We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem of a place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rourke's Cottage

Rourke's Cottage - 1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rourke's Cottage - 1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Country style living room with cosy wood burning stove Double room with reading area and sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Rourke's Cottage - 1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Country style living room with cosy wood burning stove
Double room with reading area and sea views
Spacious twin room with sea views
Luxury bathroom with free standing bath
Large walk-in shower
Decked patio area with views of mountains and sea
Unwind and watch the fishing boats 'bobbing' along the sea
Silent Valley Park just 5 mins drive, relax with a picnic, feed the ducks, enjoy the walking trails.
Annalong Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather E
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Beautiful setting . Houses fit for a king. The owner was a pleasure to deal with.
She could not have done any more . The place is secure and handy to get up into the mountains for a good ramble. Have already recommended the place to others. We are planning to return next year.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review. We are so glad that you all had a great time. Our location is ideal for rambling groups with many walks and trails right on our doorstep offering the perfect opportunity to explore the Mournes. Delighted you are already planning to come back and look forward to seeing you all again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A weekend break you wish would last longer”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Absolutely beautifully designed cottage. Big spacious rooms and fabulous bathrooms.
Well suited for large family group. Great view of the Slieve donard mountain. We went hiking one day and it was lovely to get back to such a cosy cottage with an open fire. Loads to do in the area and there is nice restaurants nearby in Newcastle. Would highly recommend to go at any time of year, not very suitable for younger children but suited for teenagers etc. Wifi available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of Slieve Donard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments regarding Rourke's Cottage much appreciated. There's certainly lots to do in the area for all ages, and we do offer a safe an secure site with spacious green areas to play in, swings and sand pit for the children to enjoy, not forgetting the strategically placed summer seats to just sit and enjoy the marvelous views, we hope to see you back very soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addie64
Lurgan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home From Home Experience”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a great cottage beautifully decorated. Stunning views from the cottage of the mountains and you also have a view of the sea. A large kitchen with all amenities. The main living area opens out onto a decking area. The location is great for cycling and walking. We thoroughly enjoyed our family holiday here and hope to return again soon. Myrtle the owner gave us a great welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning layout of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you we loved having you and the children. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kribben Cottages and thank you for your review and support. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliatthel...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A haven of luxury nestling beneath the Mourne Mountains”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Rourke's Cottage was luxurious, warm, beautiful, spacious - we loved it. We can't wait to go back. A weekend was not enough in this lovely cottage beautifully presented by the charming Myrtle who has thought of everything in these lovely cottages. We stayed for just a weekend while I did a recce of the area for my work, but we'll be back for a longer stay. The cottages are furnished to the highest standard with free standing baths, walk in showers, under floor heating, wood burning stoves and large comfortable beds.

The views out to Slieve Binnian are lovely and it's the perfect base for exploring the Mournes and Silent Valley. We ate out at the awesome Mourne Seafood in Dundrum, and had an amazing ride in the Tollymore Forest with Mourne Trail Riding Centre nearby. Can't recommend enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious rooms, stove fireplace, immaculate kitchen - everything!
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
We really enjoyed having you to stay and thank you for your kind remarks. The Mourne area has so much to offer with many attractions and activities right on our door step. We love to make guests from near and far feel welcome here in Northern Ireland and hope you will come back again soon and spend longer with us next time:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberie
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of both worlds”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here over New Year with my boyfriend and another couple, the cottage is finished to a very high standard. We were able to have an open fire every evening and relax in the cosy cottage. The kitchen was a joy to cook in, all newly fitted mod cons. We went into Newcastle one of the nights for dinner, it was only 8 pounds for the four of us in the taxi. We also had a lovely lunch in Annalong in the Harbour bar/ restaurant. Silent Valley is 10mins away by car and had lovely walks. I would definitely visit again for a chilled out weekend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVNeill20...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Affordable luxury in the heart of the Mournes”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

These brand new cottages were a joy to stay in. We stayed with a group of friends in the Rourke's and Seefin and they had everything we needed, adults, kids and dogs alike. The cottages are furnished to the highest standard with free standing baths, walk in showers, under floor heating, wood burning stoves and really cosy beds.

The views out to Slieve Binnian are incredible and the Carrick Little car park a mile up the road is the perfect base for exploring the Mournes. The cottage is too far out of Newcastle to walk into town but perfect for those with cycling interests or for a desire for more serene surroundings. Parking is ample and secure and the back gardens are perfect for a BBQ.

Myrtle was extremely helpful and very easy to deal with. We can't wait to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay in Kribben Cottages. It's great to read such glowing comments about the comfort and luxury you enjoyed during your time with us. We are delighted you all enjoyed the wonderful scenery and walks right on our doorstep, the Mournes are really something rather special. We look forward to welcoming you all back very soon Myrtle:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K
Balbriggan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was beautifully finished and furnished. 3 bedrooms one Double down stairs with ensuite suitable for my 93 year old Mother. One big double and one big twin room upstairs. A superb bathroom with bath and separate deluge shower head and ordinary shower head also. The kitchen was very well fitted out with even beakers and bowls for kids and a bar-b-que as well. The views from the house were beautiful with the sea to the front and the Mourne mountains to the back. Myrtle the owner even came with a flask of boiling water for Mum as there was a scheduled power outage on one of the days we were there - very thoughtfull. The five cottages in a semi circle are enclosed by a beautiful dry stone wall with a remote control gate so children of all ages are totally safe on the large grass common area. The acid test is would I go again and the answer is resoundingly YES. This is high class accommodation in a beautiful scenic area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality accommodation with great scenery
Liked least: no colander or sieve in kitchen !!!!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing