We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Halloween weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage
Front of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Front of cottage
Front of cottage
My Bonnie chillaxing in the sun
Front bedroom
Bathroom
Full Bath with overhead electric shower
Private back garden
Patio area
View from back garden across the bay
View from front garden towards Newcastle
View of shore at back of harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicky T
1 review
“Halloween weekend”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful warm cottage,views are amazing.Anne gave us a lovely warm welcome when we arrived,showed us around every room an explained how to use everything. Anne decorated the living room with Halloween decorations an put pumpkins out the front for my little girl who loved it all,thank you so much for going the extra mile Anne an making our stay really enjoyable definitely the best birthday I have had in a long time hope it won't be to long before we can return for another lovely stay at widows row.Nichola x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you Nichola for such a prompt and kind review. I love to see children coming to the cottage for Halloween and I try to make it special for them by decorating it, of course nothing to scary, it's something I take pleasure in doing. And if you ever come back around Christmas you'll see all my Christmas decor also. It was a pleasure having you all to stay and it would be a pleasure to have you back anytime. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you Laura for such a lovely review of the cottage and Newcastle. I'm so pleased your lovely family enjoyed staying at Widows Row and it would be a pleasure to have you back anytime. It is never any trouble to provide everything for the children and if there was anything else you may have needed you just had to ask. It gives me great pleasure to make my guests stay as enjoyable as possible, and I am delighted you had a good time.
Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OLDFART40
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at this gorgeous cottage in late July. Weather was dreadful and we're so glad we stayed at Anne's cottage. We booked it for us,our labradoodle and my in laws joined us for 2 nights. She has provided everything you could possibly want for a self catering holiday. It is a snug cottage,more suited to a couple rather than 2 couples, if you are planning on spending a lot of time in the cottage I.e when the weather is dreadful!! Everything you could want is close by,lovely pub just down the road with great food and a pub quiz on Fridays. (Harbour Inn). 15 minute walking distance from Newcastle,half hour walk to Slieve Donnard hotel.
At the back of the cottage is easy access straight onto the mountain trails. Highly recommend this cottage. Left fond memories that'll last forever. Anne cares about your holiday being perfect and it shows. Loved our break,as did our dog! Oh and finally,the views are stunning!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Karen, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. I know it is difficult when the weather is bad and unfortunately I think you got the worst week of the summer, but by all accounts you enjoyed your time in Newcastle and the cottage. Thank you for coming to stay, it was a pleasure to welcome you to Widows Row. Take care . Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of the sea
Liked least: No dishwasher!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, sorry about the weather though. I know it wasn't great for Richard's golf. Take care. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belfast
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thanks Lee for taking the time to leave a great review. Much appreciated. I'm so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. You'll just have to come back for a longer visit next time. Take care. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Widows Row cottage. Thanks for leaving the review, much appreciated. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pattii l
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Incredible views/cozy home”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Anne, our host, was awesome! It was like visiting family! Widows Row was warm and inviting, comfortable and has incredible views of the bay and Newcastle. If you are lucky enough to get a booking, go for it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thanks Nicholas for taking the time to leave your review. I know the family's visit was short and you had 4 seasons in one day with the weather but I'm pleased you enjoyed you visit to Newcastle and Widows Row. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to southern Ireland and France. You really did cover some ground! Give my regards to the rest of the family and thanks for choosing to stay at the cottage. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing