We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good meal = great service=”
Review of The Old Barn Inn

The Old Barn Inn
Ranked #75 of 435 Restaurants in Newport
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
undy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good meal = great service=”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My friend and I had lunch at the Old Barn last week and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of food we received. It was very good.

The waiter was well training and treated us very well = not calling us "guys" or "gals". We are of an older generation and expect to be treated properly and we were.

the cost was very good and will certainly visit again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank libby h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    28
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful! Don't go if gluten free! ”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My parents and I visited the Old Barn Inn at the beginning of the Christmas break, after fancying it for a while.

I have Coeliac disease so can't eat anything with gluten in it. We rang and asked about this when we made a reservation, and was told it was no problem, and that "chef uses cornflour in all sauces anyway". Great, I thought!

When we arrived, we were told to find our own seat, no waiter was available. Fair enough. We waited for around 15 minutes before we saw a waitress. I asked about the gluten free. Waitress went to the kitchen, and when she returned, informed me that no sauces in the menu were gluten free. She said the chef could make a gluten free Bisto gravy.

Annoying but I said OK. She left with our orders, but then returned again. The gravy actually isn't gluten free. Hmmm.

I said fine, I'll have the gammon and chips. "Sorry, the chips aren't gluten free"

Really?! So on the phone when we made the reservation, we were told a complete lie. The waitress had an awful attitude, no apology, and would never return there again! Poor, poor service.

Helpful?
Thank LauraBrosnanJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well overpriced pub grub & drinks”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Stood at the 'tired & in need of a refurb' bar for a good 8-10 minutes to even be acknowledged let alone served!! We asked if we could eat and were told table 28 was free to go and sit there, when I asked if table 28 had a number on it the waitress replied "oh it's just easier if I just take you there" Jeez! Sorry to put you out!! We sat a a small table in the bar, ( there was a party going on in the restaurant so it was out of bounds) in close vicinity to another couple who started to talk much quieter as there was no music, ambience or atmosphere at all. Add bright lights to that and you might as well have been sat in a doctors waiting room.
We had a look at the menu and could not believe the prices they were asking for what can only be described as a pub menu! Nearly 12 quid for a lasagne and it didn't even come with chips!! There were other just as expensive pub food dishes on there but we decided to finish our also expensive drinks £6.75 for a pint of Worthy & a small cola and leave. Won't be rushing back here in a hurry. Stick to the Groes Wen up the road, much better value for money and much more welcoming all round.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RubstersMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Food Cold, Overpriced and Tired Seating Area”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a meal for two on a Friday evening and had no trouble getting a table as it wasn't that busy.
The menu wasn't that varied and was relatively expensive compared to most bar meals in the area. Our meals had to be returned as the chips were served almost cold and although the meal came back piping hot it does tend to put a dampener on things. We were however given a slight discount on paying the bill which didn't really make up for a disappointing experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grascots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and venue”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We recently visited The Old Barn Inn as quite a large group whilst staying at the Celtic Manor resort.

Whilst we were large in number (approx 16) and had to pre-order, the service was quick and the food was excellent. The food was freshly cooked and reasonably priced.

I'd definately visit again during stays at Celtic Manor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Barn Inn also viewed

 
Newport, Southern Wales
 

Been to The Old Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing