We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is THE place to be lodged in Belfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belfast City Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belfast City Backpacker Hostel
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is THE place to be lodged in Belfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Not only 10 minutes walk from city centre but also clean and with brand new amenities. It's got even a football table and computers. Best of all the manager: he just so kind and helpful. He can arrange anything you need and can give you useful tips about visits in and around Belfast as well as about the city's nightlife and interesting events. It's just inexpensive top quality for a hostel. A must to stay at if you ever visit Belfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patxi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    12
    10
    5
    9
See reviews for
1
26
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed in this hostel six day whit my friends and as I've never stayed in one before, at first I had my doubts. However, when we arrived there I was really impressed. Everything was so clean and enterteining and you had the independence you can have in your own house. What's more, the staff, in our case, John was so kind and caring. The accomodation they offeris excellent: the rooms were clean and they have enough space for everybody depite being a large group, the kitchen provided everything and having things for breakfast in the morning like bread, tea, coffe, etc. was fantastic. The location was also excellent because it isn't too far from the city center and there is a bus stop very near where you can catch a bus every 10 minutes, very practical. I just can say that is a great place to have a great time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obsi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Traveling as a pair of 19 year old girls can be daunting, but we have never felt safer or more comfortable at a hostel as we did at city backpacker. Not only are the rooms clean, warm and beds comfortable, the entire hostel has a vibe just like home. John, the manager, was absolutely lovely, and very helpful. Despite the 15 minute walk into town, the hostel is actually in a prime location for travellers our age as it is right in the student district near the university, meaning plenty of pubs for us to hang out at! We only stayed 2 nights at this hostel, but they were definitely good ones, and despite the 10am checkout, John was more than happy for us to leave our bags in the back room of the hostel for the day and come back and use the kitchen facilities before our departure late that afternoon. A wonderful stay and fabulous hospitality, would definitely stay again. Thankyou John!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Only found out recently about this place and it lived up to its name. Great place, very clean, chill out area, comfy beds, good showers and then toast or cereal and tea or coffee in the morning. Only a 15 min dander from city centre or just hop on a bus. Parking to the rear or on street parking. What more do you want?? Will definitely be back and would encourage others to try it out. Thanks to John for his hospitality!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisgDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Was never one for hostels but to be honest this is a hostel only in name, cleanliness second to none, very modern and well maintained throughout, beds and rooms are very comfortable with all the needs, internet, TV, lovely kitchen & chill out area... location is brilliant, convenient to city centre and all major sites & sounds of belfast... I had to leave early the next morning (6:30am) and John (The Manager) was only too happy to get up that bit earlier and have the breakfast ready... just go stay, simple as that...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbg816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a Saturday night during a city break to Belfast. We had the double room, which we were surprised to find was even ensuite. The bed was raised, so there was actually space underneath for a sofa to rest our legs after a long day in town. The hostel has just come under new management (John the new manager is lovely) and it still has all the things going for it which were mentioned in previous reviews: spotless clean, very nice staff, good breakfast, well heated room, nice linen. Can definitely recommend it, if you don't mind the walk to town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onyxeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

What a great hostel. We stayed on a 6 bed dorm which had only the three of us there. The hostel is brand new, really clean. I loved the wwf doona covers! I really can't say enough about how impressed we were.
The staff were really friendly and informative.
The only issue is I found it a bit of a walk into the centre of town. Otherwise, it was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willstar182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Queen's Quarter
Lagan Backpackers
Lagan Backpackers
#6 of 31 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Golden Mile
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Arnie's Backpackers
#19 of 31 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen's Quarter
Paddy's Palace Belfast
Paddy's Palace Belfast
#25 of 31 in Belfast
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Windermere Guest House
#15 of 51 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast City Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast City Backpacker Hostel

Property: Belfast City Backpacker Hostel
Address: 53-55 Malone Avenue, Belfast BT9 6EP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belfast City Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Belfast City Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing