We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the worst hostel i ever been”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paddy's Palace Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the worst hostel i ever been”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The room was really dirty..the duvet looked really old..the toilet blocked..the tour guide kept on boasting about himself throughout the tour..there was a bee on my bed!!luckily i wasnt on the bed..the hostel was noisy..it seemed like no one care about the level of noise at the hostel..overall,I hate this hostel..

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    45
    50
    44
    57
See reviews for
7
20
64
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed there for 3 days and it was totally worth it. The beds were very comfortable, the hostel is in a quiet location and the common areas shut down at 11pm. It may not be great for socialising, but at least people can sleep. Even the big dorm rooms are very spacious and the bunk beds are good. There is a kitchen with everything you need and a big dining room, so perfect if you're on a budget. They also had this incredible offer for midweek stays - trip to Northern Ireland attractions included. It was lovely and well organised.

The only things I didn't like were the broken lock to the room door that never got fixed and location: quite a walk from the city centre.

Room Tip: Not ground floor - nobody will bother you upstairs and it's on the opposite side of the busy roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the hostel in a 4 bed dorm for the sole purpose of a night out in Belfast, and it more than did the job for us. Yes, the place looked like it was still under construction in parts, but nothing that affected us. We enjoyed our stay, and we thought the girls (from New Zealand) at reception were the best part of our stay! They were a great laugh and were more than helpful in sorting out our little problem with a pair of glasses and a large wod of cash!! Erin and (Emma?) we love you!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2004glasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The conditions, this hostel is in, are unacceptable. It is incredibly dirty and smelly and some of the walls are covered in mould. The windows can't be opened which makes it impossible to air the rooms properly. The bathrooms are pretty run down, so is the dining room. The place really needs a renovation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laraaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I planned to stay at this hostel three nights, but I changed my mind when I saw it! The building and the kitchen equipment is old, the rooms are tiny and really dirty. That's what you can say about the whole house: the showers, loos, floors, kitchen aren't clean. I also had to organise the toilet paper several times. In addition, the beds are disgusting. You get linen which you are supposed to use as a sleeping bed because the bed covers aren't washed but used for every customer.
The worst thing about the whole hostel is the mould!!!! The house has a leck so that the walls and the loo downstairs are covered with mould and mildews!! You would not believe until you see it. I asked the reception guy about it and he says the manager doesn't want to spend the money to fix the leck so they'll just remove the mildews and cover it with paint. Stupid!!!!
I think they should close down the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DublinGirl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This hostel was the best hostel I ever stayed in!

Sure the rooms and the common areas were not the cleanest but the staff were so friendly & up for the craic!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed here as part of the paddy wagon 6 day tour of Ireland. The tour was excellent, and all the other hostels were great, but this one in Belfast I was pretty disgusted in, except for our dorm which at least had clean linen. The dorm door didn't lock, the lock was broken, so I spent most of the nite awake. About 1am, a stranger poked his head into our room, as he opened the door and saw me staring at him he left. When I mentioned the lock to the person in charge he said it must have been the group the nite before, and would look into it. He never did. The downstairs toilet was leaking water on the floor, so unable to use it, and no toilet paper on the 2nd floor, when I mentioned this he said we are behind in things. The showers were dirty as well. I didn't spend much time in the kitchen preferring to have a coffee from Starbucks. There is no need to have hostels in this state.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Arnie's Backpackers
#13 of 32 in Belfast
78 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Lagan Backpackers
Lagan Backpackers
#11 of 32 in Belfast
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen's Quarter
Kate's B&B
Kate's B&B
#37 of 49 in Belfast
93 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Pearl Court Guesthouse
Pearl Court Guesthouse
#17 of 49 in Belfast
158 reviews
Belfast Serviced Apartments
#22 of 32 in Belfast
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Palace Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace Belfast

Property: Paddy's Palace Belfast
Address: 68 Lisburn Road | University district, Belfast, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paddy's Palace Belfast 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paddy's Palace Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddy`s Palace Belfast Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing