We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY THE BEST IN SCOTLAND - Truly 100%”
Review of Glenburnie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenburnie House
Ranked #5 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST IN SCOTLAND - Truly 100%”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

On our visit to Oban I booked on-line Via Graeme.
This was well catered for, carried out with such class leading skills.
I asked if I could leave my car at the Hotel in the morning as we were going on the 'Three Islands Trip' from the ferryport very close by (Highly recommend the trip aswell) and this was made clear it was no problem at all.
I also asked if it was ok for us to check-in late in the evening (as the trip returns to Oban about 9pm) and again, no problem at all.
After our arrival back from the tour ,we popped into Oban for something to eat (Excellent fish and chips) and eventually arrived at the Glenburnie about 9.45PM.
We were greeted and shown our rooms (A double + a Twin room for our friend who came with us).
**BAM**
What a room!! It was INCREDIBLE!!
we had 'the Kings Suite'
at a really EXCELLENT PRICE I should add.
EVERYTHING and I mean EVERYTHING was well above standard...This place should have 7star rating.
From beginning to end, we LOVED IT and without a doubt, will be driving all the way from Leicester to stay there again next year.
Whats more, our stay was CHEAPER than the Travelodge we stopped in, on our way home!!
HUGE Thanks to Graeme and Joan.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face the sea, but ALL are equally excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickimo190463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    40
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
182
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Nice B&B with a great location right on the harbor walk. (Oban is about a 5 minute walk from the B & B, 10 minutes from the ferries to the islands). The rooms are very nicely appointed as I had a two room suite, with a fairly large bathroom and shower, and a harbor view. Good price, and the rooms were quiet.
As my traveling companions were raving about the breakfast, I wasn't as enthusiastic about it. Good yes, rave worthy, I think not. Service was well within the bounds of adequate.

In total: Great location, good price, above average breakfast with a nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve9631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genève
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

A fantastic large room with a view overlooking the bay. Hypnos mattress. Enormous shower. Heating could be turned on in the room (indispensable for a Scottish summer) with a separate heater in the bathroom. Excellent value for money. The lady whom we dealt with and who also served breakfast was extremely pleasant. Peaceful location, but close to the centre of Oban. Owner has good recommendations in room for restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

What draw us to randomly walk into this hotel was the hunting trophy of a Buffalo-like animal in the entrance hall. Little did we knew we would spend such a lovely night in this charming hotel. The rooms are very nice, very clean and you can see that the owner understands hospitality. Fresh fruit at breakfast, a scrambled eggs, bacon or salmon, everything you could wish for.
In short, a perfect stay in Oban for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: The front rooms have an amazing view, but if you enjoy a huge bed and a comfortable room, go for roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, Dorset
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Our room was wonderful - large and light, with a sea view, well furnished and well equipped, with a very comfortable bed. The breakfasts let the Glenburnie down slightly: the poached eggs were hard, and avoid the porridge, which was dire!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MED59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

A wonderful spot on the harbour within easy walking distance of great restaurants and the ferry to Mull. Lovely updated rooms and bathrooms. You need to be able to haul yourself and bags up the stairs. A nice full breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UltraClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We found the Glenburnie an excellent B&B the rooms very clean and the views from our room were amazing. We had a room at the top of the house with windows on two sides. The breakfast was second to none as other reviewers have commented. Our trip was a combination of holiday and business as my husband was working in the area for a few days we decided to extend the break into a holiday as well. The area has such wonderful magnificence scenery the break was not long enough and we would certainly go back and stay in the Glenburnie. For an evening meal we recommend the fish & chip tea for £10 in the Oban Fish & Chip Shop more than it appears and well worth a try .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wakefieldwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.1 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.2 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.0 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.1 km away
Barriemore Guest House
0.1 km away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenburnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenburnie House

Property: Glenburnie House
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenburnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on The Esplanade, Glenburnie House offers an unrivalled bed and breakfast seafront location with spectacular views across Oban Bay and Kerrera IslandFamily run for over 40 years, Glenburnie has been in the Strachan family since 1968 and continues to be one of Oban’s visitors’ favourite places to stay. From the moment you step inside the front door you know you have arrived somewhere very special, with Glenburnie’s friendly experienced team offering a warm welcome.The 12 en-suite rooms have been individually decorated using beautiful fabrics and colour schemes, yet retain many of the house’s original features. Spacious and comfortable, accommodation is en-suite offering complimentary wi-fi, flat screen televisions, together with tea and coffee making facilities. There is also off-road parking.Be it enjoying Glenburnie’s delicious home cooked Scottish breakfast in the wonderful dining room, with panoramic sea views, or relaxing with the papers in the conservatory style porch watching the boats, we look forward to having you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenburnie Hotel Oban
Glenburnie House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing