We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage! Great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance to the cottage with picnic table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Front entrance to the cottage with picnic table
Front entrance to the cottage
Wood burning stove and flat screen TV in the living room
Wood burning stove
View from the Causeway Coastal Route - a short drive from the cottage
View from the Causeway Coastal Route - a short drive from the cottage
Front entrance to the property
Children's Playpark - approx 100 yards from the cottage
Park - approx 100 yards from the cottage
Ballycastle Beach approx 200 yards from the cottage
Ballycastle Beach approx 200 yards from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
gch995
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage! Great location ”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Just back from a wonderful few days in Ballycastle staying at Joe Charlie’s cottage. It is a lovely cottage with a well appointed kitchen and living room. The beds are very comfy and each bedroom having its own en-suite is brilliant. Anne-Marie was a very welcoming host and the milk and biscuits waiting for us was a lovely touch. The cottage is ideally placed being just near the seafront and not far to town centre. Would love to come back another time and would recommend this cottage without reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2018
Hi Gillan thanks so much for your kind review. The pleasure was ours having you both stay and hopefully you will visit us another time. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
Thank you glad you had a pleasant stay in Joe Charlie’s cottage. Hopefully you will get an opportunity to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
andreadav...
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable, cosy, welcoming cottage in good location”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The location is perfect for exploring the North Antrim coast, and for catching the ferry to Rathlin island. There's a handy Spar grocery and a bus route on the doorstep.
The cottage itself is well-equipped, the beds comfortable, and Anne-Marie, the owner, is really welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Car-parking can be a slight problem in the holiday season - but there's free parking in the car park opposite and we found it easy to park once we were familiar with the busy times.
We do hope to return as there's so much to see and do.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review and helpful advice. It would be a pleasure to have you back as guests again.
Best wishes
Anne Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p1mckeown
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The owner was so helpful and pleasant . Whatever you needed she was always there for you! Cottage was cute, very clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay there again. Beautiful seaside area with plenty to do . Central location .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Patricia thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us. I look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel_To...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet little place and a great host”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Joe Charlie's Cottage is exactly how you see it in the pictures, a small cottage in the backyard of a hostel. It's located right by the sea in Ballycastle so you walk 2 minutes to the beach, to the shop or a coffee shop. The cottage is very basic but has everything you need and Anne Marie is just a fantastic host who will make your stay even more pleasureable. I was there with my 10 months old baby. She loved the cottage and accepted it as her home as soon as we arrived. Absolutely would come back and recommend to anyone who wants to visit Ballycastle.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Thank you for your compliments, it was our pleasure to have you and your beautiful daughter stay with us. We would be very happy to have you come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary T
1 review
“We had a lovely break”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Ballycastle is a great location and the cottage is so easy and convenient for the beach and for getting out along the coast. The ferry to Rathlin Island is just over the road [highly recommend a trip over!]

We loved the wood burning stove in the cottage and comfy beds.
One thing I would have liked would have been a view of the sea from the cottage... (alas not something you can do anything about, Ann-Marie :-))

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Pleased you enjoyed your stay/visit. Hope all goes well for your daughter's exams and graduation. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janenne
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful and very comfortable”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

my family and i stayed in joe charlies cottage for the lammas fair week and it was wonderful. its clean comfortable and anne marie was the perfect host. it has a gorgeous old fashioned traditional charm with all modern facilities. i would happily recommend to anyone and i would definitely stay again . also its very safe for young children as the outside gates are always kept locked so the children could play in the courtyard safely. thank you for a wonderful stay x

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased you had a comfortable stay with us,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing