We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place isn't fit for animals!”
Review of Harbour House Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour House Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We bought a Groupon voucher for £65 for 2 nights. We arrived on Friday afternoon. The entrance and check in was anything but welcoming. The staff were gathered at the bar chatting and no one even looked up. The lady who booked us in was very abrupt and announced there would be an extra charge of £30 for our small son, though I was told on the phone the previous day there wouldn't be. We were then shown to our room.

The place smells really bad.

The general level of cleanliness was shockingly bad.
-The room smelt like a mixture of sweaty feet and BO.
-There was pubic hair on the bed sheets and pillows.
-The toilet seat was broken and the shower head had black mold growing on it.
-The furniture was all very worn and in a bad state of repair.
-No controller for the TV
-The bed was squeaked loudly and the springs were practically coming through. It sloped badly to one side.


Overall, I would say this is the absolute worst place I have ever stayed in.. And we didn't stay long. We checked in at 4.30pm and checked out again at 10.30pm.

Such a shame as location wise, it is beautiful.

Avoid at all costs is my advice for anyone thinking of staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank its_jemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Not a hotel, a pub with rooms and a restaurant. Very friendly and efficient staff. Groupon deal was excellent value. Rooms are clean and comfortable with modern en suite shower room - what more do you need? With the magnificent Mourne Mountains as a backdrop, this is a perfect base from which to explore the area. The Stone Boat Restaurant offers first class food at very affordable prices. The bonus was the regular Sunday night session. As a regular at and in sessions for many years, a tsumani of guitars coming through the door was a little worrying, but the result was surprisingly good. Very few sessions could produce jaw dropping Pink Floyd covers but this one did. Kudos to all involved. I would go back just for another Sunday night.

Room Tip: Rooms at front suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dadineedhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We didn't stay here but eat sometimes in the Stone Boat restaurant and also the bar. We had a fanatstic sea food meal in the bar in February 2012, sardines to share to start followed by lobster thermador and herring. Both dishes were beautiful and the view is amazing. It's worth walking to the harbour to experience it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMsept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Got this deal through groupon,£65 for 2 nights for 2 people,a free bottle of wine,and a gorg cream tea on arrival,Staff very friendly,just could'nt do enough for us,rooms very clean and bed cumfy,plenty of carparking spaces and food in the resturant was beautiful an plenty of it,will be going back...Very happy customers..Thank-you

Room Tip: A room at the back facing the sea,would be much quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joysee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I only stopped off for a bite to eat. The pub is next to the lifeboat station and opposite the local Coastguard Base - the walls are covered in photos of the local volunteers.
The food was good , the service friendly and the prices reasonable.
If you are in the area and you want to eat some wholesome grub , try this place out

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yandinazetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently as part of a groupon deal. Over all we enjoyed our stay.

The place itself has what some may call an eccentric cluttered atmosphere. We arrived on a sunday so the place was subdued. After arrival as parted of the deal we were due a "creamed tea" though in our case we ordered coffees. We had to wait 25 mins for the coffees then after reminding the waitress we had to wait another 25 for 2 scones that had been in the microwave too long and tasted like rubber.

The room itself was perfect and spotlessly clean and well provisioned . The only downside we found were the people in the next room who proceeded to party in there room to 3 or 4am. The partition walls are extremly thin. This continued on the next night until we bang on the walls ourselves!!

On the monday we had dinner in the bar and while the food was pleasant enough it wasn't spectacular, and you probably could have got better in newcastle for the same price. However this is only a small hotel / B&B so I dont hold that against them.

As a base to explore Newcastle and the sorrouding mourne district this place is extremely good as you are not necessarily in the centre of newcastle but you are still close enough for a long walk and the views are fantastic over the bay.

On the whole I would recommend this place for a couple of nights but a few of the small thing may annoy if any longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveandcarolyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed mid week and Hotel and bar were very quiet. The hotel advertised live music at the weekend so perhaps it is much busier then. We walked into the centre of Newcastle both nights and it is a good 15 minute walk although taxi back was only £3.00. The location, although a bit far out from town is good as you just have to walk across the road to go into the forest and up the mountain. Breakfast was good as was the Captains Platter. Staff were very friendly and rooms were a good size. Had a very nice Pizza in Villa Vinchi on the Main Street near Donard Hotel and would recommend it, pasta looked lovely too. Overall an enjoyable staff and whilst we would stay again would only do so at the weekend as we found the whole of Newcastle lacking in nightlife.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank irishatleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.8 km away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
133 reviews
3.5 km away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
163 reviews
27.3 km away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
18.3 km away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
115 reviews
28.1 km away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Inn

Address: Inn Newcastle 4 South Promenade, Newcastle BT33 0EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is on the South Promenade at Newcastle Harbour: The harbour is among the most richly historic areas of Newcastle. Home to many longstanding families, the area around the pier has a long association with the sea. The origins of the current harbour date back to the 1820's, when a new pier was created by Lord Annesley to replace the old one. One of the chief functions of the pier was to act as a loading point for Mourne granite, which was quarried in the hills above the harbour. If you stand on the shorter arm of the pier and look up towards the mountain you can see a path cut through the trees leading to the now defunct quarry on Millstone Mountain. In the last century, stone was quarried here and dispatched down this track to the harbour by railtrucks. It was loaded on to ships (known as Stone Boats) and used to build docks in Belfast and Liverpool and the courthouse gaol in nearby Downpatrick ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Newcastle
Harbour Hotel Newcastle
Harbour House Inn Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing