We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel but very noisy area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but very noisy area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I booked this hotel for my mum and sister and although they said it was a nice hotel unfortunately their stay was ruined by the local noise. It's close to a student area and they said that from about midnight until 3am all they heard was girls crying and arguing and lads laughing and shouting. The hotel put them at the front which seemed silly when their appeared to be rooms at the back of the hotel. They also said the room was roasting so they had to open the windows occassionally which worsened the noise. Not a place for someone needing a good sleep. This was Thursday night and the hotel commented that that wasn't even a busy student night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robthebruce1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Robthebruce

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on behalf of your mum and sister. I am pleased that they enjoyed Tara Lodge itself but I am sorry that their stay was ruined by the noise in the local area. Occasionally, as with all centrally located properties, there will be some ambient noise from the street.

Unfortunately we would not have been able to offer your mum and sister a room to the rear of the property as all our twin rooms are located to the front of our property. Since your family stayed with us we have adjusted the room temperature at night to ensure a more comfortable night time experience.

It is always a disappointment to our team when we don’t hit the mark – sorry we didn’t this time.

Thanks again

Nora Douds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,813
    404
    66
    15
    16
See reviews for
272
1,278
136
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
315 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

the thing that makes this hotel different from others is the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff! At the reception, they were keen on finding out information for tours, phoning around and booking the best deals! For the breakfast, the staff proposed so many delicious things from the menu, and if you can't decide, then try a bit of everything! the room was pleasant and mine (22) was quiet...on the back, with a brick wall view!...but spacious bathroom (wheelchair friendly) and tea and coffee facilities. free use of computor in the reception area. hotel a 15min walk from town centre but didn't really matter. nice, pleasant stay!

Room Tip: I had a ground floor back room (22) which was quiet, but the brick wall in front of the window was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We went to Northern Ireland for a week and stayed in Tara Lodge for two nights and this was by far the most comfortable bed we slept in! The rooms were light, clean and comfortable with all the mod cons and there was plenty of choice for breakfast; my partner even commented that the pancakes were fantastic! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is located only 15-20 minutes walk from City Hall and all the main attractions including the titanic quarter. I would strongly recommend staying here, as its also really good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I cannot fault this hotel, - my room was plenty big enough with a huge bed, tea/coffee making facility (different types of tea/coffee and proper biscuits), a hairdryer, iron and board, wi-fi, flat screen tv, bathroom with shower, and proper supplies of shampoo and body wash (not just a wall dispenser) and all spotlessly clean. Although my room faced the road, the double-glazing meant it was quiet. And there was secure parking. The breakfast was superb, -there was a lot of choice, - I had fresh fruit salad, followed by freshly cooked scrambled egg and loads of smoked salmon. And most important of all, the staff were all very friendly and helpful, - reception when I arrived quite late, the service at breakfast, and reception when I checked out, - they volunteered to print off my boarding pass, offered free parking while I went into town. I will most certainly stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Second time we stayed here. All the staff are more than welcoming and helpful. Rooms are clean,light and comfortable. Breakfast is very good. Around the corner are cafes restaurants and small shops with bus stop and train station just minutes away. Good TV and free wi fi.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royceyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Excellent hotel. Clean. Friendly. Well appointed room. Large bathroom. Comfy bed. Tea and coffeemaking facilities with biscuits. Freshly cooked breakfast. My only complaint is that they dont really cater for vegetarians. Their idea of a veg breakfast is a meat breakfast without the meat. You dont get anything instead of the meat. I think this is a litle poor, especially when the rest of the hotel and food was so excellent. But apart from that - very, very happy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terark99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed in Tara Lodge for 3 nights over Easter. Found it very comfy and clean with efficient service from the staff. The beds are brilliant, had great nights sleep! Location is close to Queens Uni surrounded by places to eat / drink. A little far from city centre if thats what you are after. I would consider this a middle of the budget range hotel that provides a high level of comfort and staff service.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing