We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$146
Hotels.com
PricelineUS$146
Lol.travel
eDreamsUS$146
Orbitz.comUS$146
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
500
304
138
41
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
500
304
138
41
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baked eggs no lift metro hotel small hotel third floor lovely hotel ferry terminal salmon breakfast room great shower comfortable bed short stay two night stay enjoyable stay town centre visiting oban cereal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2020 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night on a weekend break enhanced by glorious, untypical Scottish weather.

The hotel is nicely situated close to the town centre and an easy, short walk to the sea front, shops, bars & restaurants. There were still some restrictions in place ref COVID during our stay so we didn’t experience much of the hotel other than our room. The room was clean and adequate if a little basic and, in my opinion, not suitable for more than a couple of nights stay. Staff were helpful & welcoming albeit based on our limited experience of checking in/out and taking a breakfast tray from one of them at the room door.

I’d happily use this hotel again for a short break in Oban.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1810dreww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info The Ranald Hotel, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2020

Thank you for reviewing your stay here at The Ranald Hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Unfortunately we have deemed it unsafe still to open our bar/lounge area due to this also being our reception area and we cannot adequately carry out social distancing with both staff and guests coming and going from this area frequently.

Why not pop back after covid restrictions have been lifted and you can have a full experience of our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and son on a short break to Oban.The hotel is well located near the town centre and port and the room we had was classy and comfortable.
Given the limitations presented by the Coronavirus pandemic the arrangements for social distancing and breakfast were very good and I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info The Ranald Hotel, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2020

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay here with us.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Ranald Hotel and fond it both classy and comfortable.

We hope you book to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2020 via mobile

This is a lovely small hotel. Very close to all amenities and tourist attractions. It is very clean and fresh staff are very helpful and friendly. Definitely worth staying here if your visiting Oban. Breakfast is served. Lost of local restaurants nearby for other meals. We had s as lovely stay

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank carolinea730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2020

I'm not sure when we will be able to return but we hope to in the very near future. Lovely rooms and clean and more importantly affordable.the walks were just a added bonus as we have only just started with this new hobby. Hope to return very soon in the future.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlieredm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info T, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2020

Thank you for your 5* review! We appreciate all feedback from our guests.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us at The Ranald!

We hope you new hobby brings you back to see us whether its more walks enjoying the lovely views of Oban or for a nice relaxing stay!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2020 via mobile

Great hotel for a few nights away - amazing service at breakfast and very well kept hotel. Very close to everything you could want in Oban and I would definitely stay here again as well as recommend to others!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FJWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info T, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2020

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be in a convenient location!

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews