We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have tried other hotels in the area, and found this one to be the best for, service, comfort, location, breakfast and facilities. The staff are pleasant and helpful. At breakfast 01/04/2012 a group of guests were being very difficult, the staff dealt with the situation in a calm, dignified way,and made sure the rest of us had everything we required. Thank you to Heather, Nicola and Sarah. Elizabeth S

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    215
    51
    12
    6
See reviews for
133
142
29
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very clean hotel, room was nice and I had a good night sleep. Ideal for the weary business traveller

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Have stayed at this particular hotel on several occasions so feel that I can give an informed opinion. The staff at this hotel are extremely professional and friendly. Any queries were dealt with promptly and front desk staff were very helpful with regard to local services/amenities. Rooms are excellent - well maintained and clean. Restaurant/bar staff always very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Always asked for room on car park side which is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeePrice01, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for your continued support. We are committed to delivering the best customer experience and I am pleased to hear that the staff made your stay such an enjoyable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I was really pleased with my stay, the staff were excellent the room was excellent the only thing stopping a full five dots is no bacon in the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We've stayed at this hotel in a large group several times when our sports club competes in Cardiff. It's very accessible just off the M4 and only half an hour from Cardiff central. The hotel is quite big and has a lovely open reception and bar area with comfy leather seats and flat screen TV. The staff are very friendly and work very hard, but were a bit overstretched as there seemed to be only two staff running reception, the bar and housekeeping the evening we stayed. You're able to either order take aways to be delivered to the hotel reception/bar area which many people do (menus available at the hotel), or else eat in the pub just next door. The reception/bar is a great sociable area to meet up with friends and chat with other guests.

The bedrooms are a nice size with flat screen tv and a kettle etc. The beds are extremely comfortable and the bedding is clean and crisp. The bathroom is also spotless with a great power shower (liquid soap is provided by the sink/shower) and the door is cleverly designed so that you can still get to the sink/mirrors if someone is using the loo. The air con was quiet and efficient. All very clean and comfortable indeed.

The breakfast is adequate but it would be nice to have a decent cup of coffee instead of those dispensed out of the machine or having to make your own with sachets. The only other moan is that we, like others, had problems with the electronic room keys and had to return to reception a couple of times to get them reset.

We'll happily come back to this hotel for our next Cardiff trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewsbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel is by far the best place you will find in terms of customer service and satisfaction. We started staying at this hotel a couple of years ago, and we will never look back. We have now stayed here numerous times and I can honestly say that you will not be disappointed. The rooms are very clean, spacious and have tea/coffee facilities. This hotel is immaculate- you will not find a clearer hotel in Wales (im sure of that)! The last time we stayed here we had a slight issue- but was dealt with immediately and rectified immediately by the great manager (Lee) that runs this hotel. The staff in this hotel would help in any way they possibly could to help your stay be as comfortable as possible. They all go beyond what is expected of them. The team within this hotel is the best we have experienced (and we stay at hotels monthly with work) so this should fill you with confidence. Breakfast is included in the room rate- which has always been hot and replinshed quickly by the lovely staff.
I am absolutely amazed with the service and care that this hotel offers, I would like to thank you all very much.
Keep up the hard work, we will be back to visit soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellrodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night last month. It was very clean, the room was lovely and a nice temperatue. Bathroom had a bath and really powerful shower. Staff on reception were very friendly, all in all, an excellent stay, and as we paid £37 including breakfast, we would definatley recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
5.1 km away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#11 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
7.8 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
9.2 km away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newport
Address: Lakeside Drive | Coedkernew, Newport NP10 8BB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the good-value Holiday Inn Express Newport hotel for convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Holiday Inn Express Newport is 20 minutes' drive from Cardiff city centre and 30 minutes' from Cardiff International Airport, with plenty of complimentary parking .Our handy location beside Celtic Springs Business Park, 6 miles from Newport town centre, puts local companies on your doorstep. You can check email with free wireless Internet available throughout. Make yourself comfortable on a leather sofa in the bar and chat to friends over a beer. Invite 10-55 people to an event in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms, all equipped with LCD projectors and wireless Internet. Holiday Inn Express Newport offers a free continental breakfast with selected hot items each morning and under-18s stay for free in our Family rooms. It's just 12 miles to sports events in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium and nights out in Cardiff Bay's lively bars. We are delighted all of our guestrooms have now been refurbished and have a completely new look. We have added in lots of extra features including irons, ironing boards and better hair dryers to make sure that you have even more home comforts when you are away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Express Newport UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing