We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, fantastic views, beautiful home...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cnocaruan Sea View

Nothing between you & the water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nothing between you & the water
Fishing Deck West Coast sunsets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Nothing between you & the water
Fishing Deck
West Coast sunsets
Watch the wild life from your easy chair
Patio doors out onto the deck
Comfy leather suite
Fully equipped dining kitchen
New addition; fishing deck right at the water's edge
The resident otter having her breakfast just off the new deck
Perfect for a sundowner!
Super King size bedroom
Twin room can be made up as another king size
Sea View Shower
Entrance Porch with lots of storage
The Falls of Lora in full flow
Ample off street parking available
Another stunning sunset
Surroundings
Watch the canoeists come & play in the Falls
Best views of the Falls
Set amongst amazing scenery
Magnificent Loch Etive
Oban Bay
Colourful Tobermory on the Isle of Mull
Stunning Glencoe is just a 30 minute drive away
Meet the locals
The Hogwart Express
The Hogwart Express
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DPG69
Codsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, fantastic views, beautiful home and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having read the great reviews we were confident that Cnocaruan Sea view would provide a great base to explore this area of the Scottish west coast, and to this end it certainly delivered. The reception from Gabriella and George was warm and welcoming yet not overbearing. The facilities provided within their extended home are superb and as many have mentioned previously, every attention to detail has been afforded and presentation is immaculate. The property is located 10 mins or so drive out of Oban and a bus stop is located a short distance away if required. The property is approached directly from the main road and space for parking is provided. The view from the rear of the property is fantastic and changes throughout the day in rhythm with the weather and the flow of the tidal waters. We were very fortunate to catch a few glimpses of the seals which can been seen swimming in the waters just below the wonderful terrace, which itself is the perfect spot for enjoying the views, wildlife and glass of wine. Overall a fantastic property to spend a week with loved ones exploring a truly beautiful part of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Bill & Julie
It was a delight to have you stay, so nice you enjoyed the house & views as much as we do! We look forward to your return!
Many thanks for your glowing review.
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ExceIIent”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned Iast week from a weeks stay in Cnocaruan, where to start!!! The cottage is beautifuI and there is nothing that GabrieIIa and George has not thought about, it has everything, the smaII touches such as sweets/wine/tea/coffee/sugar/shower geI/bubbIe bath/hand soap is so thoughtfuI and makes it feeI Iike home. AIso a good seIection of books/games/cd's and dvd's, seriousIy, there is NOTHING missing
The views are spectacuIar and changes aII the time, the patio area and new decking area are fab, unfortunateIy didn't reaIIy get the good of them as weather not so good, but hey ho, nothing we can do about mother nature. Went for a day trip to SeaworId then Fort WiIIiam, aIso went to Cruachan [the hoIIow mountain] which is weII worth a visit. Oban is just 5 miIes away and aIways very busy [whatever the weather]. had a very good meaI at the FaIIs of Iaura and aIso the Oyster Inn which are both a stones throw away from the cottage.
Husband VERY happy with the fishing at North ConneI, and the Priory to the right, caught aII species he was after and vows to go back again.
So wouId just Iike to thank George and GabrieIIa for a wonderfuI week in their beautifuI cottage, wouId definateIy recommend to anyone that wants to visit this beautifuI part of ScotIand

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the speciaI IittIe touches
Liked least: nothing to mention
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Ann thanks so very much for your lovely report. Great to see you all again, hope life is treating you well and hopefully see you & your men on our side of the country again sometime.
Best regards
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Special place with special hosts!”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It's difficult to know where to start... The setting and accommadation was amazing - it was a privilege to stay at "Cnocaruan" out of 100 I would give it a 150+ The owners Gabriella and George are two of the nicest and helpful people - they looked after us and and helped make our holiday so very special.
The location is excellent for so many things and Oban is only a few miles down the road.
There are just to many places we could recommend as we did a lot in our one week stay and getting back to Cnocaruan Sea View was just like returning home! I would highly recommend staying at Cnocaruan Sea View and I guarantee you would not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, you are most welcome and we are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, until next time!!
All the very best from Connel,
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a stay at this beautiful cottage. It has everything you could want and more. Gabrielle and George were very welcoming and the little extras in the cottage they left for our stay added that personal touch.
The location is brilliant. It has a great little village shop, you can catch a train to Oban and do lots of a walks from the house.

We expected rain and cloud being September and in Scotland but were lucky to have sunshine throughout our stay. The decking is perfect for a pre dinner drink in the evening and we were lucky enough to see an amazing sunset on our last evening.
We can recommend the Oyster Bar down the road for a great evening meal and our favourite trip was catching the foot ferry for a walk round the Island of Kerrera.
A wonderful end to the summer for all of us.
I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities in the cottage and the location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick d
Krommenie, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed for one week (May 31 - June 7 2014) in this excellent holiday property.
What a lovely place to be!
A beautiful and very clean house, everything is there, good beds, excellent view, good location.
The owners know how to make their guests feel at home.
Upon returning home after the holidays I have been troubled by two weeks pining for this House.
In short, this is a real must if you are looking for a good holiday home.
All you are looking for a holiday home in the region; stop looking but direct booking I would say.
Many many thanks, Gabriella and George, for our wonderful stay.
Salute to Murphy and Pip.

Linda en Nick de Grijs, Nedrland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jordane_b...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely amazing!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Could not believe that guests left the day we arrived, absolutely spotless! The necessities were supplied and nothing seemed too much trouble to Gabriella and George. Beautiful little place, perfect balcony/patio to sit out on a look at the river, watching seals swim past. Not too far from Oban or Fort William. Thank you for a perfect little break! Jordane, Struan, Erin and Carl :) we had a wonderful break, just what we needed after the stress of uni and exams and work! We would definitely look into coming back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debsnbob
wallsend
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Coming to the end of a fabulous stay at Cnocaruan . The cottage is superb, warm, stylish and spotlessly clean. We have stayed in many cottages and B&B's over the years but this one comes out at the top. Lovely kitchen with everything you could possibly need, coffee, tea, sugar, milk, biscuits, spices, oil and vinegar, wine and chocolates are all waiting for you on arrival. Upstairs the owners have provided shower gel and bath foam as well as hand wash. The beds are so comfortable and huge with lovely duvets and pillows so you are snug during the chilly weather we had. Towels are provided so you really don't need to bring your own. Downstairs in the sitting room there are two lovely sofas, a huge television, dvd player and music station with loads of dvd's, cd's, books and games to keep everyone entertained. But let's be honest the real wow factor of this cottage is the view! Right on the waters edge, watching the water rush back and forth over the falls of lora was amazing. Great wildlife to spot too, though we never saw the otter (just means we'll have to come back!) we did spot seals and lots and lots of different birds. There is even a pair of binoculars and a telescope provided. This is the most wonderful place to stay, within walking distance of a couple of nice pubs/restaurants and is in a great area of the country with loads to do. Huge thanks to Gabriella and George for a wonderful stay, we would recommend Cnoccaruan to anyone who wants somewhere to stay that is just that extra bit special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the cottage and the huge, comfortable beds
Liked least: Nothing! Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing