We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlemont Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Armagh
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is in a very good location close to the bus station. Our room was big and spacious, very clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was big with bath and shower.
We had a room at the back of the hotel which was looking out at the bus station, no problems with noises from traffic. The breakfast was really good, cooked breakfast excellent, there was also juices, tea, coffee, cereals etc,
The bar staff were friendly and chatted, there was music on the Wednesday night which was entertaining. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Great location, helpful and friendly staff, great food.

Room Tip: Best rooms at the back of the hotel - from room 200 onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2016

Nice hotel ok food and very nice bar it's clean and very nice staff could do with a we bit of more lights but apart from that it is lovely hotel have nice cats out the back as well good parking spaces as well.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank music200520016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Central location with on site parking.
Friendly staff
Competitive prices include a full cooked breakfast.
The room was clean, well presented and had a very comfy bed so a good night sleep.
Taxi rank just across the road

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Young_riverside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Found this boutique type hotel to be quite charming. Beds a good size and rooms clean and fresh. Had food both nights here and was very nice and also reasonably priced.. Staff were very attentitive and always willing to help. It's in a great location in centre of Armagh town.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank mrsriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

I have always supported family run businesses, so after rather disappointing stay the first time around, I decided to give it another go. I was shocked by the dirt in the room. I don't think the bathroom was cleaned in months. This hotel is in a great location, the staff is very helpful and friendly. I would urge the manager or the owner to spend a night in one of the rooms, but just in case here are some photos.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank sasy_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We were disappointed with the hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean but there was evidence of water damage on the ceiling and wall. The net curtains were torn. The television was very old and there was no remote control for it. We actually gave up using it as it was difficult to get a picture on it. Thf building lookd like it could do wiyh refurbishment. We have stayed here before and we were very impressed with the food, in particular the breakfasts but this time was different. There is very little choice and we assumed that it was precooked as within less than 5 minutes of ordering it was on the table and not very good quality ingredients!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I slept like a baby! King size comfortable bed in a good size room. You might not like it here if you are fussy because it's old and tired, but we enjoyed it. The staff was so friendly, helpful and charming. The hotel is in an excellent location. We ate dinner in the Cellar Bistro and our dinner of salmon and steak was yummy. Superb wine called Lavendaria. Now if you like new and modern and fancy this place isn't for you, but if you aren't fussy, and need an economical, good night's sleep, book it!

Room Tip: Ask about stairs if that's an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
0.6 km away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
640 reviews
11 km away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
33 reviews
18 km away
Seagoe Hotel
Seagoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portadown
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26 km away
Mourne Country Hotel
23.3 km away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
231 reviews
15.6 km away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlemont Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlemont Arms Hotel

Address: 57-65 English Street, Armagh BT61 7LB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Armagh
Price Range: C$133 - C$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlemont Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlemont Arms Hotel is a third generation family run hotel situated in the centre of the historical City of Armagh.The hotel provides guests with the best of both worlds, traditional and modern and it still upholds its old fashioned values of impeccable service, comfort and superb dining.The hotel is perfectly located, situated between the city’s two famous Cathedrals and near the Market Place Theatre. Located in the centre of the town, it is beside the local shopping area which is host to individual boutiques and high street stores. Other visitor attractions within walking distance of the hotel are Armagh Planetarium and Observatory, the Armagh County Museum, the old Armagh Women’s Gaol and the beautiful Mall.Armagh’s two premier golf courses, The Loughgall Country Park and Golf Club and The County Armagh Golf Club are also close to the hotel.The Charlemont Arms Hotel offers a choice of traditional and modern cuisine with The Charlemont Bistro located downstairs, Turner's Bar and The Dining Room. Facilities include 30 spacious ensuite bedrooms, conference facilities and a large function room which caters for all occasions such as Christenings, Weddings and Anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlemont Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlemont Arms Hotel Armagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing