We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location for filming”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brigadoon

Brigadoon Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brigadoon Cottage
Brigadoon bedroom combined with built in shower and open fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Brigadoon Cottage
Brigadoon bedroom combined with built in shower and open fire.
Sleep tight in Brigadoon
Tollymore forest, just 2 miles from Brigadoon cottage, perfect for walking and horse riding.
Tollymore forest, river
Bridge at Tollymore forest. This bridge is used for bridal photos
The Hermitage in Tollymore forest park
Wedding photos are used at this bridge in Tollymore forest
Breakfast on Brigadoon terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castlewellan, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Romac4
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent location for filming”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Over the course of two weekends I rented out Brigadoon cottage for myself and a small film crew to use as a location and accommodation for our short film. Cindy could not have been more accommodating to our needs and went above and beyond when arranging specific check-in and check-out times. The cottage is an ideal location for any period piece or drama film with the surrounding area being some of the most beautiful in Mourne. Its proximity to Castlewellan for amenities and to Newcastle is excellent. I would recommend Brigadoon not only for any filmmakers wishing to be inspired but for anyone wanting to get away for break. Thanks to Cindy for helping us create the film we wanted to and letting us take over your beautiful cottage for the two weekends.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Good luck in the film industry Roma.
Thanks Cindy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda h
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just perfect! Easy to book - Cindy got back to me within minutes with details,directions etc. Panoramic views of the mournes and utter peacefulness (except for the birds and sheep) This little cottage is a hidden treasure that we will definitely be returning to.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thanks so much! Linda
Cindy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverfin...
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Little gem”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Beautiful cottage with panoramic views of the Mourne mountains. Perfect little gem well thought out ,kitchen,bedroom ,shower. Brilliant base for exploring the Mourne's. It's a pity more people don't have Cindys vision and so many of these wee gems are lying empty and unloved around the North of Ireland. This one is lucky and has its own fan Base.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thanks Joanne for picking Brigadoon for your Easter break.
Cindy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G
Loughgall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old-Time Charm”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Brigadoon is a place myself and my wife keep coming back to for that old-time Ireland feel. Disconnected from the world, there is no better place to relax, read a book and fall asleep to the sound of the crackling open fire. The view outside across the Mourne Mountains on a clear day is amazing! We have taken many photographs at brigadoon and even used it in short film projects. Cindy is a great host and will help out with any needs you have! Go and stay here, you won't regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open fire in the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thanks Thomas and Rebecca for that lovely review.
Cindy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe P
Naas, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful Irish cottage, with a lovely garden near the Mourne mountains and Newcastle.”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found Cindy to be very accommodating and helpful. Booking was easy and we were able to take our two dogs which was a wonderful bonus for us, just making sure they stayed off the sofa and out of the bedroom, as agreed. If it is agreed with the owner that you can take your dog just be aware that there is a lovely/friendly cat who likes to say hello.
We were met at the cottage by Cindy, who very kindly had the heating on and a toasty warm fire on the go too! We didn't light it but we could have had a fire in the bedroom too. There is a hot water bottle and an electric under blanket too.
There is plenty of room in the cottage for two and a sofa bed, which would sleep another two, in the lounge.
As you walk into the cottage you step into the kitchen which has an oven, microwave, toaster, kettle and fridge. At the back of the kitchen is the toilet and hand basin.
To the left of the front door is the lounge with an amazing fire, central heating, small tv/dvd player, table with four chairs and a beautiful window looking out onto the garden.
To the right of the front door is the bedroom with a lovely metal framed bed, open fire, central heating, chest of drawers, wardrobe and shower.
If you are arriving in the evening, like us, remember that you are in the country side, pick up any supplies you may need encounter route. Castlewellan town is a few minutes away and there are shops and take aways.
We can highly recommend Cafe Creme on the high street in Newcastle for an amazing breakfast. Everyone says go to Mauds, which is across the road, but Cafe Creme is our firm favorite for Soda Bread French toast. They have amazing buns, scones, coffee and cake too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Beautiful scenery. Cosy cottage with great heating and a welcoming fire
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing