We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Meal”
Review of India Gate

India Gate
Ranked #15 of 1,212 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$19
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Special mention to Vishal and Vanshitr who provided great service and lots of “taster freebies” and a nightcap. What more could you want? Thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank lynnemannion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 674 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

We are an extended family group of 8, and this restaurant came recommended to us. We weren’t disappointed!
Due to delays with our travel arrangements, we had to contact the restaurant to push our booking back, they were most accommodating.
The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We had some bespoke ordering requests that were taken without issue. Complementary poppadoms and pickles were delivered, as well as some “taster starters” delicious!! Yes, the pickles were hot, but if you don’t like hot, just don’t eat them!!
Main courses were fantastic. We had a range of curries, and they were all of a great quality. Too much food! I don’t think anyone of us ate everything that we ordered.
We had some good “banter” with the staff, and can honestly say, it was an excellent evening. If we lived closer we would definitely be regulars. For sure when we come back to Belfast it’ll be top of our list!!
Thanks guys. Great job.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank 778joannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

Very poor food, service was shocking. Started with popadoms and the accompanying mango was ridiculously hot, as a lover of spicy food with good tolerance levels this is the hottest sauce I have ever tasted in my life! I have had chilli mayo before and it was lovely, but this was that hot my mouth was in fire and tongue and lips was tingling, after this the desire for hot food had gone out of the window, so decided to have a mixed grill starter on a bed of rice, when ordering the miserable waiter was clearly unhappy with us ordering starters plus accompaniments as our main meals with drink, this wasn't about how much it cost but a spicy curry had lost it's appeal as my mouth was still on fire from the mango, the mixed starter that came , was cooked nice but we wanted to leave cause we felt uncomfortable, this place is also the most expensive curry restaurant , I don't mind paying if the quality was good but this place let it's self down .

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank falkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Lovely food, very pleasant staff reasonably priced will definately return when visiting Belfast again

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank flossycobb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Didn’t dine but had take-away two nights in a row when visiting Belfast. And I must say we loved the food.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 315sunilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Gate also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to India Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing