We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlemont Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Armagh
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Called in to this place on a Sunday after taking the mother in law to the cathedral. We tried to take our daughter to the planetarium but it was CLOSED on a Sunday!!

The owner spent quite a bit of time chatting with us and brought out a special dessert for our little girl. She was delighted.

There were plenty of families eating with a great atmosphere in the hotel bar.

Qill definitely call in next time we are passing.

Room Tip: Probably the quietest rooms are at the back as there is a little traffic going by the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totaltravel1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Called in for our tea last week. There was a good selection. Trying to be healthy we orfered salmon. It was very nice but overall.portion of fish was smaill. Priced at £10.95 which was quite good. Asked what vegetables were, waitress said green beans and carrots. It was served with peas and turnip which was grand.
Oveeall nice food. Service was ok also. Would go back again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shelly-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Loved the place! There were people playing traditional music, on top of that we had a pile of drinks so definitely loved the place! Would recommend anytime to anyone.If you need a place-that's it! xxx

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank KaloyanAngelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Hotel very clean and tidy.Had a lovely meal here tonight. Staff very friendly and attentive. Good value for money. Great menu choices. Good central hotel close to shops and other amenities. Good parking close by.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night for a wedding. TV didn't work - asked staff to help and they tried but couldn't manage. Didn't offer to move me to another room just apologised. I fixed it in the end! Good central location and free parking. Breakfast ok but have had better. Big room and clean bathroom, bed comfy. Pretty average - get what you pay for.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Aileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed for 3 nights and the wedding was also held there. The staff were all vert friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy. The function room where the wedding reception was held was spacious and the bar was well manned for amount of people there. Overall a nice place for our special occasion.This was our first visit to Ireland and if this hotel is anything to go by it won't be our last

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindylou853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is in a very good location close to the bus station. Our room was big and spacious, very clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was big with bath and shower.
We had a room at the back of the hotel which was looking out at the bus station, no problems with noises from traffic. The breakfast was really good, cooked breakfast excellent, there was also juices, tea, coffee, cereals etc,
The bar staff were friendly and chatted, there was music on the Wednesday night which was entertaining. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Great location, helpful and friendly staff, great food.

Room Tip: Best rooms at the back of the hotel - from room 200 onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
0.6 km away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
636 reviews
11 km away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
32 reviews
26 km away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
18 km away
Seagoe Hotel
Seagoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portadown
266 reviews
28.2 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlemont Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlemont Arms Hotel

Address: 57-65 English Street, Armagh BT61 7LB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Armagh
Price Range: $126 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlemont Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlemont Arms Hotel is a third generation family run hotel situated in the centre of the historical City of Armagh.The hotel provides guests with the best of both worlds, traditional and modern and it still upholds its old fashioned values of impeccable service, comfort and superb dining.The hotel is perfectly located, situated between the city’s two famous Cathedrals and near the Market Place Theatre. Located in the centre of the town, it is beside the local shopping area which is host to individual boutiques and high street stores. Other visitor attractions within walking distance of the hotel are Armagh Planetarium and Observatory, the Armagh County Museum, the old Armagh Women’s Gaol and the beautiful Mall.Armagh’s two premier golf courses, The Loughgall Country Park and Golf Club and The County Armagh Golf Club are also close to the hotel.The Charlemont Arms Hotel offers a choice of traditional and modern cuisine with The Charlemont Bistro located downstairs, Turner's Bar and The Dining Room. Facilities include 30 spacious ensuite bedrooms, conference facilities and a large function room which caters for all occasions such as Christenings, Weddings and Anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlemont Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlemont Arms Hotel Armagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing