We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Must be the best B&B in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Villa

Cherry Villa
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherry Villa
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must be the best B&B in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

If you like a friendly welcome, excellent food, a clean room and value for money, this is the place for you!
I had the pleasure of staying at Cherry Villa for a weekend during a visit to Newcastle for a friend's wedding and cannot fault it.
Within seconds of lugging my suitcase through the door I was given a warm welcome from Gabrielle, who immediately offered me some home-made scones with home-made jam. To me, welcomes don't get much better than that!
The room was clean, neat, tidy and comfortable with a TV and decent space to hang clothes up.
It had its own private - again it was very clean, neat and tidy.
After dumping my bags, I went down to the breakfast room for coffee, scones and jam which were excellent.
The room is full of thank you cards from guests, and it is easy to understand why.
Gabrielle is quite the cook and I would thoroughly recommend sampling an Ulster fry at breakfast time - a hearty plate of good, honest food which will keep you going.
Gabrielle was also very helpful in providing a map of the town, and with your own front door key and the freedom to come and go as you please, there was no pressure to feel like you had to be back by certain time.
This was handy when the wedding reception went on into the early hours of the morning.
Then there's the matter of price - you get all this for £35 per night, which is a fraction of the cost of some of the other places in town.
I would have a hard time believing there are any better B&Bs in town, and would strongly recommend staying at Cherry Villa.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markyg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

After 5 stays I finally felt that I should post my comments, Cherry Villa is excellent, not only great value for money but excellent accommodation, great breakfasts, friendly hosts whose years in the business show in their pride in the product and the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HERB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

This is a great choice for anyone visiting Newcastle and the Mournes. We've been coming here annually for the past ten years and always enjoy our stay. The warm welcome from Gabrielle with complimentary tea and scones on arrival is great. The rooms are spotlessly clean and have everything you need. Fantastic breakfast which fuels you for the day. Central location convenient to the seafront, the mountains and the forest park. Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkiegirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

I stayed in Cherry Villa and would have to say the location is fantastic! Just off the main street so restaurants and the beach was within a few minutes walk. I stayed in an ensuite room and the usual facitlies e.g. tv, kettle were available. In addition, the room was very clean and the location is very quiet. If you ask nicely you may be able to use the wireless as well, providing you bring your laptop with you. The landlady was very friendly and the breakfast was good!

I would definitely recommend staying in this B+B!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubledoubleswifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2006

Myself and my wife stayed at this B&B in early October 2006 on the reccomendation of a friend. We were not disappointed. The Landlady was very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast was hearty and delicious. The rooms were of a surprisingly high standard considering the very reasonable rate for the rooms. All in all one of the best I have stayed in.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
2.3 km away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.8 km away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
29.2 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
29.6 km away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.1 km away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Villa

Property: Cherry Villa
Address: 12 Bryansford Road, Newcastle BT33 0HJ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cherry Villa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing