We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
301
152
66
30
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
152
66
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver birch reception staff night porter town centre lovely hotel roast beef stayed for one night course dinner lovely room saturday night cooked breakfast first class great night staff were excellent would highly recommend this hotel fantastic stay following morning
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 572 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018

My wife and I attended a wedding at this hotel a few weeks ago and we have to say that it was the worst meal we have ever been served at a wedding! We were told the meal was for 3.30pm but we waited well over an hour past this time with no explanation from anyone as to the delay. When we did make it to our tables, we were then all asked again what we wanted to eat; we had already given this information to the bride and groom with our acceptance; this caused yet another delay. At this stage we were so hungry, we felt we could have ate anything; however the meal was a huge disappointment; the soup was tepid, the melon was tasteless, the meat was so tough we could not chew it, the vegetables were rationed ( had two little pieces of veg on my plate), the vegan main was penne pasta in a tomato and basil soup; it was unclear if a spoon or fork was appropriate, the pavlova was so sweet we could not eat it at all! The wait between courses was also unacceptable.There seemed to be very little training of their staff as they were coming back and forward to tables throughout the whole meal, some people had finished eating before others were served. As for the buffet later on that night, we would have been served better at McDonalds!! I will certainly not be returning to this hotel for any reason nor would I recommend it to anyone and fail to see how a recent review could be anywhere near a 5 star rating after what we experienced!

Date of stay: August 2018
4  Thank LilyNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

I am very disappointed to read your review given that the feedback we received on the day was excellent and most importantly our bride and groom were very happy. I do wish you had mentioned how appalled you were on the day , or even following the event directly to us to avoid any distress to our bridal party who were delighted with how their day went

I would like to highlight that the wedding meal was actually booked for 4.30pm. There were 25 minutes of speeches which meant your meal began at 4.55pm. Service was completed at 6.05pm.

We allow a 2 hour window for a wedding meal and speeches. A wedding is a special day for families and friends and a day that a bride and groom should savor every moment celebrating with their family, thus it would not be appropriate for us to hastily serve out meals. We are not a McDonalds, we delivered your 4 course meal within 1 hour and 10 mins, which is more than acceptable

I do apologise that your meal did not meet your expectations, if we had have known we would have fixed it to ensure you had the best possible experience

It is clear that your opinion of us has been permanently marred and it is with regret that I must accept that there will be no way we can restore your faith in us and that you will not be returning ever again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

My wife and I held our wedding party here.
As regular diners at this hotel, we were confident that our guests would have a wonderful meal.
We were NOT disappointed !
From start to finish we were very impressed with the professionalism of the wedding team.
The meal was excellent in every respect. Our guests, many of whom travelled from abroad, were very impressed with the meal and the attentiveness of the staff.
We have always found The Birches consistently good, but the wedding meal surpassed our expectations.
We would definitely recommend the Silverbirch Hotel.

Room tip: Any room is fine
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

The Silverbirch Hotel had been the venue of choice for my Son and his bride when they announced their engagement on Christmas Day 2017.

So after lots of planning the big day finally arrived and the staff at Silverbirch did them (and us) proud. Every detail was taken care of, the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was on the 2nd floor, spacious and comfortable, my parents had a ground floor room (which was requested) - breakfast was excellent and the waiting staff were again very attentive.

We ate in the restaurant 3 nights, a good menu choice, with specials each night. The bar and lounge areas were very comfortable.

The big day itself went without a hitch and - it was a very special day indeed

Returning home on the Monday, we almost had the hotel to ourselves, as nearly all the wedding guests had left. The reception staff helped with some last minute alterations to our journey home - Great service throughout our stay, thank you



Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank paulhB6905RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

I attended a wedding here recently and as I was eating my main course of turkey and ham I bit into something very hard and crunchy. I didn't think much of it at first and assumed it was just a hard piece of food so I continued to eat but it became more and more uncomfortable as I chewed. After swallowing a piece I spat the rest out and found that it was glass! Yes, it was a small shard but it was unmistakable. The staff tried to cover it up and didn't even apologise. I was quite shaken by this and felt very put off eating anything else.
I was also shocked to hear about how uneducated the staff were on vegans. There were a few vegans at the party and the hotel had been informed of this but they were completely unprepared for feeding them. One girl asked would they like pavlova for dessert after they informed her that they were vegans - surely a waitress should know what vegans do and don't eat? Apparently this is not the case at the Silverbirch Hotel, as another waitress even asked the question, "What is a vegan?"
I can say with great certainty that I will not be eating here again and I recommend that others don't either.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear Erin

Thank you for your review. IT WAS NOT GLASS in your food, it was a gem from a butterfly table decoration that was supplied by the bridal party. I have attempted to explain this to you however as you have refused to speak to me my efforts have proved to be futile.. I still have the small segment of gem to verify this.

I appreciate this must have been very distressing for you especially given that you inaccurately thought that it was a piece of glass. I apologise that this happened to you and we will , as a team, consider that we may need to prohibit bridal parties to have their own table decorations as a result. Irrespective of the fact this gem did not come from our kitchen the gem still made its way to your plate and we can not take the risk that this may happen again

Our wedding coordinator assures me that she quite rightly apologised profusely for the incident and if her apology did not seem in earnest it was due to the shock and confusion given that we do not permit glass in our function kitchen

I repudiate your comment that we were not prepared for our vegan guests as we had a team and chef dedicated to catering for the individuals attending on a vegan diet. When the guest you are refering to rebuked the vegan option we had prepared, the waitress offered the pavlova which of course was a failure on our part. The waitress that you refer to was not briefed on the vegan requirements and diet and we apologise for this, she was unaware that there was dairy used in the making of pavlova

Given the seriousness of your complaint I would really urge you to reconsider the option to speak to me directly and call me on 028 8224 2520

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

A wonderful well kept hotel with excellent staff and great customer service. Food was good, good drink selection and an excellent breakfast. Nice large car park too with ample parking and located close to Omagh town centre.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank simonkenny23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews