We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!”
Review of Lagan Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lagan Backpackers
Stevens Point
1 review
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hostel is perfectly situated within Belfast, a comfortable walk from the train station and a block away from the botanical gardens. The staff was excellent, and they cooked an amazing breakfast - included in the already fair price of accommodation! I can't wait to get back to Belfast!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    115
    42
    31
    55
See reviews for
13
47
132
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I had a really nice stay in Lagan Backpackers. The stuff was really nice and gave us a map and instructions for the sightseeing possibilities. We didn't even asked for it that was great. All the planning for a black cab tour and a tour to the giant's causeway was managed by them. For the black cab tour we were made to meet other travelers for that it's cheaper what was great.
The breakfast is fresh made and delicious and included in the prize what is amazing.
The location is nice because of the relaxed atmosphere near to the university so perfect for everybody who likes the student lifestyle. I would really recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The owner was friendly and gave us a map and guide to the attractions round the city. The hostel was rather out of the way on a street full of for sale/ to let properties not really sure why. The free cooked breakfast was good, the sheets were clean and the bathrooms were ok. The locks didn't feel very secure and looked like DIY jobs. The carpets were frayed, the paintwork wasn't very neat and there was mould on the shower ceiling. In the evening everyone got drunk and didn't really want to talk, so that was quite scary. We stayed in the city centre until bed time to avoid it. Not the hostels fault but we hardly got any sleep cause a guy in our room snored the worst I have ever heard, two other snorers didn't help. Nothing stopped him snoring. Worst of all my boyfriend woke to find someone looking through his stuff trying to steal things! Good thing everything of value was locked away. Still very unnerving though. We gave up on sleeping at about 7. If you are looking for a hostel in Belfast I would recommend Vagabonds Hostel instead.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMacKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Hi

My apologies. We try not to take groups that make our guests uncomfortable. In this case they made many separate bookings(i have put a ban on that in my terms and conditions so i can turn them away in future)
Again my appologies about the groups behaviour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I would like to take this opportunity to advise any travelers considering staying here, NOT TO DO SO.

The issue I have here is not with the location, nor with the general state of the rooms but rather with the behaviour and attitude of the staff, particularly the owner Willem.

He was sexist when addressing the females in our group, using profanities to address one of the girls. Quite frankly, it was disgusting.

The girls did not feel comfortable in the hostel at any point.

He also talked with myself the other males in our group about his past conquests with women in very explicit terms - something I found was highly inappropriate and distasteful.

He was rude, ignorant, and displayed no sense of courtesy.

I have been to Belfast many times, the city has many fantastic hostels, this however is not one of them. This is not due to location, nor the general state of the rooms, but rather the attitudes and behaviour of the staff.

If you have girls in your group, do not stay here. You do not want to pay for this treatment.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
WOW eventually you guys will grow up and accept responsibility for being removed by the police, or get sued for defimation becuase of all the lies!
Any backpacker will read that all the bad reviews are from group that was made to leave by the police! becuase of bad behavour and extreme intoxication that made everyone in the hostel uncomfortable and not feel safe.
Out of thousands of online reviews the only really bad ones are from you guys! Your identities wont be safe forever... Then ill see you in court!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

A group of 8 of us stayed there last weekend and had to leave after the first night fearing for our safety after the owner whom had been drinking very heavily attacked one of our party.We had to call the police on him and are now taking it further ,I would not advice anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
You were removed from the hostel by the police. Yopu can keep posting on here weekly. No real backpacker reads this site anyways.
Eventually you need to take responsibility for your intoxicated action.
If your group cant behave i have no option but to call the police. Unlike the untruth about you contacting the police!
This is defimation and i will see you in court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Last weekend myself and seven other friends were staying in the Lagan Backpackers Hostel in Belfast. At approximately 12 am on the Friday night the intoxicated manager asked one of our friends (X) to keep the noise down (in an impolite manner) in which (X) replied ‘Well what are you going to do about it?’. The manager leaned forward and assaulted (X) by head-butting him. The manager then threw (X) on to the ground and continued to viciously head butt (X). When (X) finally managed to get up he took out his phone and began ringing the police, but he was unable to do this because the phone was grabbed off him by the manager. I have never experienced anything like this in my life and do not want this to happen to other people. We were all thrown out of the hostel that night and for hours we had nowhere to go, as all the hostel receptions were closed and the hotels had been fully booked. We are all in shock and still cannot believe what happened. I would strongly advise people to stay away from the Lagan Backpackers Hostel. It is not safe!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Customer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
You were removed from the hostel by the police after attacking me! You can keep posting these fabricated claims.. No real backpacker reads this site anyways.
Eventually you need to take responsibility for your intoxicated action.
If your group cant behave i have no option but to call the police and had you removed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hostel was not really close to anything, but for the price it was good. Breakfast was included and there was one free wifi computer available.

It was pretty noisy at night though :(

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutterbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,303 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagan Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagan Backpackers

Property: Lagan Backpackers
Address: 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast BT7 1HU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lagan Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Included is a FREE English Breakfast that includes Bacon, Sausage, egg, beans and toast. Or Porridge or scrambled eggs and bacon. Please note breakfast is strictly between 8 and 10 with no exceptions. All breakfast served only with coffee or tea. Lagan Backpackers is simply a large Belfast house that has been converted into a Backpackers Hostel; and it is owned and run by a South African guy who knows what backpackers want. Our high ratings are mostly due to the great attention and recommendations that you can expect from both myself and my staff. My idea for a great hostel is very simple: to make you feel at home. To give you a comfortable bed to sleep in, to keep the noise down after eleven to ensure a peaceful sleep and to make you feel so at home that you make new friends and enjoy Belfast as much as possible. We provide advice on all tours of Northern Ireland, and will only recommend tours that we have personally experienced. We advise that our customers do not pre-book tours before visiting as we find that some tour operators overcharge and do not provide the level of customer satisfaction that we expect for our guests. In addition to this, Lagan Backpackers hostel is very friendly to single travellers, as we go the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay. We are located minutes from the City Centre, the Lagan River and the picturesque Queens University campus; and mere moments away from the lively Botanic Avenue where there are many restaurants, shops, pubs and clubs for our customers to enjoy. Additionally, the Botanical Gardens that boast beautiful greenhouses and the famed Tropical Ravine is a short walk away, adjacent to the Ulster Museum. ** No groups, stag parties, hen parties or drunken weekends like Paddys day!! Please remember only for the 11,12,13,14 July I do not accept booking from people from the UK (England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales..Also no American or Canadian band members). This is only for the marching season. No refunds on deposits will be given and you will be turned away on arrival. No stag or hen parties or groups without prior permission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HostelWorld so you can book your Lagan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing