We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hugo P

Expensive toilet trouble!

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 7, 2024
Very expensive hotel. I bought new Gucci swimming trunks especially for this stay only to find out that there was NO swimming pool! The elevator did not stop at floor 3 which is a problem as I was staying ON floor 3! I either had to walk up from floor 2 or down from floor 4 depending on who was in the lift with me so they could carry my bags. On arrival to my room I found that there was NO toilet! Having paid all this money I didn't expect to use a communal toilet, after a few hours I needed to go for a poo, so I asked another guest where the communal toilet was, I was told that my room did indeed have a toilet and that it was behind the bathroom door that opens into the bathroom! HAVE THE HOTEL NOT HEARD ABOUT INSTRUCTIONS ON TOILET USE?! The television was also terrible, very few channels, no streaming, HDMI didn't connect to my Windows XP laptop, it was so old it could have had Ceefax! On the plus side the bed was comfortable and the hotel had very wide corridors, ALL hotels should have wide corridors.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Check prices as some other guests paid half what i paid for a room
Trip type: Travelled solo
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Przemek Kaminski, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review
Responded Jun 12, 2024
Dear F6009IOdavidj
First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay at Future Inn Cardiff Bay.
Regarding your comments, we appreciate your feedback and would like to address each point raised:
1. Swimming Pool: We apologize for any confusion, but we would like to clarify that we do not have a swimming pool facility at our hotel. We apologize if there was any miscommunication regarding this.
2. Lift Access to Third Floor: We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our lifts. We would like to assure you that we have two lifts available. There is currently a minor issue with one such that it is not currently stopping at the third floor. We are working hard to rectify this. In the meantime, the other lift provides access to all floors, including the third floor.
3. Toilet Facilities: We sincerely apologize for any confusion regarding the toilet facilities in your room. Each of our guest rooms is equipped with a private toilet, located behind the bathroom door. We understand the importance of clear instructions, and we will ensure that this information is communicated more effectively to our guests in the future.
4. TV Channels: We apologize if there were any limitations with the TV channels during your stay. We strive to provide a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all our guests and will look into any issues with the TV channels.
5. Wide Corridors: Thank you for acknowledging our wide corridors. We aim to provide a spacious and comfortable environment for our guests to navigate throughout the hotel.
We would like to invite you to contact us directly at foh.cardiff@futureinns.co.uk so that we can further investigate and address any concerns you may have. We hope that your next stay at Future Inn Cardiff Bay will exceed your expectations, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$56
  • Expedia.com
    C$57
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$53
  • Vio.com
    C$54
1.8 km from Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Free Wifi
C$152
  • Hotels.com
    C$153
  • Expedia.com
    C$134
  • Trip.com
    C$153
1.9 km from Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$137
C$118
  • Expedia.com
    C$118
  • HotelIndigo.com
    C$118
  • Hotels.com
    C$118
2.0 km from Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
C$68
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
0.4 km from Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Free parking
Restaurant
C$107
C$96
  • Expedia.com
    C$107
  • Hotels.com
    C$107
  • Vio.com
    C$96
0.7 km from Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$222
C$185
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
  • vocoHotels
    C$222
  • Hotels.com
    C$185
1.0 km from Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
C$96
  • Trip.com
    C$59
  • Agoda.com
    C$49
  • Vio.com
    C$52
2.1 km from Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
C$126
C$108
  • Booking.com
    C$107
  • Expedia.com
    C$108
  • Hotels.com
    C$108
1.1 km from Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
C$107
  • Booking.com
    C$96
  • Expedia.com
    C$96
  • Hotels.com
    C$96
1.8 km from Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
C$181
  • Expedia.com
    C$181
  • Vio.com
    C$177
  • Hotels.com
    C$182
2.1 km from Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (5,909)
Filter reviews
5,909 results
Traveller rating
2,755
2,123
652
218
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,755
2,123
652
218
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cardiff bay free parking millennium centre miller and carter two double beds the red dragon centre mermaid quay good size spacious room lovely hotel road noise minute walk buffet breakfast reception staff would stay again excellent value for money car park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 5,909 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2024 via mobile

Great location only 5 minute walk from the Marina and the Millennium Centre.

Lots of parking.

Booked a suite and it was a good size with 2 genuinely separate rooms.

Loads of restaurants all within a 5 minute walk.

Friendly staff

Very big bed, but the bedding really was not big enough.

Not so good was the colour of the furniture, muddy brown/beige which just makes it look dirty. Room had power points but not vey accessible. Bath had a shower over this and a shower curtain - shower curtains are never that welcoming a prospect, even more so when they start to move in and touch you whilst showering.

Breakfast a bit chaotic with coffee machines and toaster being real pinch points and access to the buffet being very narrow. Fried egg was cold which is not appealing.

Overall this felt like a bit American chain hotel that relies on high volume of one night stays and not repeat business.

Room tip: If you use Apple product you need to a special access code to use WiFi - Never had this before and make sure to ask when you check in.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank grwpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Przemek Kaminski, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2024

Dear grwpl
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take guest feedback seriously and appreciate your comments.
If there is anything we can help you with during your next visit, please do not hesitate to let us know! We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2024 via mobile

Great rooms, really spacious with plenty plug sockets and space for clothing. Super helpful reception team. We needed to change pillow type and they were prompt and courteous in resolving. We were visiting the Millennium Centre in Cardiff and this was a perfect location.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AmbieAmbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Przemek Kaminski, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2024

Dear AmbieAmbie1977
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, we are delighted we could ensure a comfortable stay during your visit.
Thank you once again for your stay and your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Future Inn Cardiff Bay.
Kind Regards,
Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2024

Lovely hotel but the food lets the place down . Good location with free parking second visit now and some of the food needs help ! Staff are very helpful definitely wouldn’t eat here again .
Not enough sockets by the beds only one socket next one bed also the kettle has to go on the floor to boil as that’s the closest socket .

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Roxanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Przemek Kaminski, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2024

Dear 90roxannek
First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We would like to express our apologies that you had a negative experience in our hotel.
To discuss this further we kindly ask that you contact us directly on foh.cardiff@futureinns.co.uk so that we can investigate.
We hope that your next stay at Future Inn Cardiff Bay will be a much more positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards,
Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2024 via mobile

Here is a lovely little hotel, 5 mins from the Marina in Cardiff bay .
The hotel room we had was quite big with 2 queen sized beds and very roomy .
There is tea/ coffee making facilities,tv, iron and a safe.
The bathroom has a shower in the bath but very good and quite powerful.
Downsides were no plug sockets on one side of the bed and unable to open the windows,( if you don't want that ask for any floor than 1.
The breakfast is £15 but well worth it, as it's a buffet type and very tasty.
The city is only £6-7 away but worth it if you want a good night out

Room tip: Quite expensive on the Marina bay
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Przemek Kaminski, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2024

Dear Joe M
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, we are delighted we could ensure a comfortable stay during your visit.
Thank you once again for your stay and your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Future Inn Cardiff Bay.
Kind Regards,
Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2024

Not been to the future inn for a few years.. now I know why.. it’s a great location, friendly staff but it’s tired, outdated .. grubby rooms, stained mattresses, rooms that smelt grubby obviously been smokers in them.. we chose an upgrade!! Suite.. broken grubby standard lamp.. creased bedding .. generally old and dated.. stained mattress was not an inviting sleep experience.. sad to see. Sadly I won’t be recommending a stay here..

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Przemek Kaminski, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2024

Dear joannejL9528TJ
First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We would like to express our apologies that you had a negative experience in our hotel.
To discuss this further we kindly ask that you contact us directly on foh.cardiff@futureinns.co.uk so that we can investigate.
We hope that your next stay at Future Inn Cardiff Bay will be a much more positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards,
Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews