We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As a Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I recently filmed a wedding at this hotel so am commenting as a professional using the place, not as a guest as such. The layout of the hotel is superb. Just going into the lobby is inspiring, with the chandeliers and being greeted at the door. The location (on the beach and with mountains in view) is awesome. Food was great - laid out on a frosted glass plate, and it was very nice to be called 'sir' all the time!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyGadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    563
    320
    183
    90
See reviews for
593
1,437
31
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Hotel in general is superb, and to be honest the look of the place the service levels and everything about it is 5 star, definately not 4.
The one thing letting this hotel down is the stunning spa area, this should be one of the main attractions of the hotel, but unfortunatley it is being let slip into a slight state of disrepair, it's at the early stages and could be stopped quickly now before it gets any worse. Expamples of this is wear and holes on the wicker furniture beside the pool, rust staining on the tiles beside the pool are again left by the dodgy furniture and the shower heads in the sauna and steam room area could do with being replaced, oh and the shower outside the steam room only gives hot or warm water!!!!!!!!! who wants a hot shower coming out of the steam room???? Only sadists I'd imagine.
Apart from this everything else was absolutely fantastic, brilliant room, brilliant food, brilliant staff and brilliant hotel, but please please please sort the spa area out :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kacald1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonderry
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just back from a 2 night break at this hotel. From check in to check out could not fault anything.Staff are so friendly and helpful,Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. We had our evening meal at the Percy French restaurant and it was lovely. The Health Suite sells this hotel with the jacuzzi looking out over the beach and mountains of Mourne.Even after check out you could still use the health suite for as long as you liked. The hotel itself has a very relaxed atmosphere. Rooms are clean and comfortable
Newcastle itself is OK but not much happening.Will return to the Sleeve Donard again for a chilled out time.

Room Tip: upgrade to a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
295 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Right on the beach and in the centre of town, completely ideal.
The scenery is amazing
The hotel has great charm and is well decorated, maintained and spotless.
Pool and spa onsite.
Staff are VERY warm and helpful.
Beds comfy, good pillows and good showers.

Bit disappointed to be charged £1.5 for an emergency razor.
Breakfast was a little over cooked and greasy but we did order to the room at no extra charge.

Great visit all round.



Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcfireSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Let me start by saying it is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Reception staff are warm friendly and helpful and there your experience ends.
The bar staff were loud and spent more time talking to each other than serving customers, there was one barman who seemed professional, the rest were either new or couldn't care less.
We had to wait for the lift many times at least 15 minutes on one occasion, only to find out that it was staff using it.
Our room was ok but for £200 per night I would have liked a view
The gig was good but disorganised and there were no reductions in price for sitting so far back they needed screens, the bar was also at back and while we could not order a drink during the gig, they carried on cleaning until I had to ask a member of staff to ask them to stop as the noise was overshadowing an Morrison.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank labella102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed overnight and had a fantastic time. The room was spacious, bed enormous and very clean. I must admit I was told this was one of the best prior to going and I wanted to find fault but honestly we couldn't, the breakfast was brilliant and room service efficient and prompt.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel as we found a little restaurant nearby that was great, we did have a couple of drinks in Percy French and can only compliment the staff for their professionalism and courtesy.

It really is a pleasure to have stayed here and it will not be our last.

We didn’t get time to try the Spa but we did have a good look around and found everything spotlessly clean and in superb condition

Definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed in Northern Ireland

You would be mad not to try this place at least once, add it to your bucket list, you got to stay to believe it

Room Tip: resort rooms are big
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank einwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

wow.just home from 2 nites at the beautiful slieve donard an am totally relaxed.bedrooms average but very comfortable and have everything u need.the spa facilities were to die for an a breathtaking view overlooking newcastle bay harbour.the town is beautiful an clean and there is lots of places to outside the hotel if u can drag urself away from the leisure facilities.percy french resturant at slieve donard was amazing..food 5 stars and entertainment on thursday evening was so relaxing ...a few guys with guitars an other flok instruments...it was just so relaxing an lovely.breakfast ws buffet style an was also outstanding.locals were so friendly and everything was at a lovely slow pace.would highly recommend the slieve donard and am already thinkin of wen i can book some time of to do it all over again.thank u all for such a wonderful time
Janet1973



















..

Room Tip: only downfall was that i could hear the man snoring in the room next door janet1973
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.3 km away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
2.0 km away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
146 reviews
37.2 km away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
37.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,513 reviews
1.3 km away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Donard Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Property: Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Address: Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#1 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Donard Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the Mourne Mountains, the Slieve Donard stands in six acres of private grounds, and is one of Northern Ireland's most popular hotels. The luxurious ESPA Spa commands spectacular panoramic views of the County Down coastline and Mountains of Mourne and provides a perfect oasis of tranquility rivals any spa in Europe today. This superbly maintained Victorian hotel is equally suited to a short break, residential conference or grand event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Slieve Donard Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Donard Newcastle
Donard Hotel Slieve
Donard Hotel Newcastle Slieve
Slieve Donard Hotel Newcastle
Slieve Donard Resort And Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing