We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional holiday accommodation in the heart of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rourke's Cottage

Rourke's Cottage - 1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rourke's Cottage - 1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Country style living room with cosy wood burning stove Double room with reading area and sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Rourke's Cottage - 1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Country style living room with cosy wood burning stove
Double room with reading area and sea views
Spacious twin room with sea views
Luxury bathroom with free standing bath
Large walk-in shower
Decked patio area with views of mountains and sea
Unwind and watch the fishing boats 'bobbing' along the sea
Silent Valley Park just 5 mins drive, relax with a picnic, feed the ducks, enjoy the walking trails.
Annalong Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pduggan20...
Waringstown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional holiday accommodation in the heart of the Mournes.”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owner Myrtle was so welcoming and attentive. She welcomed us with a roaring fire, plus homemade scones and biscuits!!! The accommodation was exceptional. Designed to an extremely high standard, the rooms were spacious and typical of local whitewashed cottages of the area. Our three bedroomed cottage, Rourke's, easily catered for six of us. My bedroom had a patchwork quilt and metal bedstead, with a chair by the window to allow for leisurely gazing over the Irish Sea or to the surrounding mountains. The main bathroom was like that of a luxury hotel!!! And two more toilets/ bathrooms downstairs! The living room was equipped with comfy seating, television and a log burner! How cosy to have our meals around the dining table and view the mountains front and back! The kitchen was fully equipped with dishwasher, cooker, microwave, larder and every need was catered for. The utility area with washing machine led to the decked patio area. We marvelled at those dry stone walls and magnificent views as the light changes over the Mournes on one side and the sea on the other! Even at night, with the rhythmic flashing of the lighthouse lights beyond the bay over at St. John's point! We woke up to the gentle calls of sheep and calves. The coastal road, or the scenic route inland, led to many previously unexplored corners of Co Down. The small town of Annalong boasts an award winning Fish and Chip shop, "The Galley". Serving locally caught fish and crab, it is extremely popular and is well worth a visit. The Kribben Cottages car park, with electronic gates, meant that our vehicles could be parked safely and close to the cottage. We all had a memorable time. A superb base!!!!! We cannot wait to return and we would highly recommend these cottages to any visitors to Co Down.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crookies2...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous house in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent four nights at Rourke's Cottage which is big enough for six. It is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding countryside. Newcastle is 15 mins drive with lots of ice cream shops for little people and parents alike!! and the beautiful mourne mountains are on the doorstep. The house is spotlessly clean, beautiful, well kept and cosy. There's plenty of space outside that's enclosed and safe for young children with swings, a sand pit and lots of room for running about. Having found this little gem we plan to return and recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and well maintained
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happdays1...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short stay - unfortunately”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cluster of self catering houses is amazing. We stayed in Mooville which has wonderful views of the sea and the mountain to the rear. Everything is to a very high spec - it is cosy and warm and very well equipped. There is an outside area for sitting sheltered from the winds and a patio area outside the lounge. John and Myrtle were very welcoming and there were homemade biscuits for our first cup of tea. They are happy to accommodate a dog and it is very suitable for them as it is tiled throughout and has a utility room. Unfortunately my little dog Finn was so excited to be there that he took a running jump off the patio decking (not high) and ruptured his cruciate ligament. This meant we had to leave the next day instead of staying for three - nothing at all to do with the cottage - just such an exciting place to be for a dog and wonderful place to stay for the rest of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: Having to leave early because of the dog!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne K
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in a stunning location in this beautiful part of Northern Ireland - we had views of the sea and the mountains. The cottage is luxurious - beautifully decorated and very well equipped. You are a short drive away from mountain walks, beaches, forest parks and great restaurants. I would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glitterdi...
divaland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not quite sure....”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Why these are only 4 stars! Stunning location and so well equipped.
The cottages are beautiful, the real wow factor. We stayed for a long weekend and loved it. We are familiar with the area... A taxi into Newcastle one evening was £6.

The cottages have all mod cons and more! So very comfortable and the decor is fantastic.

A huge plus for us is the Dog friendly option. They need to be well behaved but we thought it was fab to be able to take our two on our weekend as they enjoyed every minute too.

Perhaps a hairdryer would give the extra star and a more comprehensive guide book..just a suggestion. Would definitely return and we have already recommended. It would be a great spot to take a group of friends and family, they could all have their own space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: It is more expensive but worth every penny.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elster201...
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superbly equipped and situated cottage in a beautiful setting between mountains and sea”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is spacious, spotless and very tastefully furnished. Myrtle couldn't have been more friendly and helpful with her tips about the area. We felt very much at home and look forward to our next visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ld3363
N.I.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We actually stayed in seefin cottage, but it is basically the same as this. Myrtle is so .friendly, nothing is a problem. Home-based goodies on arrival. We've stayed in a lot of holiday homes but this was one of the best. So well presented, comfortable and well equipped. Fantastic llocation and scenery as well. We'll definitely be back again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, they are really much appreciated. We take great pride in making sure our cottages are cosy and comfortable and that all our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We are located in a beautiful part of the Mournes and we are more than happy to share it with you. Hope to see you back again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing