna bar lovely hotel steam room spa treatments afternoon tea huge bed superior room good size central location quiet room saturday night stayed here for one night following morning car parking night's sleep good nights sleep cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 3,067 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Super friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and delicious food and drinks. Located right in the city centre and next to a gorgeous slug and lettuce.
Over looks Cardiff Castle and bite park. Loads of events happening that are walking distance from The Park Plaza.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Maps21523443037
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Maps21523443037,

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, there are plenty of things to see and do in the city centre, so our convenient location is perfect for anyone who wants to experience Cardiff by foot.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and dining in our Laguna Kitchen & Bar. Now that Summer has arrived, our grills are getting fired up on our Laguna Terrace and our BBQ menu is ready to go. It’s a great way to spend the afternoon with friends and a drink or two.

We hope you can join us again soon!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2024 via mobile

Back again and this time we stayed in a junior suite (412).

Check-in was quick and easy, lovely polite man dealt with us on front desk 😀

Went into lift to 4th floor to suite - lovely spacious room with bed big enough for 3 people, sofa that was a sofa bed. 2 armchairs as well as small table and a desk area.

Only thing I would say is the room could do with a mirror, plenty in bathroom but lighting not good for putting make up on and the only mirror in bedroom was inside wardrobe door - no good lighting by it.

Bed was super comfortable.

Bathroom lovely too, separate bath that had hand held shower in it and a large separate shower but the shower head was small and not powerful- could really look to change it to a nicer rainfall shower head.

Fridge in room with bottle of tap water and two bottles of apple juice, there was also on bed for us - slippers, sleep well kit, bar of chocolate, two latte sachets, two hot chocolate sachets and bath salts.

On desk area was a welcome note and two Welsh cakes - lovely little treat but for price of room maybe a mini bottle of something too??

We used gym and spa - very clean areas and staff at reception nice and helpful again, my husband said showers in men’s changing room was sooo nice - shame they couldn’t be in rooms.

When we came back to hotel late at night after being out, man at front desk asked to see our room card, I know it was to check we staying there but maybe at different approach could be looked at as it did feel abit off putting being questioned.
What about having guests use their key card to open main door, no need to be questioned then.

Breakfast was served until 10.30 on Sunday, we were seated very quickly by again another happy male member of staff, brought coffee jug to table and then a large selection of breakfast to choose from - cooked, cereals, fruits, continental, pastries and juices. Only thing coffee pot got cold quickly.

Another lovely stay and we will be back 😄

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank josoap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear josoap1,

Thank you for your kind words, we will make sure those are shared with our team, they will be thrilled to hear that they were able to contribute to your enjoyment of your date night at the Park Plaza Hotel Cardiff.

Our team take the upmost care to plan every detail of your stay with us, from giving you a warm welcome when you arrive, adorning your room with all the accessories
to make sure your stay is comfortable. We are constantly looking to diversify our range of products and services, and with that in mind, we want to extent our gratitude for the feedback you have given us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Plaza Cardiff in the near future and perhaps enjoy our recently refurbished bar terrace, which has opened just in time for guests to enjoy a bite to eat outside; our new menu features a range of exciting new dishes for you to try.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2024

Fantastic huge room lovely and clean with great view right by the river excellent location staff are lovely would defo recommend :) food and drink really good not to pricey spa and treatments good aswell. Check out is not till 12pm which I think is excellent

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coastal37154617221
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2024

Dear Coastal37154617221,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about the Park Plaza Hotel Cardiff. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Our Executive Head Chef will be pleased with your praises. We launch our new summer menu on the 1st of May, we are excited as we have some amazing dishes to excite your tastebuds. Be assured we share all feedback with out team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to enjoy yet another great experience.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2024

Amazing value hotel. Clean room, massive bed. Great convenient location in the city centre. Great value pre-theatre meal and menu. Can'tt faulkt it.

Will definately stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldmanbigkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2024

Dear Oldmanbigkid,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Park Plaza Hotel Cardiff and the Laguna Kitchen & Bar.
We are thrilled that you have rated us 5 bubbles, we strive to provide a great stay and great dishes for our guests to enjoy.
Your comments certainly warm our hearts. We can't wait to welcome you back and for you to try one of the many new dishes on our new menu launching on the 1st of May 2024.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2024 via mobile

Stayed here for my wife’s birthday on Sunday 7th April. Our stay included use of the spa facilities a spa treatment each and breakfast the next day.

Firstly the positives. Pool area is great, the spa treatments were great and the hotel rooms are big and quiet. However we felt the negatives outweigh the positives.

Negatives. We arrived before check in so our room wasn’t ready so we were directed to the spa area. On arrival we were informed that the only spa robes available were small and the spa receptionist advised that these are “extra small”. No good for either of us, luckily we brought gym t-shirts with us. Later on in the day others coming to the spa were told that no robes were available. Not ideal for a spa stay. We were also told that we were welcome to use the pool area and the spa relaxation room, after an hour by the pool and 30 minutes before our treatment we asked a different receptionist where the relaxation room was, she was rude and advised that the room is for post treatment only and in a huff would let us use it before our treatment. We saw the same lady telling another couple that no robes were available and she was stressed, again not very professional. Next onto our treatments where the walls are so paper thin you can hear everything going on outside including a member of staff talking on the phone, and finally the relaxation room where groups of hens are free to gather post treatment shouting over each other, meaning a not very relaxing ‘relaxation room’ .

The rooms are big and spacious however they are in need of an update. Our air con would turn on but despite setting it at its lowest the room was very warm.

As a person who is from Cardiff I think there are far nicer hotels available and at lesser price including a popular 5* hotel just outside of Cardiff with better spa facilities. We wanted to try somewhere different but we wouldn’t return.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joshj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2024

Dear Joshj89,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are glad to see you enjoy our spa and treatments. We are surprised to read your negative comments about our reception team member. We are renowned for the friendliness and professionalism of our staff and we can assure you we will review this event and take the necessary actions to ensure we raise to the high standards we both expect. similarly, we will review the bathrobes situation and ensure those are in sufficient quantity going forward.

We hope you change your mind and allow yourself to try us again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews