We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arkle House B and B
Ranked #10 of 46 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We both enjoyed the lovely Arkle, very good comfortable room with hot shower and nice kitchen that guests could access and use to help themselves to tea and coffee and biscuits. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice of nice foods etc.

Sheila the host was very welcoming and helped with advice and directions on the area. All in all a very good stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The Cosh bar nearby is good for an evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Wow, what an experience. Sally is a wonderful host. The rooms are lovely. The location is fantastic. What more can I say, Its the perfect place. The breakfast is fresh and delightful. The rooms are clean. Can not recommend this place any higher Thank you Sally.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Adon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We were travelling for a bachelor party road trip. Nothing too wild, mind. But this was an excellent stay, and our hosts were fantastic. The breakfast was unbeatable, particularly, with excellent locally sourced materials (the bacon was almost unbearably good). I will emphatically recommend this as a stop for anyone in Derry.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxwell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Amazing hosts. Could'nt do enough for you the room was fantastic and the bed so comfy and a fantastic breakfast. It's in a great position for exploring the area it's only a 5euro taxi ride into Derry the wall tour is great.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

I was also there at the same time as Aaron (both on the same yacht),Sally & Terry were wonderful hosts and they were always friendly and helpful. They even did our washing for us (although this might not be the norm). My rooms were very comfortable, clean and with a lovely view of the gardens. Although I was asked to change rooms from a twin to a double to accomodate some unexpected guests it was no hassle as Sally moved all of my stuff whilst I was out. There is a kitchen on the first floor for the guests to use and it was always stocked with bread, cereals and biscuits and had a kettle, toaster and microwave, The breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious with lots of choice. Regina and AnneMarie served breakfast most days and always made sure we had everything we wanted.
Although it is a little bit out of the city it is within walking distance and a taxi cost just £3 no matter what time it was!
There hospitality mirrored that which we received from everyone we met there and I would recommend both this B&B and the city of Derry as a place to visit,

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paulrw1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I stayed here for over a week when in port with a yacht race. Sally and Terry were extremely friendly and helpful throughout. The girls serving breakfast (Regina and Ann Marie) were great fun and full of local information. Would definitely stay here again.
Thanks for such a warm welcome to Derry!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SailorAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We made our reservation with this B & Band kept in constant contact with them and confirmed our reservation the day before. However, when we arrived they told us they had no rooms and showed us an attic room not fit for your dog. and wanted to charge us for it. That took real you know what!!! They tried somewhat to get us another room but were not really interested. The B & B is hard to find and the pictures on the website don't show the real quality of the accommodations that is really a 2 star at best. Don't kid yourself with the B & B we planned our vacation from the USA months prior and for them to just give your room away shows the real character of the owners. They don't deserve your business or should even be in the business. I would not trust them!

Room Tip: terrible locotion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jmurray602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkleHouse, Owner at Arkle House B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Sir you had a reservation with us but did not secure it with a credit card as you were asked to do. You arrived late in the day and the room had already been allocated. It's your own fault. The room you described so scurrilously is the room my two daughters grew up in, and I resent your remarks. I found you a room in another beautiful bnb. The tone of your remarks tells a lot about your character or lack of.
Sally Cassidy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.2 km away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
557 reviews
3.5 km away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#2 of 46 in Derry
91 reviews
2.7 km away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
2.4 km away
Serendipity House
Serendipity House
#7 of 46 in Derry
318 reviews
2.2 km away
Groarty House & Manor B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkle House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkle House B and B

Address: 2 Coshquin Road, Derry BT48 0ND, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: $82 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkle House B and B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkle House described in the original brochure as a "Gentleman's residence", was built around 1900. The property has been recently refurbished, with great care taken to maintain the original charm and ambiance of this lovely old building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Arkle House B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkle House B And B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing