We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,317)
Filter reviews
2,317 results
Traveller rating
1,148
720
270
112
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
720
270
112
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peace bridge river view car park trouser press guild hall superior room leisure facilities steam room central location lovely hotel course meal saturday night reception staff both nights weekend break jazz festival great atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 2,317 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2016

Our stay at the City Hotel was enjoyable and relaxing. The large modern rooms were well appointed, clean and comfortable. The dining area is large and accommodating, with comfortable seating arrangements. The staff were pleasant and willing to spend time explaining the area, including a walking map for those willing and able to explore on foot. The hotel is situated close to the Craft Village, Guild Hall (a must see, especially the organ on the upper floor), Peace Bridge and many other walkable sites, including the wall of the old city. Of special interest was the Bloody Sunday memorial, Free Derry Corner and Bogside Murals. Many restaurants and pubs along with shopping very nearby.

Room tip: 4th floor and higher.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank akacliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate comments and take on-board all feedback, so that hopefully next time we can earn a 5 star review, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

Always been curious about this part of Ireland. Visited the Giants causeway straight off the ferry from Scotland. Had the most spectacular weather. Both our two preteen travel companions seemed to enjoy lifting their heads from their iPads for 4 hours to enjoy the scenery.

Londonderry itself was more than I expected friendly people,nice hotel for a very reasonable price enjoyed a walking tour round the city walls, a very pleasant place to spend the day.

Date of stay: August 2016
1  Thank Rebria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate comments and take on-board all feedback, so that hopefully next time we can earn a 5 star review, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2016

Just home from city hotel Derry. Stayed on 7th floor fantastic. Thankyou To you all from housekeeping to management. Danielle is fantastic at her job nothing is a problem. Thankyou to Gemma bar staff Desmond restaurant and Claire best wishes for your wedding
. Thank you from room 709 fri 5th Aug to tue 9th Aug thank you one and all

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lh930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Wat can we say we had an amazing day after a few years of planning.The city hotel really made it so special and such a day memorable day.The staff was brilliant from management to chefs, bar staff ,waiters & waitresses , housekeeping & porters.The food was amazing.We just want to express are thanks to Meave Brennan for all her help and support she gave us during the planning of are wedding.Wat a great experience.We would highly recommend the city hotel for your wedding day.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Cdohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

Dear Cdohe
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to celebrate your special day with us, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016

My husband and I had a fantastic stay at this hotel. We stayed for their Sunday Savour Offer of dinner, bed & breakfast for one night for two people for £89. This includes a free upgrade to a superior room which was fabulous. It was on the fifth floor and overlooked the Peace bridge which was lovely when lit up at night. The room had everything you could need including trouser press, iron and ironing board and a great range of toiletries. even the towels were shaped like an elephant. The room also included free soft drinks, water, chocolate and biscuits. The room was very quiet and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were excellent as were the staff. We got parked no problem in the hotels underground car park bur you could struggle on a Friday or Saturday night. It was by far the best hotel I have stayed in and I loved every minute of it. It easily compares to any hotel in Belfast, Dublin and Galway. The location is fantastic and their biggest asset is the fabulous staff. Well done city Hotel, Derry. I will be back!!!

Room tip: Upgrade to a superior room
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyrone027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews