We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off”
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Booked a party of 8 for New Years eve, had to pay full amount prior to date, one couple could not attend due to sickness telephoned 4 days in advance and were told could have the night again when condition improved, this was confirmed by hotel staff when I booked out on NYD. Now informed that they have no record of this or of several conversations made by couple since. Customer service at management level leaves a great deal to be desired.

Bar prices extorsonate 2 small glass diet coke from tap.

The staff that we came across during our stay were without exception very attentive and pleasant, however we did not meet anyone with any authority to state that the payment could be carried forward, this was stated by the assistant manager.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
I am sorry that you are not happy with our refund situation, but pleased to note that like most guests you enjoyed the evening.

New Years Eve is a fully pre paid non refundable event. This is made clear in our terms and conditions, as we always fill for NYE, and turn away a lot of potential bookings once full.

I am sorry that you had to cancel at late notice, however as with a concert ticket, plane ticket etc etc we cannot resell this place at late notice, hence our terms and conditions which are printed up front in all our Xmas brochures.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    256
    177
    48
    24
See reviews for
135
234
16
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The Mercure Swansea is one of the cleanest and friendliest hotels in the area. Although it is situated in the middle of an industrial estate, a taxi is 5 minutes away from the city centre, and it also has a nice lake behind it; lovely to go for an early morning jog.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. I asked for a few extra pillows and towels, and were delivered to my room within 5 minutes.
The rooms were very clean, no dust whatsoever; well done housekeeping!!
The restaurant food was of high standard, with lots of different foods available.

stayed for 3 nights, and would definitely recommend and return in the future; big thumbs up!!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, they no longer have smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJenkins186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.

I am lucky in that Swansea people tend to be a very freindly bunch, and most of my staff come fresh out of the box with a happy smiley disposition. We look forward to0 seeing you again on your next visit tro Swansea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed here for a work function. Room was large but minimal. Staff were very friendly. Hotel signage to rooms etc was not good.

Once found hotel had a largish car park but is in the middle of a trading estate!


During the evening the bar ran out of Gin & Vodka by 11:00pm as well as toilet paper in both the gents & ladies toilets.

Breakfast was reasonable but expensive at £13.95 a head. Started at 08:00hrs but when i arrived at 9:00am a lot of the cooked items were mising.
Fruit joics, milk etc were not labelled.

Room Tip: As for a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhondda_Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

14 of us stayed in this hotel for 2 days arriving on Fri 30th Dec leaving New years day. On the whole the hotel met with all of our needs. Our room (family, no children) was comfortable, clean and met our expectations. I did however have to ask for some clean pillowcases for the spare pillows as they smelt fousty. The room did not have a wardrobe instead there were 2 small hanging rails attached to the wall outside the bathroom.
There was also an ironing board, iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, 2 seater sofa bed, 2 leather chairs and a footstool. This did not apply to all family rooms though.
The evening meal food was okay if you like "fancy, not sure what it is food" Breakfast was traditional English, including cereals, fresh melon, tinned but sour grapefruit. Croissants pastries and toast. The bacon was wet & undercooked both days and you had to wait several minutes for an egg of your choice to be cooked. Worth asking them to cook the bacon a bit more as soon as you go into the restaurant if you prefer it this way. Unfortunately we did not get chance to try out the spa facilities but it looked okay.
New years eve: Dinner served from 19:00onwards and although each course was well presented it was not to the majority of our party, to our taste... too fancy. We had to wait an average of 30minutes between courses. The entertainment was 2 middle aged men playing guitar and an accordian and whilst they tried hard they had the good grace to stand down letting the disco play an an assortment of music to the joy of most in attendance. Drinks were very expensive an average of £3.75/£4.00each, not sure how much soft drinks cost... Staff were very pleasant and obliging. Worth taking into account this chain of hotels is about to undergo major refurbishment. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herefordshire_MrsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Hotel room was spotless, beds were comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, everything you can think of and service was top rate.

Room Tip: Stayed on second floor and had no noise, a lovely peacefull sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneNipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
194 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed here for one night as were attending a party.
Check in was efficient and desk staff friendly and helpful. Our room was a standard double, it was boiling hot so needed to turn heating off. The room itself was very clean and comfortable and had everything you need tv, tea and coffee, toiletries etc. it is very dated, the bathrooms look like they havent seen an upgrade since 1975, formica style wall tiling and the shower was pretty useless too.
There are some lovely Mercure hotels, but ths one is definately not one of them.
The bed was comfy and the hotel quiet despite there being a party downstairs, we didnt hear a thing.
Breakfast was lovely, a really good selection and eggs could be cooked to order, again service was friendly.
It was very reasonable at £55 for a room including breakfast, and a good hotel for a one night stay, but i wouldnt recommend it for a lovely weekend break. Think of it as a good travelodge with a pool and decent breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MossyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Stayed for a recent weekend break and found the hotel excellent value for money we were on a dbb first night and bb the second but I have to say the food quality was of a very high standard and along with the xmas party atmos we booked the restaurant for a second evening which wasn't planned buffet style breakfast in morning was nice with little fuss from staff who just got on with their jobs which suited us
Our room was downstairs which I asked for at booking stage and clean and comfortable all in all a nice little weekend away

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
5.1 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
974 reviews
3.8 km away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,537 reviews
4.3 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#6 of 22 in Swansea
749 reviews
3.9 km away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
607 reviews
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Property: Mercure Swansea
Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing