We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If not for the staff...... Avoid this place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Ranked #61 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“If not for the staff...... Avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

The staff are doing the best they can it seams. If I were the owner I would be embarrassed to admit it.
The rooms are large, I had black mold growing in the bathroom. The mattress is about thirty years old, thin with springs nearly poking through. The tv is in a corner on the far side of the room (21" CRT), everything is way outdated. The customer service for waitstaff is poor (due to lack of training, not for effort). The food is hot but way overpriced for what is provided.
Once again I believe that the front desk staff are at least a bit embarrassed by what they charge and what they don't deliver..... I was told "the owner was here last week and does not plan to do any improvements and is cutting back further on services". I don't see where he can cut anymore.
Avoid this place at all cost.

Room Tip: Opt for somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear DM, thank you for your comments we are in the process of re-grouting some bathrooms where the grout has turned black and also in the last year have replaced over 60 beds. Constant improvements are being made all the time, but I am sure you can appreciate it is a big hotel. The comment that you say were told about "the owner" are incorrect and I apologies if you were given incorrect information. The hotel would benefit from some modernisation and the staff are new in the restaurant and are in training and I apologies that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    89
    116
    142
    403
See reviews for
90
172
59
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

stayed for 4nights BB/EM. 3rd MAY 2012. room clean & tidy. Food excellent. Staff attentive & pleasant. would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: we came with JUST GO HOLIDAYS who arranged 3 excursions for the princely cost of 139 pounds inclusiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chatticathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear chatticathy, Thank you for your comments I am glad to hear you had a great time and will pass your comments onto the team. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently and for the price I paid I was completely overcharged. The hotel needs completely revamping, we were put in a family room which I didnt mind but it only had one plug socket...bizarre! The telephone line was dead in the room, this was frustrating as we had an early flight the following morning. We did complain about it but I dont know if it ever got fixed as we didnt hang around too long to find out. The hotel should be ashamed at how much they charge for what you get...very dissatisfied!

Room Tip: check out your plug sockets before you dump your bags in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borntoshop7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear borntoshop7474, I am sorry that you feel you were overcharged but the price is clearly displayed and is your option to pay or not. The hotel is old and would obviously benefit from some revamping including more sockets in rooms, although there are more than one. I apologies for the telephone not working and the issue has been repaired now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

If you like cold showers, yesterday's food severed the next day, no beer in the bar grumpy awkward staff who insult you, things stolen from your room, Internet that they claim is free but can't use because they can't cope with the amount of people there, tv with your standard 5 channels (not even FREEVIEW), old and disgusting decor ( could do with a fresh lick of paint), noisy and abrupt customers then this is the place for you. I could go on with more faults about the place, but I suggest you overlook this hotel as I wouldnt go back to the DUMP! Even the manager BARRY wasn't helpfull in any way, he didn't care about any of our problems and complaints. If the was a minus selection it would have got full marks in minus. VILE - STAY AWAY FROM. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johndoe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Johndoe2012, I am sorry that you found our customers to be noisy and abrupt and did not really enjoy anything about the hotel. I am puzzled as to your comment about things stolen from your room as nothing was reported to Barry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Day 3 on the round Britain tour. I had trouble booking a hotel in Aberdeen, I was told it was to do with the Oil rig staff. I settled for the Britannia which up to this point was the most expensive hotel on my tour at £97.38. It was a big ediface and from walking in to the foyer I realised I was in a business hotel. It was slick and precise, There was no personal touch, Still it was only for one night
Room service was reasonable as was the room. It all felt like a DeVere Hotel that had been sold to a company that didnt really have the money to keep up a standard. Breakfast was food, nothing to commend it.
It was nice to get on the road again the next day
Next stop Wick

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freespiritashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear BOOTFAIRBILLIE, thank you for your comments, unfortunately Aberdeen is an expensive place for hotels and especially during the week. It is nice to hear that you found it slick and precise however the staff should still be friendly so I apologies if they were not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Bookings.com made a balls up on my booking with not adding breakfast. So not the hotels fault.

Reception staff were strung out with working night shift and then continuing to work days due to lack of staff. Cleaners were all foreign with poor English.

Ordered room service, not to bad. Arrived quick and as ordered. Also had a surprise to see that it wa the receptionist that was delivering the food as well. :( - poor lassie. Never mind. P.S. food is bar food only to the room. Fried...

Bathroom was clean but basic. Usual shower over bath.

Room looked clean. Hardly any sockets in the place though. View from the room window = N/A. Lol. Nothing but car park.

WiFi worked spot on in room 205

Pool and gym was very basic but did what it said on the tin.

Pints in the bar were drinkable but not worth a night in there.

TV - basic channels.

Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weepeeinloby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Weepeeinloby, thank you for your comments and I am glad on the whole you had a good stay. The reception staff do generally work a late shift then an early, this is common in hotels and is not done due to lack of staff, equally the girl who delivered your room service was the Duty Manager as staff also multi-task and cover all areas. Unfortunately the hotel is near the airport and as such does have a large amount of car parking in the grounds which des mean most rooms look onto carpark areas. However it is good to hear that the room was clean, WiFi good and your food served fast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Had to stay at this hotel last night. What a horrible, shabby, grubby dump. Also had to pay EXTRA to use the pool and sauna. Vastly overpriced at £100 for B & B and and extra £4 for the comedy pool and sauna "facilities".
Due to the distance away from home a hotel stay was unavoidable but I would definitely consider driving a 6 hr round trip to avoid residing here again. IT WAS THAT BAD. Breakfast was dire as well. I would love to be able to say there was something good but er... no, there isn't. Don't book here unless you are a) desperate b) not paying for it yourself or c) you like 70's style run down motels.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and get another hotel or take a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cameron4135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear cameron4135, I am sorry that you did not like the hotel. We do charge extra for the use of the leisure facilities, and like the rooms, it is your option to pay and use the facilities or not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
5.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
2.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel Aberdeen Airport
1.2 km away
Craighaar Hotel
Craighaar Hotel
#43 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#17 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Aberdeen Bucksburn
3.8 km away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#56 of 63 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Property: Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing