We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend, better places in Belfast to eat, service atrocious, food basic.”
Review of The Square Cafe & Restaurant - CLOSED

The Square Cafe & Restaurant
Price range: US$4 - US$63
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Golden Mile
Reviewed February 7, 2016

Service was very bad. Had to wait 50 minutes on our main course. We didn't order a starter and had to ask for our drinks 20 minutes after our drinks order was taken. Food was definitely not up to much, the hake was over cooked, and the sauce that came wit it was like salsa from a jar but didn't even taste as good. The side orders were very basic no flavour or effect put in to them. We asked for the steak to be medium and after 50 minutes it came out well done. They did change it but disappointed. The cream brulee was tasteless and the topping was very hard. Ask for a baileys coffee got something but it wasn't that. Sent it back. They hadn't a clue about anything. Never again, wasn't cheap either for a terrible slop.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Divster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 213 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2016

If you are dreading eating out for fear of a bad experience then hop to The Square. I here quite frequently and shamefully don't post reviews but I can honestly say I've never had a bad experience here. The food is always appetising, presented well and cooked perfectly and they are happy to cook to your requirements. The front of house staff are attentive and knowledgeable and always available for advice, recommendation and a 'bit of craic'. I give a big thumbs up for the Square!

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank NutsBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2016 via mobile

Super friendly service.

Delicious food.

Have been twice in one week.
Well priced lunch menu.

What's not to like

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank tfitzpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2016

Went here on a recommendation,Cannot say i had a good time really,The food was average, the young waiting staff were average, but menu is expensive .place is very nice and clean but for the price IT SHOULD BE TOP DRAW

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank postman1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

Three of us had a lovely lunch here. The waiter was very efficient, friendly and helpful. We started off with the house pâté and then I had the smoked fish risotto, while the others has Salmon Mornay and Chicken Schnitzel. All were very pleased with our lunch and would return. I tasted the chicken schnitzel and would rocommend that one especially. Well done The Square !

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Sean Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing