We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meeting”
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed 10 February 2012

attended a course here, all very well laid out, had headed paper and pens provided plus water jugs, there was coffee upon arrival which was fine, was clean but meeting room looking a little tired, could do with a tidy-up also did have fairy lights still across the front wall which did keep catching my eye! would recommend for future business meetings

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thanks for your feedback. The fairy lights were from an after Christmas party the previous weekend and have now been removed !. Glad to hear that you found everthing else to be in order, and hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back as a customer agin in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed here for Chelsea's visit to Swansea. Well located for the stadium which is a 20 minute walk away up the river. Also great if your a runner as there are miles of woodland trails straight out of the door and a big lake to the rear. The hotel itself is typical 80's build courtyard type thing, the public areas are nice, but corridors and bedrooms are starting to look a little tired. Having said that the staff were all great from the smiley chatty receptionist on the way in, right through to the little breakfast lady who gave us a good run down of things to do in the area (though we didn't have time on the occaision. Food was also good, though beer as in most hotels was bit more than it needed to be

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are apparently better than 1st floor. We had 1st floor though did book late on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thanks for your review and glad that you enjoyed your stay.

NB - Chelsea were a bit lucky on the day to get a draw, and my prediction that AVB would be gone by the end of the season has proved correct.

Hopefully if the mighty Swans survive the drop, we'll see you again next season, with your latest new manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at The Mercure Swansea on Saturday 28th January and had a very enjoyable stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable with everything one would want. From the moment we arrived the staff were more than helpful and made us feel really welcome. Even though they were very busy they took time to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. We were there for a wedding party - and the buffet laid on by the Hotel was excellent - highly recommended. Breakfast in the morning was fresh and plentiful and on Sunday is available until 12.00 - so you can have a really long lie in. They have a small but well equipped Gym and a nice heated swimming pool, which we didn't use, but certainly had a lot of use from other guests. Would have no hesiaition in staying at this hotel again and would recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: No tips needed - I think all the romms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Val and Mike,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Its always great to get positive feedback, and for the staff to hear that their efforts are appreciated is always a good motivator, in fact the more positive comments they get, the better they get at looking after our customers. Thanks once again, and look forward to welcoming you back to Swansea if your coming this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Hotel is as you would expect for a average hotel and we got a cheap rate - £89 for a family room. Pool nice but small, however the staff really make this place across the board from reception to the pool and they can't do enough to make your stay comfortable and easy. We wanted more towels and duvets and they were with us almost as soon as we asked for them.

We had a few issues with a noisy party coming in throughout the night however the staff were really apologetic.

A bit in the middle of nowhere but very functional and an excellent breakfast with good quality ingredients and eggs cooked to order.

We'll be back - thanks to the staff for being so helpful

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Hi Hanna,

Just a short note to say thanks for your kind review. It really does make a difference to the team to read this sort of feedback, and your comments were posted on the staff noticebaord as soon as they appeared on Trip advisor.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We came here on an offer and were really pleased with what we found. The room was large and comfy and had comfy pull out bed for the two children to share. There is a swimming pool which we made use of and there were family games to borrow on reception which the kids loved. The hotel itself is well placed for Swansea and near to a large shopping complex. A few miles away is Swansea museum which is new and interesting and a large water splash which, although really busy, the kids loved. A short drive is the Mumbles with its little shops and cafes. We loved this area and the hotel was ideally placed. We didn't eat there apart from breakfast but this was excellent. We will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Hi Kate,

Just a short note to thank you for your kind review posted in Jan. Apologies for the delay in sending this thank you note, but I have had access issues to the management response that were finally cured today. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and if you're coming this way again hopefully we can look after you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Booked a party of 8 for New Years eve, had to pay full amount prior to date, one couple could not attend due to sickness telephoned 4 days in advance and were told could have the night again when condition improved, this was confirmed by hotel staff when I booked out on NYD. Now informed that they have no record of this or of several conversations made by couple since. Customer service at management level leaves a great deal to be desired.

Bar prices extorsonate 2 small glass diet coke from tap.

The staff that we came across during our stay were without exception very attentive and pleasant, however we did not meet anyone with any authority to state that the payment could be carried forward, this was stated by the assistant manager.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

I am sorry that you are not happy with our refund situation, but pleased to note that like most guests you enjoyed the evening.

New Years Eve is a fully pre paid non refundable event. This is made clear in our terms and conditions, as we always fill for NYE, and turn away a lot of potential bookings once full.

I am sorry that you had to cancel at late notice, however as with a concert ticket, plane ticket etc etc we cannot resell this place at late notice, hence our terms and conditions which are printed up front in all our Xmas brochures.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The Mercure Swansea is one of the cleanest and friendliest hotels in the area. Although it is situated in the middle of an industrial estate, a taxi is 5 minutes away from the city centre, and it also has a nice lake behind it; lovely to go for an early morning jog.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. I asked for a few extra pillows and towels, and were delivered to my room within 5 minutes.
The rooms were very clean, no dust whatsoever; well done housekeeping!!
The restaurant food was of high standard, with lots of different foods available.

stayed for 3 nights, and would definitely recommend and return in the future; big thumbs up!!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, they no longer have smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJenkins186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerSwansea, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.

I am lucky in that Swansea people tend to be a very freindly bunch, and most of my staff come fresh out of the box with a happy smiley disposition. We look forward to0 seeing you again on your next visit tro Swansea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
5.1 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
4.3 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
978 reviews
3.8 km away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
802 reviews
3.9 km away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 22 in Swansea
636 reviews
4.4 km away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: $97 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing