We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oban Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Oban Short Break”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed at the Queens Hotel from 23rd April to 26th, hotel very clean, stayed in superior room on 1st floor front. View excellent and very comfy large bed again very clean apart from some stains on carpet near door. Room a bit small for money but leather chairs in window let you watch all bay like a wide screen telly. Spa bath a bit noisey and shower rather slow. Only ate once in hotel but venison burger really good (wife had chicken also good) and well presented, plenty on plate. Did not eat in restaurant as we do not really like what was on menu, could have done with more straight forward choices, breakfast very good and good quality. Lounge area a bit bland but again comfy leather chairs and setees. Staff very good.Outside sitting area needs a tidy(weeds taking over and aluminium chairs a bit tacky)
Overall very clean and after walking around and seeing other hotels probably the best choice.

Room Tip: Front rooms but these are quite expensive for size, view excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allenk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the amazing views from your superior sea view room. The outlook is simply stunning. It was also good to note that you enjoyed the bar meal and your full Scottish Breakfast. As the weather was incredibly changeable this Spring – gardening opportunities were somewhat limited! We’ve caught up now as Western Scotland has enjoyed some fantastic weather over the past couple of months!! Once again thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    323
    179
    74
    34
See reviews for
125
496
46
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, 2 adults and 2 children ( toddler and infant). All staff was very helpful and polite, they understood exactly our needs starting with booking the room, assistance with breakfast and service at dinner (restaurant menu was excellent). Overall we felt very well looked after. Location was amazing both for enjoyable walks and for starting points for boat trips. Room was extremely clean and comfortable for our needs. Highly recommended overall.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Your brilliant review is greatly appreciated by myself and the entire team. We love pampering our guests if at all possible and we would like to thank you for making it so easy. We are so glad that you loved our beautiful location as well as the hotel and its services. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed here for one night on business.The hotel is in a lovely situation on the Esplanade with wonderful views,unfortunately the majority of the rooms are in a modern built annex with limited or no views indeed my room had an exciting view of a stone built wall about 2 mt away.Parking is extremely limited on site and very difficult on street.I was travelling on my own and had a single bed which is really quite unusual as you are normally given single occupancy in a double but the room was extremely small-too small for a double.The rooms are spotless but bland and souless,the staff however are very nice as are the communal areas of the hotel.I ate in the bar and it was enjoyable and breakfast was good with hot food self service.Oban itself is living on past Victorian grandeur and to be quite honest this is one of the better hotels Next time I am in the region I will probably stay outwith Oban at a better hotel for less money where I am not charged £15 for my spotlessly clean,well behaved internationally travelling little dog--children cost less.Perhaps he should have had a full Scottish breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobyAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. All guest feedback is extremely important to us and your comments are used in order to try to improve accommodation and services in any way possible. Thank you for your compliments on our housekeeping. Cleanliness is fundamentally important to us. The hotel is pet friendly and we welcome pets for a small charge of £15.00 (for the extra cleaning required) to rooms located only on the lowest floor of our rear building. These rooms allow ease of access for pet toileting and by restricting pets to one floor only, we can guarantee allergen free rooms on other floors for guests who suffer from pet allergies of any sort. We regret that you consider the extra charge excessive. Unfortunately no two pets are the same and some rooms have to be put out of service for days whilst we attempt to clean up! You felt that the single room was small and we apologise if you considered this to be a problem. These single rooms are sold at a considerable discount against double rooms and we hope that they offer good value for money. Thank you for sampling our dining facilities, we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal in the Lounge Bar and the full Scottish breakfast. Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way home. The area is very beautiful and the hotel was very good, the one downside it had for us was when I booked I looked for a hotel with a lift as one of our friends is a very active 95yr old and stairs could of been a bit of a problem, so when I saw it had a lift I was delighted. When we arrived the staff on reception were very nice but as we went for the lift we realised then we had 14 steps to climb before we actually got to the lift, I think this should of been included in the details about the hotel. The rooms were very nice but felt it lacked the homely feel one likes in a hotel and it just felt a little like a buisness mans stayover, but all the same we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlossomYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
The hotel staff and owners would like to thank you for reviewing our property. We were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that the fourteen stairs before reaching the lift caused you concern. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We booked 5 nights in the Queens for Easter 2012. We wanted a bit of luxury so the 4 stars appealed. Many hotels in Oban do not have private parking for all their guests and you end up having to try to park on the street - not always easy. I booked the Queens because their advert lead me to believe they had sufficient on site parking - they did not and we ended up on the street - I was not happy.

The photos of the hotel look very stylish but most of the rooms are in a modern breeze block structure hidden at the rear. Our room was small, basic and characterless. It had a damp patch on the wall and smelled of damp. The wall behind the curtains comprised painted breezblocks.

We were frankly baffled how the hotel has gained four stars. Given the small and damp room and lack of parking we immediately cancelled our stay, staying just one night. I was glad we did as we watched the police ticketing all the cars on the Esplanade that hadn't been able to legally park on Easter saturday morning.

On the positive side the staff were very pleasant and the bed was large and comfortable. However as regards the parking and the rooms I felt misled by their advertising and I wouldn't stay hereagain.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you felt mislead by the hotel advertising regarding parking. We do try to explain that the hotel has limited parking on site in addition to free and unrestricted parking across from the hotel on the promenade. Further down the promenade as the road narrows there are clear double yellow lines where vehicles would be ticketed. There are a further two car parks which offer free overnight parking less than 0.4 miles from the hotel. The hotel web site does state that we offer limited free parking. We are sorry that you felt that this was not good enough. We must also apologise for any dampness in your room. We only wish that you had advised us upon arrival in order that we could have moved you to a different room and undertaken remedial action. It is disappointing that the room décor was not to your taste. The property was awarded 4 stars by Visit Scotland in 2010 and it has been independently inspected on numerous occasions since. The standard rooms all benefit from light cream shaded walls and solid light oak furniture creating a contemporary look as described online. It is gratifying that you enjoyed the comfortable bed at least. Thank you also for your compliments on our friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

There was a lovely view from the room, with a large comfortable bed. The room was very clean. We both enjoyed the jacuzzi bath after a 6 hour walk around the scenic Oban area. Breakfast was basic and we felt that the waiting staff were in a rush to vacate the area before 9:30. What the big rush was for is a mystery, as nobody seemed to be eating there at lunch or dinnertime.

We paid £198 for 2 nights B&B in this hotel. It's way overpriced for what is in reality a large B&B guising as a hotel.

While we were there, we didn't see anybody eating in the hotel at dinner or lunchtime, as the prices of the dishes were more in keeping with a Michelin star restaurant.

The kettle is on the floor and the only other sockets are in the middle of the double bed, which begs the question as to what sort of electrician wired the room.

I also was not impressed with the lino lifting on the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timfinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for placing a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful view and the comfortable bed in your room. We are perplexed by your comment about breakfast being “basic” especially as we have received so many compliments on our full Scottish breakfast. With reference to your comments about our restaurant we are keen to point out that our chef trained in Paris under a 2 star Michelin chef. However, unlike Michelin starred properties we charge £27.00 for a 3 course restaurant meal and not the £47.00-£70.00 you would expect to pay in a Michelin starred establishment. We also serve a wide choice of meals in our Lounge Bar which start at £8.95 for a main course. Thank you once again for reviewing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel was overpriced and we were bothered by creaking floorboards above our room. We could also hear other guests in the room next door. The staff was friendly, the location great, and the breakfast buffet very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xyi_xyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are really glad that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel together with our friendly team. We must apologise for any disturbance caused by creaking floorboards. We are currently running a programme of maintenance to remedy this issue. In terms of the prices charged for your accommodation, the hotel strives to offer the best value in town at all times. We constantly benchmark our prices against other local hotels of which we are the only full service 4 star hotel. It was great to read that you were impressed by our full Scottish buffet breakfast. We hope that you may come back to sample some more of our hospitality at some time in the future. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
1.2 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.1 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.5 km away
Bay Great Western Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Queens Hotel

Property: Best Western The Queens Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
Best Western The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing