We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Overpriced for what was on offer” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Great Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Great Western Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oban
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what was on offer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This has to be tha original Faulty Towers.. A rabbit warren of rooms. Room very very old but clean. We were a 'walk in' on a Saturday night..way overpriced!
I feel we paid for the view.
Would have been happier to have paid a lot less for the standard of accomodation.
My 80 year old mother slipped on the very slippery steps at the front after it had been raining.
Could do a lot better elsewhere and not pay for the view!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nurses5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    284
    126
    44
    48
See reviews for
77
370
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Jason Knight is a joy...making the holiday entertainment special...never laughed so much for years...the hotel rooms are comfortable and really spotless...the food good...the staff really nice...lovely coastline...lots to see we will return to take sea trips to Seal Island and Mull...so many places to visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 721Freya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denbigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

After reading through the reviews of this Hotel I am dissmayed at the attitude of some of the previous guests with regard to their comments about the Hotel being full of "senior citizens" which I find offensive, I myself and my wife have just retired and we booked with Shearings for a five day stay for the first time and yes it was mostley OAP's and what a great time we had watching other elderly folk "some 20yrs our senior" having a realy great time, do the people who dont like senior citizens, think they should stay at home with their knitting and go with out a break just to please them ( GET A LIFE ) or go over sea's. Rant over.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay in such a stunning area and yes the Hotel needs a good overhaul but as long as its dry, clean & comfortable we are happy, food was ok but sometimes a bit cool to say the least, staff very attentive. My only gripe was the prices at the bar £3-65 for a pint of Fosters £7-50 a round for my wife and I , she drinks Bacardi and coke but when they put the coke in it's one very short blast and it takes three blasts to fill the glass so its two extra shots at 55p per shot which adds £1-10 to the price of the drink and if you want a shot of lime to your lager its 55p on top were most pubs charge 5p for a shot.We would use this Hotel again BUT drink in the pub a couple of doors down from the Hotel.On a lighter note JASON was the centre of the nights entertainment, great voice and good host,but sadley hes moving on, the xmas eve and new year's eve turns were Scotish folk singers and as good as they were, you could not sing along to the songs.Sorry if ive upset some folk but I say it as it is .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just back from this hotel for a long weekend and had a lovely time. The room we had although a little small was clean and comfortable. The food was good and served by the waitress Maria who was excellent and could not do enough for us. We would certainly go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We planned to drive up to Oban from Glasgow when my daughter and adult grandson came up from England for a week. We went with Shearings, instead ,for a two day break.We made the right choice.We enjoyed our stay at the Bay Great Western Hotel. We loved having two large rooms with panoramic views over the bay. Our usual hotel view is the back of something.The rooms were comfortable and three out of four slept very well.I didn't like the mixer shower in the bathroom.We found the food good and the service was swift and efficient.
Yes the large diningroom was chilly at dinner, but in the morning,it was warm at breakfast. We enjoyed the cabaret in the evening.All the staff were friendly, hardworking and skilled.We spent our free time in Oban, shopping and our two males managed a visit to a busy pub.

Room Tip: 'Not on too high a floor.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alice183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

went to oban on the 22nd of october i had a brilliant time the great western was great very spacious rooms the food was very good the staff were very helpful,the entertainment was excellent,i would like to thank maria the waitress at the western she was very helpful ,and maria the lady who cleaned and tidied our room every day was very polite and very helpful in fact all of the staff were great cannot thank them enough for a great time would definatley go there again.

Room Tip: get a room upstairs as you get the noise from people coming to bed late if you are on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rosered015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Stayed here with Shearings 2-10-11 had 'superior room',sea view, very clean ,bottled water every day in room. Bathroom was very good compared with standard rooms apparently but no air conditioning. Sash window needed repair draughty & opened about 8 inches.Food was acceptable and staff very good. Apparently we were'nt the first to complain of the loud music from below room 20 which we were given to understand was the deputy manager's accommodation we complained and it stopped(it was 2.15am) next night it was 11.15 we jumped up & down on the floor to object - it stopped, apart from this we enjoyed our stay in Oban despite the wet weather.Oh nearly forgot bed springs worn out on one side.

Room Tip: Apparently most of the rooms were in need of modernisation but superior rooms have good bathroom. Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sharphouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.4 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
0.6 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 12 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 12 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.3 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 12 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Property: Bay Great Western Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing