We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arnie's Backpackers
Reviewed 20 March 2009

I had mixed feelings about this place. I liked the very friendly owner and staff and was impressed with the knowledge of Belfast. However, I feel that in these smaller hostels, it can feel like you are intruding into someones home. The atmosphere was okay, but thats not something that i really value in a hostel, after all, its only a bed for the night, its not like you are staying long term. Rooms were comfortable (ask for a 4 bed dorm, the others looked to crowded and cramped). Overall an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italyfan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2009

oh my god i never want to be a backpacker, this place was so dirty i'm suprised i' ve not got scabies, the curtains was hanging on by the cobwebs, and the hostel had a funny smell all the time, apart form that Belfast was nice and we had a great ST. PATS DAY. .

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANGIEJOCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

I didn't book, I just came to have a look, they had a free bed and offered me a cup of tea, i didn't need more.
This hostel is not the biggest, the modernest, the cleanest you can find, but this is the more friendly you can find.
The staff is really pleasant.
This is just a big house full of friend sharing it for few nights.
And it is one of the cheapest of Belfast.
15 mn walking from the city hall, 3mn from the university and from the wonderful Botanic Garden.
I felt so good there and i met so fine people that i decided to stay a bit longer...

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hylidae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

We (3 girls aged 20) stayed here for 1 night in June 2008.

It was more than adequate for what we required - just somewhere to crash after a busy day of sightseeing followed by a few pubs.

Location is about 15 minute walk into the centre, near Queen's University. This is an easy walk.

Room was fine apart from the beds being a bit close together in terms of top and bottom bunk. There was us 3 in our room along with another girl as it was only a 4 bedded room. A negative would be the fact that the door to your room is not locked and so anyone could potentially walk in and take your things, but you can leave any valuables with the staff.

The staff were friendly and welcoming (you have a cup of tea made for you when you arrive!)

We only used the kitchen to make cups of tea but there was fridge, cooker, hob and the cooking utensils and pans etc needed. It was cleaned by the staff once a day so I would happily of used it.

There are 2 showers in the entire building and a max of 22 people staying at one time but we didn't have to queue for the showers and they were fine.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keentraveller120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I took my two children to stay for one night and would never go back again unless the security was vastly improved. I booked all of the beds in the room so we would not have to share with anyone we didn't know (my children are 11 and 6 - the hostel does not seem to have a Child Protection Policy in place, unlike other hostels we've stayed in).

There are no locks on the doors that work, they have been jammed deliberately which I didn't know about before I booked. We were placed at the top of the hostel and so should've been left alone, but at 3:15am a man entered our room and I had to ask him to leave. I did not sleep for the rest of the night as I would not risk my children's safety. The only reason I knew he had entered the room is because I had placed my suitcase against the door and it was knocked over and into one of the metal bunk beds making a huge noise waking me up.

The hostel was clean the beds were comfy (although one of the beds was placed right next to a window that did not shut properly and therefore could not be locked). The only secure place to keep anything is the staff room but you are charged for this.

The only real problem I have is with the security, which I feel is severely lacking in all aspects.

The Canadian girl who booked us in was very friendly and pleasant, unfortunately she did not arrive the next morning until after we had already left so I could not inform the staff of the intruder in our room in the night.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jomdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2007

If you're accustomed to continental style private hostels, then you probably won't like Arnies very much. It's reasonably located (near Queens University), and friendly enough, but the rooms are very crowded, and the other facilities are not all that good.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JRL_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2006

friendly staff - willing to offer good suggestions as to where to go, what to do etc. Good, quiet location (10 mins walk to pubs etc). Nice rooms (though may be a bit cramped if full).

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jemkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 45 in Belfast
1,416 reviews
Golden Mile
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen's Quarter
Paddy's Palace Belfast
Paddy's Palace Belfast
#30 of 40 in Belfast
261 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Lagan Backpackers
Lagan Backpackers
#11 of 40 in Belfast
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnie's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnie's Backpackers

Address: 63 Fitzwilliam Street, Belfast BT9 6AX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range: $24 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the friendliest and cosiest hostel in Belfast! Its a safe, clean, 27 bed, city centre hostel. Free WIFI & tea/coffee. Be greeted on arrival with tea/coffee & biscuits and relax in front of our warm coal firesWe have a lovely kitchen, dining-room, lounge and garden open to all visitors. Along with Free WIFI we have internet access available on our in house computer. This is an environmentally friendly establishment as we recycle. You might be lucky enough to meet the jack russell dog that often visits! Feel free to use our in house piano and guitar. No curfew or lockout.Our friendly staff will do their best to make you feel right at home. Feel free to ask for any information about tours, travelling, and the local area. Arnie's is the ideal place to explore the culture, nightlife, shops and entertainment in Belfast. Tours of Belfast and Giants Causeway from the hostel and lots of info and advice!!We provide a full kitchen and common areas kept warm by real coal fires, along with radios and a television/dvd player. We also have laundry facilities available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arnie's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing