We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
376
74
27
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
74
27
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomconservatory restaurantfudgeafternoon tealangoustinesfive star hotelgolf tripjunior suitemini barsteakfantastic staywaiting staffcooked to perfectionspenceloungeweddingstewart
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 505 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017

As company was all ladies went to the bar for a liquid refeshment, in this bar you better have a credit card before ordering a drink, ? As the drinks are out of reach for the working man, or if you have a company credit card then you are alright

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank Madscotsman166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Dear Madscotsman166

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I apologise that you find our beverage prices 'out of reach' for yourself, we base our pricing to be competitive with our main competition in the area and do hope that this didn't spoil your experience and that you did enjoy the afternoon tea food offerings with the group of ladies you were dining with.

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr J S Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

We stayed at the Marcliff for 5 nights, played golf on nearby golf courses, tee times and transport arranged with help from front desk staff. Excellent accomodation, fast and friendly service, great food.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Guðbrandur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Dear Guðbrandur J

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could help facilitate your golf needs while you were with us. Hope you enjoyed the rounds on our beautiful local courses.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr J S Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017

I stayed one night in the Marcliffe on a golfing trip. It has very nice spacious rooms and a terrific restaurant with really high quality breakfasts and dinners (thanks, chef!). Really nice big bar with friendly staff. Highly recomment

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JH_1_2_3_4_5_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Dear JH_1_2_3_4_5_13

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and food with us. I hope you got to try some of our impressive collection of Whiskies or Wine and that the weather was kind to your rounds of golf and you thoroughly enjoyed them.

We hope that if your back up this way for golf or otherwise that you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr J S Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2017

We stayed at the Marcliffe as part of the celebrations for my husband having a special birthday. The staff worked out it was a special occasion and could not have done more to look after us. The room was lovely - tasteful, comfortable and impeccably clean. Our dinner and breakfast were absolutely first class (the Marcliffes's normal standard) and the staff were exceptionally nice and accommodating. It really is a high quality, exceptionally well run hotel and staying there makes you feel special. Well done to the team and thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KeenVacationerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Dear KeenVacationerUK

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.

I am glad that the team could help make your husbands special birthday such a great celebration and that you enjoyed the food and room so much.

We hope to help you celebrate more special occasions in the future.

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr J S Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2017

We had a great stay at The Marcliffe, our only regret is that we weren't able to be there longer. We had a lovely room, a fantastic dinner and wonderful breakfast. The bar has a great selection of whiskeys. The staff was very helpful and got us a driver to a couple of whiskey distilleries. The game room downstairs is not to be missed. Though we didn't have time for any golf, the hotel was full of happy looking golfers.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majestic222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Dear Majestic222

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.

I am very pleased to hear you had such a great time with us and we would have loved to look after longer.

I myself am a lover of Whisky and have only had the chance to try a few of the whiskies we have in our impressive collection (when i am off duty only).

We look forward to welcoming you back if you choose to return and hope you can fit time in next time to go for a few rounds of golf in our beautiful local courses.

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr J S Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews