We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation, First Class.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Following my daughters graduation she wanted post ceremony lunch at a special place. Like her Degree award, it proved to be First Class.
The welcome and assistance when we arrived was excellent. Accessibility for our wheelchair user was unhindered and well accommodated as were all our comfort and needs. Whilst slightly quieter than we had anticipated, it only added a level of attention and care, which was much appreciated.
The menus are not extensive but very well presented and give a good range of quality and variation. We had not been aware of a specific 'Graduation' menu as we had chosen the Marcliffe on reputation and ambiance. It proved to be an excellent menu which highlighted some of their best plates and represented superb value for the quality and choice, including champagne.
Traditional classic 'silver service' attention could hardly be better exemplified with the utmost attention to courtesy and detail. The waiting staff were a pleasure and superb representatives to the establishment.
As my daughter was desperate for the iconic mortar board launch, our hats off to the Marcliffe. We highly recommend and will certainly return; sooner rather than later.
Thank you.

Room Tip: As always, treat the staff with respect and it shall be returned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChapInAKilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear ChapInAKilt

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.

First of all Congratulations on your daughters graduation, all the best from everyone here for the future, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us so much.

Look forward to helping you and your family celebrate more events in the future

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr Stewart Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

As company was all ladies went to the bar for a liquid refeshment, in this bar you better have a credit card before ordering a drink, ? As the drinks are out of reach for the working man, or if you have a company credit card then you are alright

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank Madscotsman166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Madscotsman166

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I apologise that you find our beverage prices 'out of reach' for yourself, we base our pricing to be competitive with our main competition in the area and do hope that this didn't spoil your experience and that you did enjoy the afternoon tea food offerings with the group of ladies you were dining with.

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr J S Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stayed at the Marcliff for 5 nights, played golf on nearby golf courses, tee times and transport arranged with help from front desk staff. Excellent accomodation, fast and friendly service, great food.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Guðbrandur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Guðbrandur J

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could help facilitate your golf needs while you were with us. Hope you enjoyed the rounds on our beautiful local courses.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr J S Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I stayed one night in the Marcliffe on a golfing trip. It has very nice spacious rooms and a terrific restaurant with really high quality breakfasts and dinners (thanks, chef!). Really nice big bar with friendly staff. Highly recomment

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JH_1_2_3_4_5_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear JH_1_2_3_4_5_13

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and food with us. I hope you got to try some of our impressive collection of Whiskies or Wine and that the weather was kind to your rounds of golf and you thoroughly enjoyed them.

We hope that if your back up this way for golf or otherwise that you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr J S Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We stayed at the Marcliffe as part of the celebrations for my husband having a special birthday. The staff worked out it was a special occasion and could not have done more to look after us. The room was lovely - tasteful, comfortable and impeccably clean. Our dinner and breakfast were absolutely first class (the Marcliffes's normal standard) and the staff were exceptionally nice and accommodating. It really is a high quality, exceptionally well run hotel and staying there makes you feel special. Well done to the team and thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KeenVacationerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear KeenVacationerUK

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.

I am glad that the team could help make your husbands special birthday such a great celebration and that you enjoyed the food and room so much.

We hope to help you celebrate more special occasions in the future.

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr J S Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We had a great stay at The Marcliffe, our only regret is that we weren't able to be there longer. We had a lovely room, a fantastic dinner and wonderful breakfast. The bar has a great selection of whiskeys. The staff was very helpful and got us a driver to a couple of whiskey distilleries. The game room downstairs is not to be missed. Though we didn't have time for any golf, the hotel was full of happy looking golfers.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majestic222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Majestic222

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.

I am very pleased to hear you had such a great time with us and we would have loved to look after longer.

I myself am a lover of Whisky and have only had the chance to try a few of the whiskies we have in our impressive collection (when i am off duty only).

We look forward to welcoming you back if you choose to return and hope you can fit time in next time to go for a few rounds of golf in our beautiful local courses.

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr J S Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Went for an overnight stay dinner bed and breakfast package, the hotel is busy but the staff I found were all friendly, polite, professional and very helpful. On arrival we checked into a deluxe room, my only small complaint is that the room overlooked the front of the hotel and it was noisy with other guests in the early hours outside. The room was spacious and well equipped and I can actually say the mini bar fridge was well stocked and everything chilled which is a rarity nowadays. Food was wonderful and every course we enjoyed and I think the establishment are lucky to have the staff they do, we will return again but will request we do not stay in the glamis room next time. Well done marcliffe !

Room Tip: Request a room not near front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenBenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcliffe_Management, Manager at The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear AberdeenBenny

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I apologise for the noise you experienced during your stay, we are always en-devouring to make your stay and dining experience a memorable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back when you return and hope to exceed your expectations next time.

Kind Regards

Scott Fraser

Marketing Manager & PA to Mr J S Spence (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.3 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.3 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,283 reviews
2.3 km away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#18 of 65 in Aberdeen
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
1.3 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
915 reviews
4.4 km away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $226 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing