We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st rate service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Enniskeen Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Picturesque setting,prompt,efficient,perpetually friendly and polite service,decent,hearty food&comfortable,immaculately clean rooms.I would recommend and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen J, Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

We do appreciate your time in reviewing your stay at our hotel,and we look forward to seeing you again and your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

A character filled grand house with majestic views. This place is not about 5 star anything. You get great people, wonderful. wholesome meals, fabulous breakfasts. Almost like home away from home. beds were comfortable. All the rooms are different, some with large bathrooms, some older, some new but all terrific. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Eileen and all the staff were wonderful. Real people and a real slice of Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: All rooms vary so best advice is to ask what type of rooms are available. Ask for a view towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waggers58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Thankyou for the time and effort taken to write this review.It is very helpful for all our members of staff to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how we can improve as a team .It is so important for us to stay focussed and to aim for higher standards of attentiveness, service and customer care. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Overall, I would return and recommend it to people but with an explanation of its idiosyncracies.
Location: Excellent - 1.5 miles out of Newcastle with beautiful views of the Mourne mountains and near Tullymore Forest Park.
Style/Character: The house was built around 150 years ago and has been a hotel for about 50 years. It looks like it had a makeover in the 1980s and not updated much since. While it is spotlessly clean, it is crying out for a subtle revamp. It does have a loyal, albeit ageing, clientelle.
Service: It's run by the same family that opened it 50 years ago and there is an oldfashioned, genteel, discreet service. The bar-man and boss, Ian, wears a dickey bow to serve drinks. There is a rather strange lady, who hovers about and at 10pm blocked me from going into the Residents Lounge because apparantly it's private at that time of night.
Rooms: It's a boutique hotel with around 27-30 rooms. We were in room 8 and over the two nights grew to really love it. It was small but comfortable. The bed was a good height off the ground and had lovely, crisp-white sheets. The TV was tiny. There was a lovely, ivy lined terrace but the door leading out on to it was locked! I wanted to know why and was told it was down to health and safety.
Food/Drink: Breakfast and dinner both fantastic. Great, affordable, constantly updated wine list. There was a buzz to the place on Saturday night when people came to the hotel to eat that weren't overnight guests. The dessert list was excellent but some of the menu could have done with a bit of an update (starters included melon fan and egg mayonnaise).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D-Dog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

A warm, friendly welcome by Eileen(reception) greeted us on arrival followed by tea and biscuits before going to our room.... and what a room. Spacious, very clean, with large windows giving plenty of natural light, and a view over the garde,ns to the mountains of Morne that was simply sensational. The en-suite had a shower that was really something to look forward to in the morning. The menu was extensive and the quality of food and presentation was second to none with a price range to match. The service in every department was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for all the staff, including Margaret ( Reception) who came on duty later but continued the high standard of service. Thank you for a wonderful time and will definitely be back should we be in this part of Ireland again, and you most definitely be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truegent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Good hotel, friendly attentive staff and very good food. Lovely room on 2nd floor with fantastic views of the Mounes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianhaggerston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The Enniskeen House Hotel is unspoilt jewel of a hotel with the sea on one side and the Mourne Mountains on the other. For friendliness, home comforts, good food and tranquillity the Enniskeen Hotel is second to none.

Having stayed there with my children when they were small, I am now retuning with a grown-up family and their children. Whatever their age, everyone loves this hotel and we really look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Av863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Two generations of my family have been staying at the Enniskeen Hotel on an irregular basis for more than 30 years and we have never been disappointed.

The family and staff could not be more helpful and friendly and we had a range of delicious meals from full dinner and high tea to bar snacks. The home-made wheaten bread is in a class of its own! We stayed in the turret room with views over the Mourne Mountains and the glittering sea. It was completely relaxing and bliss

The setting is stunning - Tollymore Forest Park is less than 10 mins away but the woodland which runs down to the Shimna river in the hotel grounds is enchanting, full of wild flowers along the tree-lined paths and perfect for a short walk and a gentle gradient for older family members .

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.4 km away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
128 reviews
0.8 km away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
159 reviews
26.2 km away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
108 reviews
28.5 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
1.6 km away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enniskeen Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enniskeen Country House Hotel

Address: 98 Bryansford Road, Newcastle BT33 0LF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $94 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enniskeen Country House hotel; a mountainside hideaway, this family-run hotel rests in the lush Shimna Valley just outside Newcastle Co Down; Explore the hotels stunning 12 acre estate and winding woodland trail down to the Shimna river; And enjoy the striking views over Northern Ireland's highest mountain Slieve Donard and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enniskeen Country House Hotel Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing