We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful , picturesque , relaxing holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property
Direct views of the Mourne Mountains from Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Direct views of the Mourne Mountains from Living room
Large hall/sunroom with amazing views of the Mournes and the ever-changing tide and wildlife large open plan living room with dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Direct views of the Mourne Mountains from Living room
Large hall/sunroom with amazing views of the Mournes and the ever-changing tide and wildlife
large open plan living room with dining table
open plan fully fitted kitchen with  views of the mournes and murlough nature reserve
Open plan living space
exterior view of the bungalow situated on a quiet location within the nature reserve
master bedroom with ensuite, walk in wardrobe with stunning views of the mountains and inner bay
Murlough beach a short walk away
Family bathroom with P-shaped bath and electric shower
Twin bedroom with views of the mountains and the bay
Ensuite bathrooms with power showers
large stoned driveway with parking
views from open plan hallway
large open plan living room with stunning views
large bedroom with ensuite bathroom and walk in wardrobe
Murlough nature reserve from the back windows
breathtaking views of the Mourne mountains and inner bay from the bedroom .
Log burning stove in living room for cosy nights in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne T
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful , picturesque , relaxing holiday setting”
Reviewed August 6, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

What a beautiful house in the most lovely, relaxing setting you could ask for! We were thrilled with the setting of the house, the views of the Mountains of Mourne and the variety of birds that you see!! We had s very busy week visiting relatives, shopping in Belfast and going on tours- but returning home to this lovely house in this setting was lovely!
We would love to return as if you're visiting lovely Ireland you couldn't stay anywhere nicer!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thank you Anne for your wonderful review I'm glad you found the house and the surrounding area relaxing, I look forward to seeing you again if you return to Northern Ireland. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosbloomf...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“A four generation family holiday spent in a gorgeous house and location.”
Reviewed July 23, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I am delighted to say we had a most relaxing and enjoyable four generation family holiday in the Mourne Retreat holiday home. The weather was fabulous and the views stunning. The house itself is beautifully presented and so comfortable. Thank you Ray and Sandra for the welcoming treats and the opportunity to stay in your lovely house. R

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2018
Thank you Rosalind for your wonderful review I'm glad your whole family had a relaxing stay. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelagh M
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 3, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Mourne Retreat is a wonderful place in an amazing setting. Rarely does holiday accommodation exceed expectation - this certainly does! Just a fantastic place to relax, whatever the weather. Can’t wait to return. Thanks, Ray and Sandra!

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2018
Thank you Shelagh for your great review I'm glad you had a relaxing stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Mar 2018
Thank you Liz for your great review, I'm glad your had an enjoyable stay in Mourne Retreat and I look forward to seeing you in the future. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 12, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Date of stay: March 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Mar 2018
Thank you Arlene for you wonderful review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hopefully you will return again to Mourne Retreat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Footprint...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed January 30, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The house is beautiful, with the most amazing views all round. The pictures do not do it justice!!! Sandra and Ray were very welcoming and helpful. The house was spotless, warm and had everything that you could possibly need and more. We spent the weekend walking in the hills and it was lovely to come back to relax and take in the views. A great location and a perfect weekend retreat.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Thank you Susan for a great review I'm glad you found the house warm, comfortable and relaxing, and you were able to enjoy some of the many walks available in the local area. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola H
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way ”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wow, I don't think there are enough superlatives to describe our stay at Mourne Retreat. You know you're stay is going to be good when owner Sandra meets you with fresh scones, apple pie and even milk for the tea to help you settle in. The bungalow is absolutely stunning. Decorated to an extremely high finish in a modern style throughout, with every thing you could ever need on your stay. And the views.... Just wow. To me the best view on earth, out over Dundrum inner bay and across to the Mourne mountains. A fantastic location if you like your bird watching, lots going on in the river out the front of the house. Roughly 5 minutes drive takes you to either Newcastle, Dundrum village centre or Murlough nature reserve. We were able to get Tesco to deliver our online shopping to us which was a great help, something that may interest those of you staying for a few nights. So there we have it, a stunning home in a beautiful location. If I ever win the lottery I'll be down to dundrum to see if Sandra will sell me Mourne Retreat, to me it's absolute perfection.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thank you Nichola for such a wonderful review. I'm glad you had a good time and it would be great to see you again in the near future. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing