We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Hard to Summerise

Having driven past the Museum several times and called on a previous occasion to find it closed we... read more

Reviewed July 17, 2018
Mordwywr
,
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Worth a visit

We visited this place on our recent trip to Wales. The museum is easy to find and well sign-posted... read more

Reviewed July 4, 2018
Lucie K
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 105 reviews
  
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
45
35
11
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
35
11
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews world war war years an eye opener interesting place on display ww2 exhibits school museum costumes realistic grime shop clothing pub video info
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 105 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Interesting place with qr codes giving info. The owner is well informed and clearly enthusiastic about the subject. The QR codes near each exhibit are links to youtube videos showing people in costume explaining what your seeing. But.. place looked like it could do with a good cleaning. The gents has to be one of the worst ive ever seen, I mean it was shockingly bad. Looked like it hadn't been cleaned in many days. Sorry just being honest.

Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Thanks for your comments, the feedback does help us. After a busy year of thousands of school children we are cleaning and repainting at the moment. Your points about the male toilet are noted, I can assure that they are cleaned daily, and the walls are being updated this week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018

Having driven past the Museum several times and called on a previous occasion to find it closed we decided to give it another shot. The entrance fee of £5.95 pp was not excessive considering the ticket could be retained and used several times. Staff were very welcoming, helpful and informative. We both being born at the end of WW2 could remember a great deal of the items on display, and it brought back long forgotten memories. As for the displays we had mixed feelings, not a place to wear light colour clothing most of the objects were covered by dust the whole museum seemed it could do with a good clean. The glass or plastic cases were smeared the mannequin's uniforms appeared grimy. There didn't seem to be any method to how the displays were arranged, no timeline as such, and items such as photos not grouped in one area, with items not on display heaped in corners.
Having said al that, it wasn't all bad and still a enjoyable experience and would be an eye opener for many people not conversant with that period. I would go again, but wish that it was a little more organised and presented more professionally as it could be a must see attraction.

1  Thank Mordwywr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

We've tried to explain to several customers recently that many, many thousands of schoolchildren visit from September to July. Our last school was yesterday with over 80, and we are now able to start our deep clean ready for the next season starting in barely 7 weeks time. We are sorry that you so clearly noticed that the tidy up is overdue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018

We visited this place on our recent trip to Wales. The museum is easy to find and well sign-posted and everyone was extremely welcoming. They provided water for our dog and also allowed our dog to go in (including in the shelter where she wouldn't have been allowed back in the time) and talked to us about wartime Swansea. Overall, a very interesting place and we could see that a lot of love, passion and time went into it. It was a shame that at the time of our visit we were the only visitors (great for us, but not so great for the museum) and we really hope more people will visit! So if you're reading this review and planning your trip in the area, please add this place to your itinerary, it is well worth it!

Thank Lucie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Thanks for your review. During this heatwave it is cooler inside our Street so we are getting visitors, and those on 4 legs are most welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

John showed us around,he was very friendly and enthusiastic.
It was very interesting learning lots about world war 2 and what people had to go through.
In the street,there was a pub called the 3 lamps.You can have a go on the piano and when you close your eyes you are transported back with the sounds,voices,and atmosphere.
There is also a shop showing photos and an actual real wedding dress made from a
parachute.
We really enjoyed all the different clothes,hats, and bags from the 1940's.

1  Thank william212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Visited the 1940s Swansea Bay Museum - Privately owned - what a great experince to step back in time to the 1940s - RAF ops room -Bombed House- Street Scene - Pub - Warden Post - dressing up clothes - Photos - Cinema -and more including a WW1 Memorial Trench - and also a brilliant piece of technology where you use your phone - tablet or iPad and a QR Code Scanner (Downloadable Free on internet) scan the QR Code on the various exhibits etc and they are brought to life with video presentations by re-enactors.

1  Thank GertrudePerkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Thanks Ms Perkins for leaving your review. The Storyline Trail using the QR code links to videos has proved very popular. We're hoping to expand further this summer with new displays and exhibitions on The Great War and also the Anglo Zulu Wars of 1879, where so many local Welshmen fought.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2017

This is a very small museum portraying wartime Swansea, which suffered bombing during the blitz on the docks and housing. Though small it is run by genuine enthusiasts, who also have special events, with uniforms etc. There is a section where you can dress in wartime clothing and uniforms and have cuppa. It is nostalgic for older folks. I was born just after the war, but still remember the war damage and rubble, and much nicer architecture. The museum has collected these memories together. The curators are friendly and nice to chat to, and often wear army gear. Follow the Fabian Way road to get to it... if entering Swansea past the new university buildings, watch out for a turning left. Then follow the signs. If approaching from Swansea centre, turn left when you see the sign..

1  Thank BarryNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017

Called here when staying along Swansea Waterfront. The museum is like a Tardis , plenty to see and we particularly liked the dressing up outfits and hats. A friendly member of staff at the entrance who explained about the museum.
The museum is a fascinating walk back in time which we thoroughly enjoyed. We sat outside for a little while , the weather was warm.

Thank MorgyGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

We had driven 2 hours and came from Australia to find the CLOSED sign on the door due to a school group how very disappointed and annoyed we four we.

Thank Barry Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Due to a member of staff being absent we went ahead with the pre-booked school visit but weren't able to have someone full time on reception. We did answer the telephone and emails and the two couples that 'phoned from the car park and the gentleman who knocked on the door were able to get in, I'm sorry that you didn't. I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

We visited a few years ago. I love all the history relating to ww1, ww2 and collieries etc. So much time and effort has gone into this museum. Realistic views on what happened during war time.

1  Thank deborahcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

Although a little cloudy...and the tide was out. Many possibilities...there is a good flat footpath all along the bay ...next to the beach...nice little cafe .....did not get to sample city life it was Sunday and mostly closed. .non the less a good walk and the Mumbles is just down the road.I would imagine it gets very busy in the summer..

2  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Thanks for your kind words about Swansea Bay, as members of the local tourist trade association I completely agree that this area is a fantastic place to visit and enjoy all year round, in all weathers.
We are the 1940s Swansea Bay museum, telling the story not just of this area but of everyday life on the Home Front through our indoor wartime street. Do visit if you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews