We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five stars are not enough”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mall House

Mall House from the walled garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mall House from the walled garden
Sitting room Sitting room and kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Mall House from the walled garden
Sitting room
Sitting room and kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
King sized sleigh bedroom
Ensuite
Twin Bedroom
Adult sized bunk bed room
Lower bunk bed
Walled garden
Summer House
View from Summer House
Snow at Mall House
Evening Sun on Mall House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montrose, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Glenn48
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Five stars are not enough”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Although primarily a holiday let, we stayed there for a week while we dealt with a family crisis. Sally, the owner, was a star. She was happy to take a last minute booking and to be flexible on the arrival and departure times. She was also willing to allow us to switch to her other property for the last two days of our stay, as there was a booking for the flat. We had family coming and going - some staying over - and Sally took it all in her stride. In addition to the help Sally gave us, the property itself is stunning. The accommodation is to a very high standard and the grounds - in which we had freedom to roam - were a haven of peace in a difficult time. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The care of the owner
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cnocmoy10
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous garden flat, gracious host, lovely garden, close to town.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Garden Flat in October and had a wonderful time. We holiday in Montrose several times a year to play golf and staying here at the Mall was one of the best holidays we have had despite the cold wet weather. The flat is warm and cosy and the host gracious and very helpful, The flat is very well appointed, in excellent decorative order and with two large and one single bedroom surprisingly spacious. The garden is lovely and it must be stunning in the summer. I could not recommend this property and its owner highly enough and we shall certainly be returning soon.
JK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Helpful host, location for amenities, quiet and peaceful,private garden.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorwed...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming owner, charming house, charming accommodation.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

A real find. The owner made us all very welcome (especially our boisterous Old English Sheepdog pup) after a long journey from Lincoln. The garden flat exceeded expectations, being very well equipped, very comfortable and very spacious. We didn't want to leave and we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed, linen and en suite
Liked least: The weather!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very high quality [--]; good value family accommodation - so much better than a hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed here in September for 4 nights as we were visiting the area for a family wedding, we have 2 small children, 2 & 4 so self catering is easier for us than being stuck in one room in a hotel. When we arrived we really felt we'd landed the jackpot! The flat is gorgeous, very spacious & very well kitted out with everything that you could need - 3 TVs, washer, dryer, dishwasher, electric blankets, beautiful furniture, loads of space for the children to play & the added bonus of a toy cupboard with games, a dolls house & play tent. This along with the gorgeous walled garden made all the difference for us in keeping the children happy. Would wholeheartedly recommend & will return if we visit the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely accommodation, with helpful and considerate owner on site”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The apartment was beautifully furnished and the enclosed garden and sumer house for use by holiday makers was delightful. The owner lived on site and was very considerate of the needs of my elderly parents, even looking in on them when I was not there.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth O
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional Garden Flat; delightful situation and lovely owner- most appreciated, thank you (moved to verse, in fact!).”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

‘The Garden Flat’

Such a lovely garden flat,
A charming, comfy habitat.
Well-provided, spotlessly clean,
The nicest apartment to be seen.

Plenty of space and great design,
A wonderful sleigh bed for restful recline.
Superbly fitted en-suite shower,
Was much enjoyed, and restored power.

Kitchen/utility equipment too,
All very handy to see us through.
Profusions of flowers in grounds around,
Made a pretty, relaxing and pleasing surround.

Warming welcome and cheery smile,
Did all the more the place beguile.
Helpful, thoughtful, also kind,
The sweetest owner one could find.

We really didn’t wish to leave,
But hope to return another eve,
This poem was written to gratefully say,
We really appreciated and valued our stay…..
THANKYOU!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful situation enhanced by owner's helpful attitude.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing