We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardos Guest House
Ranked #18 of 42 Swansea B&B and Inns
Dortmund, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I came to Swansea for an Internship and ended up staying there for 3 weeks. First and formost I must say the Guesthouse is run by a lovely couple who were really friendly to me and helped me in any way possible.

The room service was excellent and everyday it felt like coming into a new room. The breakfast was great and had a real value for money.

The only thing which might bother somebody would be that the single room was quite noisy because of the road but after a couple of days that did not bother me at all. This was a small single room right at side of the road, however the view was magnificant and every morning the first thing I got to see was the sea :-)

All in all I was very happy with my stay and for the low price of a single room there is nothing to complain about.

Looking forward to my next visit

Mark

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna_krfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    28
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
26
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

The bedroom was very small & cramped and had no view. The shower was brilliant, but the shower room itself smelt very damp & musty, with no shelving for stuff. Breakfast was very mean only one button mushroom & that was quartered. Plus the parking was a pain- single yellow lines outside. Not worried about the traffic noise though. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarnieC063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardosGuestHouse, Owner at Leonardos Guest House, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thanks for your comment which we take very seriously. As a result we are now letting air circulate air for longer in the bathrooms after use, and also add more shelves to make it a little more convenient when needed. We are also going to add on the breakfast portion size to suite bigger appetite. This is in addition to all that is available including cereals toasts, jams, marmalades, yoghurt, fruit juices, fresh fruit and more. Unfortunately there is not a lot we can do to improve the room size or the free car parking (4pm to 8am mon to fri) on our doorstep. There is another area to park at 2 min walk from us although is not free. I am glad that you slept well and you find Leonardos Guest House quiet.
Regards
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swansea hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a great stay at Leonardo's - we were staying as part of a 7 week overseas trip and had 3 nights here. Leonardo himself was very friendly and accommodating and the location was ideal for what we were wanting to do on our weekend (we did have a car so it was easy to get around). Great views of the waterfront!

Be aware that Leonardo's is situated on a main road. It does get busy at peak times and is quite noisy! If you are after peace and quiet then this accommodation may not be for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

First, don't be put off by the somewhat sketchy appearing neighborhood where you find this guest house. The property is a jewel among thorns on busy Oystermouth Road in a block of numerous other guest houses. We and another couple selected Leonardo's at random from Lonely Planet-Wales based pretty much on price. Our colleagues knew the area well having been to Swansea on several previous occasions and knew we would be OK here. Imagine our surprise at the updated rooms and en suite baths. Smallish, but very comfortable. Each of our rooms overlooked the shore with an expansive view to downtown Swansea in one direction and Mumbles Head Light to the other. The road is very busy during the day and fairly noisy with traffic, but that settles down to almost nothing at night. Parking is available on the street in front of the property from 4 PM to 8 AM and there is a free lot one block away for other times. An easy 10 minute walk gets you to Swansea Town Center and all of its attractions. The Dylan Thomas house (newly open to the public) is a 20 minute walk - uphill. Best features are the breakfasts served by Leonardo himself. Full English breakfast or a continental breakfast are included in the room rate. Leonardo is an Italian expat who has operated the property with his Welsh wife for about nine years. Most accommodating indeed. Our room rate equaled 52 British Pounds (about USD85) per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overlooking the Bay of Swansea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternNYTravelFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Ideally situated for the Ferry and an overnight stop prior to hitting the South Wales coast. The owners are very welcoming and cannot do enough for you. The bedrooms are bijou and immaculatey presented. Loads of hot water and fluffy towels. Excellent breakfasts with a full english and a budget lite bite available. Also serves cockles and lava bread !!.

Location on the coast road with a beach opposite to stretch the legs. Good Thai restaurant on the corner. 5 minutes from the Marriott for budget conscious wedding attendees!!!. Would recommend as a base.

Room Tip: Good value budget base for Swansea and district
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCreery-Morbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I must sing the praises of Leonardos Guest House. The staff are some of the friendliest people you will meet and they will serve you as best they can. The breakfast is good quality especially if you are an espresso drinker. The rooms are clean and tidy with tea and coffee in the rooms and freeview television. The only minor suggestion I would have was in my room (9) the door is a fire door so very heavy, a handle would be useful as it is hard to open using the lock alone from inside, but as i say minor detail! I would strongly recommend anyone visiting the Swansea area to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardosGuestHouse, Owner at Leonardos Guest House, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
I am happy to hear that you were happy to stay with us
As a result of your feedback we will install a handle on the door (room 9) to make it more user friendly
Thanks for your constructive criticism; Tina and I would be pleased to welcome you again
Regards
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Check out the breakfast. Stormbound on a sailing holiday, this provided a great sanctuary for the battered crew. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.9 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.6 km away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.0 km away
Hurst Dene Hotel
Hurst Dene Hotel
#19 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardos Guest House

Property: Leonardos Guest House
Address: 380 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardos Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leonardo’s is a family-run guest house which offers a high standard of bed & breakfast accommodation. Boasting an idyllic setting at the edge of both the Gower peninsula Swansea City Centre and just off the M4. Our guest house is a perfect location for easy access to the city centre, Swansea University and surrounding areas. We are positioned facing almost due south, along the shore of Swansea’s five miles beach, which stretches to the picturesque Mumbles and its Light House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, LateRooms and Expedia so you can book your Leonardos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing