We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avenue Guest House
Ranked #2 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Have just returned from a weeks stay at the Avenue House. It was lovely. Clean room. Tv and DVD player in the room, quiet, small and well decorated. Alice the host was lovely, so friendly and helpful, showed us a map of the city and gave us advice and help when needed. Lots of choice at breakfast, a full fry up or smoked salmon and scrambled egg...yum yum!!!

To be honest, its about 1/2 hour walk from the city centre, you can catch a bus at the end of the road that will take you straight into the city but if like us you like walking then be prepared to put your walking shoes on!!!!

In belfast there are lots of choices for food, we recommend Robinsons Bar for £12 you get two courses (have the pavlova its to die for YUM YUM!!!!) !!! We also recommend the TITANIC Belfast museam- WOW just WOW honestly felt at times like we were on the ship, juut fab and a history Belfast should be proud of, like they said...aye, ship was fine when it left Belfast!!!


We recommend Avenue House to everyone, it was just lovely :c)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    29
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
60
148
61
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I was in Belfast for a long weekend and am very grateful that I found the Avenue Guest House. My room was lovely and comfortable, and I appreciated all of the extra effort that went into making the entire experience feel like I was a guest in someone's home. Alice was very helpful inhelping me find my way around the city, booking a taxi for me on more than one occasion, and making sure that I had breakfast on the mornings that I had to leave too early for the dining room. The breakfasts that I did have there were delicious. The location is terrific-- a five-minute walk to the bus stop in either direction, as well as food and grocery stores nearby. I couldn't have wound up in a better spot, and will definitely stay there again the next time work takes me to Belfast. I was sorry to leave!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1, which overlooks Alice's beautiful little garden. It was perfect for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeigC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

always friendly, clean. feel safe and happy staying there as travelling on my own and so good to see familiar faces,

Room Tip: did not ask for room service so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Had a week travelling Northern Ireland and some of the south. This was by far the best B&B we stayed in. Clean, comfortable, well decorated rooms with excellent en-suite facilities. Good location for city centre and a good selection of good restaurants nearby.

Many thanks to our host Alice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was our first visit to Ireland. Alice was so helpful in giving full directions from the airport when we first booked. The guesthouse far exceeded our expectations! The rooms were beautiful and spotless with everything you need for an overnight stay. The breakfast was great and set us up for the day ahead. We were visiting Queens University and the guesthouse is a leisurely 10 min walk away.
All in all a lovely place run by lovely people. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We were a group of five travelling to Ireland for the first time. We booked this B&B very easily online and were pleased with the accommodations. It was not the best B&B we stayed in while in Ireland, but it was perfectly fine and the price was right. The rooms were clean and the beds were okay. Alice was great, booking us a black cab tour at the last minute, and we enjoyed her breakfast. The location was great though - walking distance to Queen's University through a nice leafy neighbourhood.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

What a lovely stay! All aspects of this B&B are spot on. From the room cleanliness to Alice's personal attention, to the luxury soaps to the current Hello copies in the room all is just how it should be. Chocolates by the door and plenty of coffee/tea at the in room beverage station. There was some road noise but I'm sure I only noticed it because I'd had too many coffees. Immaculate, roomy, comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Guest House

Property: Avenue Guest House
Address: 23 Eglantine Avenue | Lisburn Road, Belfast BT9 6DW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Lisburn and Malone roads, Avenue House is a completely refurbished Victorian Townhouse with original features retained and restored. Located in the leafy suburbs of South Belfast’s University area - 5 to 10 minutes from the city centre. 2 minutes from main bus route and within easy walking distance of The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens, Queen’s University, restaurants and bars, Avenue House is ideal for all visitors, whether it be for a short break, overnight stays or business trips. Queens university is a five minute walk from Avenue House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avenue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing