We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy times!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottages from the pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottages from the pond
Bearnagh Cottage Live-in-kitchen Happy Vale Entrance, Bearnagh Cottage to right of driveway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Cottages from the pond
Bearnagh Cottage Live-in-kitchen
Happy Vale Entrance, Bearnagh Cottage to right of driveway
Bearnagh Cottage, Bedroom 1, King size bed
Bearnagh Cottage patio area and car port
Bearnagh Cottage, wood burning stove and wide screen TV
Meelmore Cottage bike shed and drying room
Bearnagh Cottage, Bedroom 2, Double bed (also a single bed in this bedroom)
Bearnagh Cottage sun room - living area with 4 large sofas
Friendly sheep at entrance
Mourne Mountains - Slieve Bearnagh Summit Tor
Mourne Mountains - Mourne Wall, Slieve Bearnagh
Map showing Happy Vale Location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johneen m
1 review
“Happy times! ”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a fantastic stay with family. We rented both cottages as it was a larger group. Both cottages were warm, spacious, spotlessly clean and had all the equipment/utensils that could be needed for a break away. The location is ideal as its a very short journey to newcastle, annalong, etc.

Thanks Gerry. Hope to be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thanks for your feedback. You will be very welcome again. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessS...
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed from Thursday 20th -23rd of August.
The house is beautiful and in an amazing location.
Great amenaties. EVERYTHING you need, all utensils.
TV in every room beautiful large fire burner. Would be great for anytime of year. Lovely outdoor eating area.
Outstanding view and a lovely stream to accompany it.
We had kids with is and it is an ideal area for any family or for any retreat.
Great big sun room.
All rooms were very clean. The bathroom was lovely. One room with ensuite had shower and main bathroom had a lovely bath and shower facility.
Beds are extremely comfortable with under storage.
Parking area is large and there is a car port good size.
Will certainly return :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Great to see the kids enjoying themselves. Hope to see you back soon. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iloveanir...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a week visiting relatives in County Down and stayed in Bearnaugh cottage with our 5 children. The location is beautiful, the cottage felt like a home from home with everything we could possibly need - the children loved the technology (wifi, blu ray, tvs, dvds) and the freedom of the outside space and we loved the home comforts and the views. We ate out most nights but everything was there to cook. Castlewellan is very close with pubs, takeaways and supermarket and Newcastle and Tollymore Forest are very close. A lot of thought has gone into making the place family friendly and comfortable. Gerry was a great host available but not intrusive. Can't recommend Happy Vale enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Thanks for your positive feedback both of Trip Advisor and in the guest book. Hope to see you at the cottages again. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel B
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic accommodation and great location”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

WE are just home following a week at "Happy Vale" It was indeed a very happy week.
From the outset Gerry was so helpful in helping us settle into this outstanding property and yet not intrusive in any way.
The facilities were super: the information about the accommodation and whats on in the area was really helpful; the location of walking in the mountains was outstanding
we've booked for next year!!! Thanks for a great time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Great to see 3 generations of your family able to enjoy the cottages together. You will be very welcome again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemz90
2 reviews
“Stunning house, gorgeous views”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Myself 3 other adults & 5 kids stayed here for 4 days. The house is fantastic and done to a very high standard, there was everything we needed, washing machine, dryer, cooker towels etc. Brilliant surround sound system in the living area, lovely view of the mournes couldn't have asked for a better location. Hope to be back again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Your children really enjoyed seeing the sheep beside the cottage and the stream running past. You had a large group of guests with 2 travel cots. Thanks for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zarawhite...
Winchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage in perfect rural location !”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We just spent a week at Happy Vale cottages and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Bearnagh, which is the larger of the two, and which comfortably sleeps 7. When we arrived, we were met by Gerry, who is the owner. He is really helpful and friendly, and was always available if we needed anything or had any problems. There were cakes and milk in the fridge, which was great, and also washing powder/dishwasher tablets/tea/coffee/salt and pepper.

The cottage was clean and well presented. The view from the living area is out of this world! And there is a huge seating area outside for bbqs etc. It has free wifi, TV with DVD player, coffee machine and a lovely wood burning stove (which we didn't use as it was June but I imagine would be so cosy in winter).

The cottage is very Eco friendly too, which is a great feature. It actually win an award while we were there.

The location is fabulous-very rural and peaceful, with loads of walking nearby, but not far to the beach/towns if you need anything.

Perfect holiday, would certainly return again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
The location close to the mountains really suited you. Make sure to bring the fell running shoes next time so Jon will win the race down Slieve Meelbeg as well as he won the race to the top. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shopgi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accommodation, Beautiful location”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This cottage is superb. The accommodation is extremely well equipped, with comfortable beds, TVs in all the bedrooms and a lovely wood burning stove (more for atmosphere than heat as with under floor heating throughout the cottage is really cosy). It is in a very peaceful area with the only noise being the adjacent stream and is in the heart of the beautiful Mourne mountains. Our only regret is that we weren't staying for longer...hopefully next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Great that you enjoyed Happy Vale and you will be very welcome to stay again. Next time we have to get you up to the viewpoint on the ridge of Slievenaman..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing