We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
35
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscwm ivybake houserelaxing weekhot tubhome made cakesaward winning gardensbritannia pubbeautiful cottagewalking distanceon arrivalcomfortable bedswallowschristineaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 40 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

We have been coming to Cwm Ivy for several years now, and our visits just get better and better, we have stayed in both swallows rest and the bakehouse, the welcome from Christine and Tony always makes you feel like you are visiting relatives rather than you renting out a cottage, always cake, flowers, chocs and a beautifully maintained cottage awaits your arrival, the location is stunning and a good base to explore the gower, this year we have had a friendly Robin look after us, he arrives each morning to check we have slept well and steals whatever crumbs we leave out. A little piece of paradise. Roll on next year!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 444lallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thank you for the great review we alway look forward to seeing you both and catching up with your news, and next year is a very special one we (Robin included) hope to see you then. Very kind regards Christine & Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

We had such a lovely time at The Bakehouse that we really didn't want to leave. We were made to feel incredibly welcome, with home made cake and flowers from the garden. The hosts are fabulous- really friendly but unobtrusive. The cottage is simply lovely and perfect for a romantic get away. The gardens are beautiful and we were amused by a young robin that joined us for breakfast every day. We loved the walk to the beach and took the path through the wood to the salt marshes where we sat and watched the wild ponies. There's lots to do nearby; we explored most of the Gower during our stay. On our last night we had an amazing meal at The King Arthur Hotel and then drove further up the hill to watch the sun setting over the sea. We loved Cwm Ivy's busy community shop which had an amazing array of home made cakes. It really was a relaxing week and we will definitely return!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for the great review we were very pleased you enjoyed your time with us its a pleasure sharing our little patch of Gower and our much loved garden,and hope you will be able to come and see us again. by the way the Robin said thank you.
Kind regards Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016

A warm welcome with a cake awaiting us. Quiet and peaceful which was what we were looking for. A beautiful garden at Welsh Welcome Cwm Ivy Court Farm with the benefit of a hot tub, my first experience of one ..fun. Small issue resolved immediately and cheerfully. Swallows Rest is part of a converted barn with access to the bedroom area via steep steps which would not be a problem for most people. We were able to sit out in the garden and enjoy the view over the Gower Salt Marshes.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jimb0jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Thamk you for your review Im so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as you say The Swallows Rest is a barn convertion, if you have limited mobility stairs might be a problems and The Bakehouse could be a better option.
Kind regards Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2016

We had a lovely few days staying the the Bakehouse - a pretty, cosy cottage with a lovely private garden out front for those lazy meals outside, with plenty more beautiful gardens to stroll through and admire (winner of countless 'Wales/Swansea in Bloom' awards).
We didn't have a car but didn't miss one at all. We took a taxi from Swansea train station (about 35 pounds), but once we were there, everything was right on our doorstep - the expansive, deserted, beautiful beach & lots of lovely waks; the local shop/cafe is 10 mins up the road, as is the excellent pub 'the Britannia' which has great food - we kept going back again and again!
We had a day of sunshine where we walked the beautiful coast path to Rhossili - about a 5 hour round trip - and rewarded ourselves with a stint in the hot tub back at the cottage - there's nothing better for sore feet!
Christine and Tony were excellent hosts, and there were lots of little details they had thought of that made our stay really nice - from a freshly baked cake when we arrived, to chocolates on the pillow. I'm already trying to figure out when we can return!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Cat_JonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2016

Thank you for the great review I am so pleased you enjoyed you short stay with us and it goes to show you dont need a car there is so much to do on our doorstep, I must say the new hot tub is great after a day walking what better way to unwind,I do hope to see you both again.
Kind regards Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2016

We've just come back from a fortnight staying in Swallows Rest - the accommodation was spacious, cool in even the hottest weather and, everyday, there were the lovely gardens to sit out in and enjoy. It's a truly special place where the owners have put real thought and care into making you welcome, looking after you while respecting your need for your own space. We loved the views of the estuary - the tide below spreading amongst the trees and grass - being able to step out from the front gate onto National Trust land and paths to the sea, the home-made cake that greeted us and getting to know the gardens. There's even a hut with a veranda in the orchard that is just for quiet reading - perfect on a rainy day! Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Swallows Rest is a barn conversion with steep stairs to the bedroom - worth talking to the owners if you are worried about mobility.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RjamesH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, Owner at Welsh Welcome, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Thank you for the lovely review you are quite right due to the thick stone walls the Swallows Rest is cool on hot days and stays warm in the winter and the reading room in the garden is a joy on any day, We do hope to see you both again some time.
Kind regards Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews