We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Wow, Excellent experience.”
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Would definitely stay again. Easy access, Taxi pulled up at front door, a few short steps took us inside to a very welcoming foyer. The room was spacious, well equipped, the large bathroom was excellent also had heated towel rails. Spotlessly clean. The addition of a drawer unit would be great. Otherwise there was a very comfortable bed, large desk, wardrobe, mini bar, smart TV. The restaurant dinner was great with good choices of beautifully prepared food, this was also used for breakfast which had multiple choices continental breakfast plus cooked breakfasts again the quality was excellent. Their homemade muesli/granola was superb. All the staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient. The hotel bar was a lovely place to relax, with an exceptional barman and beautiful drinks, coffee, tea and food were available too. Music some nights. Overall the atmosphere of the hotel was very welcoming and very comfortable, traditional yet modern, close to shops and restaurants. Lifts are on the small side, but there are two of them. It is situated in walking distance to many attractions. Traffic noise was never a problem, even though we had a Victoria Street facing room. Four friends stayed at Malmaison at the same time as us and were very pleased, another 6 friends stayed close by at a more expensive place and were extremely disappointed that they had not booked Malmaison once they saw our accommodation. Highly recommend, great place to stay in Belfast.

Room Tip: 6 of us stayed in 5 separate rooms all were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephG321, Front Office Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Byrob,

Thank you for your review. I am really glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and your were able to enjoy the facilities off the hotel and what Belfast has to offer. I hope we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Warm regards
Stephanie
Reception Managet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

If you're looking for tired, banged-up, dingy, noisy, hot and cramped hotel but are willing to settle for all of that because of its center-city location, then the Malmaison is for you. If you're a one-night road warrior business traveler looking for a bed, shower and breakfast, as I once was, then this the Malmaison is for you. If you're a couple vacationing on a long trip through Ireland / Northern Ireland with lots of luggage and have a need for some space and staff service, then this is definitely not your kind of place, as we painfully learned this week.

I started staying at Malmaison hotels 15 years ago for business. Back then they were "cool" in a sort of year 2002 sort of way--- dark, dim, funky carpet, minimal furniture, emphasis on the lobby bar, decent breakfast, but super-small rooms and no amenities. Many are carved out of refurbished historic buildings in city centers. This is very true of the Malmaison Belfast, which is on the edge of the Prince Albert Memorial Clock and a short walking distance from most everything in central Belfast. But this hotel hasn't improved an inch in 15 years, and today it's just tired and somewhat depressing.

Our problem was that we were in the third week of a four-week trip through the island. We had a rented car and lots of luggage. The Malmaison has no valet parking, no bell staff, a drop-off area that can accommodate only two cars, small elevators and tiny rooms. It was raining buckets when we arrived. No one from the hotel was available to help. One of our suitcases tumbled off the curb as we were unloading and splash-landed in the dirty foot-deep water in the gutter. Ugh. The woman at the desk was pleasant enough but did absolutely nothing to help. In our two-night stay, I must say, the front desk staff were impersonal and minimally helpful in responding to everything we asked for help with.

Our room was painfully small. Let me emphasize small. The carpet was stained and looked like original issue. It had a tiny closet and no other storage. The room was not air conditioned and had no air circulation. We opened the window on both nights and were reminded that the Mailmaison sits at the junction of three of the busiest streets in Belfast, including two of the main A-roads through the city. The noise, sirens and traffic rumbling was unrelenting. And the room was boiling hot. The beds haven't been updated in a while and the hotel as landed on the stratagem of putting a "bed topper" on top of the rock-hard mattresses that are larger than the bed itself, which produces the weird result of making you feel as if you're rolling off the edge unless you're huddled together in the center. Not great.

I'm not a fan of one-star reviews, so I feel the need to say a couple of redeeming things about this otherwise embattled hotel. The breakfast was ample and the breakfast room was nice. The staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful.

I don't know what the Malmaison is going to do when the 10 new hotels now under construction in central Belfast ultimately open. Perhaps they'll get their act together and improve the many, many things that need attention. If not, there's absolutely no way I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a good room to be found here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank CATravelogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephG321, Front Office Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear CATravelogger,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy some aspects off your stay. We are always looking for feedback from our guests so we can put measures in place to improve our service and offering. Your points provided will certainly be addressed, if in the meantime you would like to discuss anything further with me please feel free to contact me on receptionmgr.belfast@malmaison.com.

Warm regards
Stephanie
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We hade a great stay here. The staff are so helpful and our room was lovely. We hade a really comfy bed that was bigger than our normal bed. It was in a good spot close to everything. We were very happy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sharoncS910AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephG321, Front Office Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear SharonS910AP,

Thanks you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you found the staff helpful through-out your staff and enjoyed the room. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.
Warm regards
Stephanie
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Fabulous hotel with equally fabulous friendly staff.
From the reception staff to the friendly barman who made the amazing cocktails (didn't catch his name, guy with the beard) to the senior staff in the restaurant who dealt with our steak issue in a most satisfactory manner, our stay was amazing! Polite, friendly and professional. The staff alone would make me return to this hotel as nothing was any bother to them.

Beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Tea/coffee facilities in the large spotless rooms along with an iron, hairdryer, dvd player, mini bar with snacks and 24hr room service. Absolute perfection!

Food and drink are on the high end of prices but that's Belfast for you. The hotel is literally directly opposite Victoria Square just a wee walk down to the entrance.

Rooms were ready earlier than the 3pm check in so that's always a bonus. We were able to leave our cases in the secure area after we checked out so as not to have to drag them around Belfast with us. Simply returned that evening to collect them.

Had a look at the private dining room above the main bar. Would be perfect for a small intimate party. The set up was amazing.

I will definitely return to this hotel in the near future. Thanks for an amazing stay!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lasvegas2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaWS326, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you Lasvegas2107 for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to get an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Being new to Belfast, we had no idea that we would have difficulty getting a meal on a Sunday night! But, we stumbled upon this bar/restaurant and we were blown away! They had a summer prix fixe on and we were delighted with everything we ordered. Presentation, taste, staff - all great at 10:00 pm on a Sunday!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaWS326, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you Janice S for your review, so glad you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The hotel is located in the downtown area which makes it great for walking to pubs and events downtown - also, the farmers market is a ten minute walk - Friday - Sunday. Great old hotel with trendy upgrades.

Room Tip: walk to the farmers market on the the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lauracostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaWS326, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you lauracostello for your review.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I'd always thought of the Malmaison chain as being high end, though this is the first time I've stayed in one and I'm somewhat disappointed.

The hotel is housed in a historic building so some allowance clearly has to be made for this - however the reception and hallway areas are dark, dingy and unpleasant with low ceilings that you have to duck to pass safely under. Our room had loose, creaky floorboards.

Our room was unpleasantly warm on arrival, and there is no air conditioning. One fan is provided but it just blows the hot air around the room. The double bed was narrow so we weren't able to spread out a bit to keep cool.

The bathroom door in our room wouldn't stay closed and kept opening itself. The tap dribbled every hour or so, and we were given a dirty floor towel with black stains on it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jd9UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaWS326, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you jd9UK for your review.

My apologies that there were disappointing aspects to your stay which will be addressed with my team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Hilton Belfast
#20 of 45 in Belfast
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#8 of 45 in Belfast
1,275 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#22 of 45 in Belfast
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $167 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing