We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
414
30
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
414
30
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch fyne former church lismore room kippers stunning views choice of cereals lovely room a lovely stay town centre full scottish breakfast bruce hosts iona scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 451 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2020 via mobile

Fabulous guest house great view overlooking loch Fyne ...sparkling clean lovely well equipped rooms delicious breakfast. love special touches in room ..home bakes and chocolates on pillow. Highly recommend

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank susaneM4721JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce McFarlane, Owner at Newton Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2020

Thank you so much for recommending us as word of mouth is the best advertising we can get. Hope to see you back here soon. Kind regards, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2020 via mobile

This was our 2and visit to our favourite B&B and this time we returned with our two adult daughters. Our rooms were, as always, absolutely beautiful with home made cake in the rooms. The best tea tray in the rooms ever with so much choice.

We weren't able to have Pam's infamous breakfast as had to leave early for the Jacobite train, but Pam kindly packed us breakfast to go which was greatly appreciated.

Amazing hosts in the best b&b in Scotland.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank manz998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce McFarlane, Owner at Newton Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2020

What kind comments to make. It was lovely to meet the rest of the family this time and hope to see you all again very soon. Kind regards, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2020 via mobile

We have just returned from two nights at Newton Hall which was the last leg of our Scottish road trip. We stayed in the Lismore Room which was amazing - so spacious, with a lovely jet tub and most impressive, the perfect view across Loch Fyne.
Arrived to a very warm welcome and our room spotlessly clean - even some homemade biscuits and a chocolate on our pillows. Fluffy dressing gowns and gorgeous smelling shower gel/ shampoo just added that bit extra.
Breakfast on both days has been wonderful, with a great range of food and drinks available. Lovely host who looked after us so well and was really professional.
During our trip we have stayed in two hotels and two guest houses and Newton Hall was the best hands down.
I really can’t wait to return - a brilliant guest house in a stunning part of Scotland.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lynseystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce McFarlane, Owner at Newton Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2020

Thank you for your excellent review and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We really appreciate your kind words. So nice to hear that everything was as you expected and that you enjoyed Pam's breakfasts and home baking.

We hope to see you both again here soon. Kind regards, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2020 via mobile

Wonderfully gracious hosts, stunning views, and clean and tidy interior. A quick walk to Inveraray town centre for shops and restaurants. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast on both days - would stay again in a heartbeat if we were ever in town again.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rachelramz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce McFarlane, Owner at Newton Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2020

Thank you very your very kind comments and delighted to hear that you would stay with us again if you are back in the area. Kind regards, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2020

We had a lovely room with a fantastic view of Loch Fyne. The en-suite facilities were luxurious, with both a bath and an easy to access shower. There were tea and coffee making facilities as well as fresh home baking provided in the room. The full Scottish breakfast was just that. Everything freshly cooked and you could add or subtract any ingredient. Plenty of very good fresh coffee and toast. Choice of cereals, juices and other items for those not wishing to have quite such a hearty breakfast. Safe, free, off-street parking available. Bruce and Pam were very helpful and attentive. Quite simply faultless.

Room tip: We stayed in the Iona room and loved it!
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H1757JSrobertr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce McFarlane, Owner at Newton Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2020

Thank you so much for your very kind words and delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay here with us. We are glad to hear that we are still able to provide a luxurious stay even with all of the Covid Government guidelines in place. We hope to see you both back here very soon. Kind regards, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews